The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2018, 07:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Auburn, IN
Posts: 84
Overturned Charge - Warriors vs Cavs

Did anyone catch the overturned charge call on Durant in last nights game? Any idea why they changed the call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2018, 07:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 184
Because they deemed that James was moving into Durant. I think it's awful that they can review a judgement call like that, but I don't watch much NBA, and that's the way they have the rules set up.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2018, 08:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 199
Rule Is essentially the same as college. He got there squared up 2 feet down, then his trailing foot continued a bit and he actually overshot. I still think it was something that shouldn't have been overturned on the play, and it was clear he was at least a foot outside the area anyway, so they shouldn't have gone to monitor. Once you get there squared up, you don't have to be a statue.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2018, 08:17am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
It was a blarge. Watch the replays -- the T clearly has a block signal started, which is why the L hesitated.

I think they got it right on replay. Shrug.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2018, 08:38am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Under NBA rules inside 2 mins the refs can trigger replay if there is doubt about the play, specifically regarding the Restricted Area. In replay the refs can determine 1) wether the feet were inside/outside the RA, 2) whether the defender had LGP, and 3) if any other uncalled illegal acts took place (leading elbow PC foul for example). This allows them to essentially re-referee the play on video.

The Trail official did make a half-assed blocking signal, but a blarge does not trigger a review in and of itself. They must go to review the RA.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2018, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,177
In the last two minutes of the 4th quarter and OT, replay opens up to allow reviewing disputed calls, such as unclear out-of-bounds plays, and block-charge plays under dispute. In that case, the decision was legitimate under NBA rules.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2018, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 26
NFHS interpretation

I know NFHS is different than NBA, but I want to know what people would call if this was a high school game. Based on NFHS rules, I believe he had two feet down and was in LGP before the offensive player left his feet. My only question is did the offensive player move to avoid the contact and the defender slide in after establishing LGP?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2018, 09:02am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakeas2 View Post
I know NFHS is different than NBA, but I want to know what people would call if this was a high school game. Based on NFHS rules, I believe he had two feet down and was in LGP before the offensive player left his feet. My only question is did the offensive player move to avoid the contact and the defender slide in after establishing LGP?
I personally have a charge.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2018, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
This was a block under any ruleset IMO. Quite frankly, I don’t even think it’s close. That being said, I’m not sure what Brothers was doing because that was Mauer’s decision all day, no?

Kudos to the crew for staying within the rules, using their tools, and getting it right.

Just goes to show you that no matter how high up you go, or how thoroughly you pregame double whistles and block/charge plays, blarges still happen. They happen much more often in high school and college even with the requirement to show a fist on all fouls.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2018, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 199
but they didn't stay within the rules, because it was crystal clear to Maurer, or should have been unless he is blind, that LJ was nowhere near the RA. That is the only way they can go to the monitor. The prereq was not there. that's the problem, a biggie. They went outside the clear rules.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2018, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedewed View Post
but they didn't stay within the rules, because it was crystal clear to Maurer, or should have been unless he is blind, that LJ was nowhere near the RA. That is the only way they can go to the monitor. The prereq was not there. that's the problem, a biggie. They went outside the clear rules.
This is so wrong that it doesn't even warrant a response. And if you're going to criticize an official, try spelling his name right.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2018, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
This is so wrong that it doesn't even warrant a response. And if you're going to criticize an official, try spelling his name right.
what are you talking about? Kenny whatever his name is, the only way he can go to the monitor is if he has doubt on the RA in that situation. they abused, i.e. didn't follow, the rule. there is no question about that.

another glaring error was with 6 to go, LJ got stripped by getting hit on the forearm with the ball high. when the ball doesn't go the same direction as the force of the reach, you can be confident it was on the arm, not the ball. similar to when a dribbler misses the dribble completely in some traffic. his arm got hit, the ball didn't.

I think it was a charge, a player is allowed to brace for the contact as he is steamrolled. LJ was there in plenty of time, with both feet down and no longer moving forward, and if he then twists a hair in bracing for the contact, or the trailing foot catches up to the body a bit, particularly when moving AWAY from the drive, not towards, that's a charge. could swing the series. it was close enough that it is excusable to call a block rather than a charge, but given the rule on when you can go to the monitor, and LJ set up at least a foot outside, that is inexcusable. The NBA guys are clearly the best in the world , but that was botched.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2018, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 51
Sorry, I did not see the game so I'm not sure about this. I saw the replay and it was a close call

What did they do after? Did the 3 huddle and come to a decision? Did they go to the monitor and change the call or did the replay center?
Personally, if I was an NBA ref and there was a blarge situation I do not think you involve the third ref at all. It should go to replay center and have them make the call. I hope for situations like that they have the audio off so they are not influenced by tv commentators, and have one or three replay refs make a quick review.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2018, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 895
Let's breakdown play for FED / NCAA

Durant beats a primary defender......LBJ moves to get legal guarding position.

It is Mauer ( lead official ) who takes LBJ as to whether he is legal or not as well as if the RA comes into play. At this point trail ( Brothers ) should be off play for the most part. unless there is a push in the back that L can't see. At the time of the collision neither official stops the clock (JD Collins will be beating on college officials about this in the fall) and we have a blarge. If either official stops the clock maybe this doesn't occur.

Summary - lead should take all secondary defenders at the basket / RA.

- stop the clock !!!!!

- trail official, if play goes away stay away !!!!


For whatever it is worth, I have a charge after watching a few times.

Also somewhere Scott Foster is saying let me work all seven games by myself and this would have never happened !!!!
__________________
Go ugly early, avoid the rush !!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bulls/Cavs Last Second No Call (Video 2/2) NNJOfficial Basketball 33 Wed May 13, 2015 07:46pm
NBA's 8-second rule? (Warriors/Celtics) (Video) MechanicGuy Basketball 8 Tue Mar 03, 2015 03:39am
Pistons/Cavs - Block/Charge MagMan68Classic Basketball 5 Thu Apr 11, 2013 05:06pm
interesting plays- warriors vs. jazz mutantducky Basketball 19 Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:11pm
NBA two man.....CAVS game afrothunda Basketball 15 Thu Apr 13, 2006 11:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1