The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Video Request Sunday March 18, 2018 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103695-ncaa-video-request-sunday-march-18-2018-a.html)

AremRed Sun Mar 18, 2018 01:14pm

NCAA Video Request Sunday March 18, 2018
 
Use this for today's games.

bucky Sun Mar 18, 2018 06:14pm

Tex A&M vs NV - BC violation?
 
Texas A&M vs NC - With about 4:20 in the game, NC player deflects ball off Texas A&M player. Ball goes into BC where Texas player is first to touch it. BC violation is called. I thought deflecting allowed offense to go get it in their BC. Driscoll (Ref) ran over for brief discussion with calling official but call stood. ??

All_Heart Sun Mar 18, 2018 06:40pm

Yes, that was changed this year, should have been legal. Ironically (from my understanding) bc of Driscsoll not calling it a violation tournament game for 2 straight years. This was right after the FF1 play that Driscoll clearly did not want to call a FF1.

Nevadaref Sun Mar 18, 2018 09:19pm

Two plays from the Marshall v WVA game
 
Two plays Marshall v WVA, both during the first half:
1. Ten second call at the 10 minute mark
2. Marshall player called OOB at 8:25. This play also has two opponents collisions away from the ball.

bucky Sun Mar 18, 2018 09:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1019212)
2. Marshall player called OOB at 8:25.

If it is the same play of which I am thinking, I could not figure out the call, unless the ref thought he was considered to be a dribbler. Did not seem as if he was OOB when he touched the ball.

Nevadaref Sun Mar 18, 2018 09:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1019215)
If it is the same play of which I am thinking, I could not figure out the call, unless the ref thought he was considered to be a dribbler. Did not seem as if he was OOB when he touched the ball.

That is precisely why I wanted to have it posted for discussion.

AremRed Sun Mar 18, 2018 09:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1019212)
2. Marshall player called OOB at 8:25. This play also has two opponents collisions away from the ball.

In order to be a dribbler you need to have possession of the ball, correct? They did not reset the shot clock on the steal, does that imply the player was not yet a dribbler?

Regardless, tough play to know if the player OOB is touching the ball at the time or not.

jakeas2 Sun Mar 18, 2018 10:00pm

Florida St. vs. Xavier, 2:05 left in second half. Player control foul on Xavier guard going to the basket. Looked clearly like a PC foul live but may have been leaning upon slow mo view.

Fuelrider Sun Mar 18, 2018 10:04pm

Florida ST. VS Xavier
 
Block Charge. 2:06 remaining second half. Block Charge 1:49 remaining.

bucky Sun Mar 18, 2018 10:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jakeas2 (Post 1019221)
Florida St. vs. Xavier, 2:05 left in second half. Player control foul on Xavier guard going to the basket. Looked clearly like a PC foul live but may have been leaning upon slow mo view.

Indeed, a very tough call. Macura (sp?) has had at least 3 iffy calls go against him.

Raymond Mon Mar 19, 2018 08:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1019217)
In order to be a dribbler you need to have possession of the ball, correct? They did not reset the shot clock on the steal, does that imply the player was not yet a dribbler?

Regardless, tough play to know if the player OOB is touching the ball at the time or not.

Replay clearly shows he was not OOB while touching the ball. The official must have ruled his first touch to be a dribble.

Raymond Mon Mar 19, 2018 08:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fuelrider (Post 1019223)
Block Charge. 2:06 remaining second half. Block Charge 1:49 remaining.

If the play at 1:49 was a block against FSU, that play was easily correct, not even worthy of posting a video.

The PC foul at 2:06 was close, but I think it was correct.

Raymond Mon Mar 19, 2018 08:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1019212)
Two plays Marshall v WVA, both during the first half:
1. Ten second call at the 10 minute mark
...

It didn't appear that the Marshall ball handler ever gained FC status before having the ball knocked away.

JRutledge Fri Mar 23, 2018 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1019193)
Texas A&M vs NC - With about 4:20 in the game, NC player deflects ball off Texas A&M player. Ball goes into BC where Texas player is first to touch it. BC violation is called. I thought deflecting allowed offense to go get it in their BC. Driscoll (Ref) ran over for brief discussion with calling official but call stood. ??

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/A-zx6y0PBLs" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

AremRed Fri Mar 23, 2018 05:46pm

Um that's pretty clearly no violation based on the new NCAA rules.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1