![]() |
Made basket/throw in
A1 makes a basket. B1 gets both feet out of bounds. Reaches to grab a bouncing ball(bouncing waste high) in front of him. When he tries to grab it he knocks it into court right to A1 who is 3 feet away. B1 never "possessed" the ball. Tried to but he was looking more where he was going to pass it. Kids freeze for a moment. What would you do at that moment? Blow whistle and give it back to B1 or nothing....or something else.
|
I would probably blow it dead and reset, kind of like you would if you made a crappy bounce to a thrower who then muffed it. Innocent mishap.
The would-be thrower never truly had disposal. I’d be good with a reset here. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Disposal ...
Quote:
Was the count started? That's the key. Of course, this brings us back to the circular argument. When is the ball at the disposal of the player? When the official starts his count. When does the official start his count? When the ball is at the disposal of the player. Go figure. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Well said Camron, and you only used two sentences, LOL! MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The count is the visual indicator of the official's judgement. Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk |
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk |
Practical Advice ...
Quote:
4-4-7-d: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count. Without a count, there is no disposal. |
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk |
Definitions ...
Quote:
Rule 4 is all about definitions: 4-4-7-d: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count. A more practical definition my include proximity of the ball to the inbounder, time that the ball is available, etc., but the actual definition doesn't include these practical aspects of disposal. By NFHS definition, how does an official deem, or judge, (other than common, practical sense) that the ball is at the disposal? Citation please. 4-7: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower. b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her. c. Placed on the floor at the spot. d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count. Note the word "and". You can't have disposal without counting. And you don't start a count until you deem disposal (by beginning the throwin count). 4-42-3: The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it. |
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk |
Garbage Disposal ...
Quote:
We don't just judge that goaltending occurs, we have a detailed six part definition of goaltending. We have no such detailed definition of disposal (after a goal). Rookie Official: "Hey BillyMac. I'm studying for my annual, written, refresher exam. When do I start my five second count after a goal?" BillyMac: "When the ball is a the inbounder's disposal." Rookie Official: "How do I know when the ball is at the inbounder's disposal?" BillyMac: "When you start your five second count." Rookie Official: "Hey BillyMac. I'm having trouble figuring out when to allow a team that scored to request and be granted a timeout after they score a goal. When is it too late to allow such a timeout to be granted?" BillyMac: "When you start your five second count." Rookie Official: "How do I know when to start my five second count?" BillyMac: "When the ball is a the inbounder's disposal." Rookie Official: "How do I know when the ball is at the inbounder's disposal?" BillyMac: "When you start your five second count." And ... scene. |
Quote:
When a coach asks me I'm going to say when I deem the ball to be available to the thrower in. Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk |
With Apologies To Admiral David Farragut ...
Quote:
Like you, I have to because the NFHS definition is so unbelievably poor. But by the rulebook definition alone, determining disposal after a goal is an exercise in circular reasoning. To dispute my last statement please show me a rulebook citation that includes parameters such as proximity of the ball to the inbounder, time that the ball is available, etc., in determining disposal after a goal. Such citations don't exist, but you're welcome to try. Citation please. Sometimes we just have to officiate. That's why we get paid the big bucks. Damn the rules. Damn the definitions. Full speed ahead. |
Quote:
The officials who make the really really big bucks are the ones who learned how to use their judgement in a common sense way when something is not spelled out explicitly in the rulebook. Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk |
Judgment ...
Quote:
4-4-7-D, and 4-42-3, on their own, with no further explanation beyond the actual written rules, as they presently exist, are perfect examples of circular reasoning. |
Quote:
Peace |
Science book: Mix two parts hydrogen and one part oxygen to make water.
BM: But, what if you mix one part oxygen with two parts hydrogen? I'm going to post this incessantly on scienceforum.com. Silly science book editor. |
Circular Reasoning ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
Sally Always Tells The Truth, She Told Us That She Always Tell The Truth ...
Quote:
Example: How do you know the rock layers are old? Because the fossils in them are old. How do you know the fossils are old? Because the rock that contains them are old. (A common challenge to scientists by those who believe that the Earth is only a few thousand years old.) Once anything else is added to the circular reasoning loop, it begins to make more sense. Add a little knowledge about how rock layers form and how evolution occurs, and determining the age of rocks and fossils makes more sense. Add a little knowledge (intent and purpose) about what disposal means in the game of basketball (proximity of the ball to the inbounder, time that the ball is available, etc.), and defining what disposal means makes more sense. Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Assuming ...
Quote:
Circular reasoning is often of the form: "A is true because B is true; B is true because A is true." 4-4-7-d: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count. 4-42-3: The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it. Just read the three statements above, nothing more (pretend you're from another galaxy and don't know anything about the game of basketball), no purpose and intent, and tell me this isn't a pretty good example of circular reasoning. Quote:
|
I let them play on in that moment because: player had both feet OB. Possession not required for throw in after made basket and accidents count. He fumbled it because he was in a hurry to avoid pressure. He wasn't just trying to grab it ...had just started my count. Weird play.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10am. |