![]() |
10-4-2
This rule says...
A player shall not purposely and/or deceitfully delay returning after legally being out of bounds. Has anyone called this technical before? What happened? Saw a couple plays (really the same thing a couple different times) and wondering if it would fall under this rule. |
Yes. I had a player run all the way out of bounds after they made a throw-in. BTW, the player, in that case, was warned several times and did it anyway the way I recall it. The only time it needed to be called. Usually, I just tell the player, "Get on the court" and they do.
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
First to catch the ball is not a factor. |
Quote:
Sincerely hope you refrain from making that call the rest of your career. BTW, welcome to the forum. You will benefit greatly from current threads and the more than 10 years of archives. |
Quote:
|
Almost Knocked Me Over ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Lots of sharp cookies here. Agree, this sitch does require a solid understanding of advantage gained. That was a major point when this action changed from violation to a T several years back. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
You tell the player to "come inbounds, come inbounds, come inbounds," they usually do, and you have nothing. If the player ignores that plea, delays returning and the play "works," you call the T. I've done it ... maybe twice in my career. I've also called it just a violation, (which is not the rule, of course), maybe twice as well, and when the player or coach bitches, I explain, "It's actually a technical, so you're welcome." Making the call is rare, but the scenario and play are not rare at all. |
An Example
Purposeful Delay in Returning to the Court
Saw something more purposeful observing several middle school games a couple of years ago. A1 throw-in to A2. Coach A yells, "Not yet. Not yet. Not yet. Not yet." A1 stands OOB as directed. Finally, as all the defenders migrate toward the player with the ball now at the top of the key, he yells, "Now!" A1 steps inbounds, alone and unguarded, for an easy pass from A2 and an easy, unchallenged score. Lack of knowledge of the rule led to no call being made each time I saw it. Maybe three times in three different games. |
Violation ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Fork In The Road ...
Quote:
An inbounder (actually any player legally out of bounds) purposely staying out of bounds to deceive the opponent team is a technical foul. A player shall not: Purposely and/or deceitfully delay returning after legally being out of bounds. A player on the court gaining an advantage by moving out of bounds is a violation. A player shall not leave the court for an unauthorized reason. |
Quote:
|
Split Thread ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
2) A player leaving the court for an unauthorized reason does not require an understanding of an advantage gained. Whether there is an advantage or not is irrelevant to leaving the court for an unauthorized reason. As soon as the player leaves the court, the violation is to be called (under NFHS rules), regardless of whether the player gains an advantage when returning to the court. |
Advantage Disadvantage ...
Quote:
True regarding the specific wording of the rule in question. But one should be able to intelligently apply the rules in all situations. The Intent And Purpose Of The Rules … it is important to know the intent and purpose of a rule so that it may be intelligently applied in each play situation. A player or a team should not be permitted an advantage which is not intended by a rule. Neither should play be permitted to develop which may lead to placing a player at a disadvantage not intended by a rule. justacoach made a good point, maybe he oversold it, but it was still a good point. Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
As others have pointed out, the thread has evolved in such a way that we are now discussing two distinct rules: one a violation, and the other a technical foul. I was simply pointing out that "advantage gained" applies in the latter situation, but not in the former. |
Quote:
|
Advantage Gained ...
Quote:
An offensive player going around a screen and barely stepping on a boundary line (not due to momentum, but simply because he's not looking at the boundary line, he didn't intend to run out of bounds) is a little different than an offensive player going around a screen and going three feet out of bounds because he intended to run out of bounds, he thinks that that's the only way (speed, angle, etc., ) for him to get open. The former may probably not be a violation, the latter may probably be a violation. And in the latter case, I'm not an advocate of waiting to see if his illegal advantage was successful (getting open and successfully receiving a pass). |
Quote:
|
Confused In Connecticut ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Excedrin Headache Number Fifteen ...
Quote:
Quote:
I would like to hear more about the history of this change from a violation to a technical foul, or from a technical foul to violation. |
With regard to advantage gained, we still must see the bigger picture. A1 makes a throw-in waits a few counts then sprints down the end line around a double screen, catches a pass and hits a three. Clear advantage gained and an easy call. But, they run the same play, B1 recognizes it and switches to pick up A1. A2 make a backdoor cut, receives a pass and shoots a layup.
The offending player doesn't have to be directly involved in the play (touch the ball) to create an advantage |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30pm. |