The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Slap the backboard T? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103216-slap-backboard-t.html)

cozzmokramer Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:10am

Slap the backboard T?
 
Here's the play.... offensive player is heading to shoot a layup. Trail defender goes to block shot and just misses touching the ball (in fact he may have actually grazed it). His momentum causes him to slap the backboard while the ball is above or on the rim. The shot falls out and misses.

What is the call here?

The referee called it a Technical foul, but I'm not sure that's right. I thought if it was an attempt to block the shot it wasn't a technical. The rule I found says it's a technical if:

ART. 4 . . . Illegally contact the backboard/ring by:
a. Placing a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage.
b. Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.


It seems to me that the word 'intentionally' refers to every part of art 4, b. So this should not have been a technical because it was not intentional. Am I interpreting this correct?

AremRed Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:13am

No call, hitting the backboard was incidental to the shot block attempt.

BillyMac Sat Dec 09, 2017 06:22am

From The List ...
 
Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference, nor is it goaltending, and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot, and accidentally slaps the backboard, it is neither a violation, nor is it a technical foul.

cozzmokramer Sat Dec 09, 2017 07:48am

It was clearly not a frustration or attention slap. The player attempted to block the shot and the referee in question said because the board was hit so hard with the ball on the rim he had no alternative but to issue a technical foul.

I also asked if it mattered if the ball was actually blocked? The response I was given was, that even if the defender actually got part of the ball on the block attempt if the follow thru caused him to hit the backboard while the ball was on the rim its still a technical foul.

Nevadaref Sat Dec 09, 2017 08:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cozzmokramer (Post 1012655)
It was clearly not a frustration or attention slap. The player attempted to block the shot and the referee in question said because the board was hit so hard with the ball on the rim he had no alternative but to issue a technical foul.

I also asked if it mattered if the ball was actually blocked? The response I was given was, that even if the defender actually got part of the ball on the block attempt if the follow thru caused him to hit the backboard while the ball was on the rim its still a technical foul.

The vast majority of HS officials have an understanding of that rule which is different from that of the referee with whom you spoke.

grunewar Sat Dec 09, 2017 08:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cozzmokramer (Post 1012655)
It was clearly not a frustration or attention slap. The player attempted to block the shot and the referee in question said because the board was hit so hard with the ball on the rim he had no alternative but to issue a technical foul.

I also asked if it mattered if the ball was actually blocked? The response I was given was, that even if the defender actually got part of the ball on the block attempt if the follow thru caused him to hit the backboard while the ball was on the rim its still a technical foul.

As explained, this referee was incorrect.

BryanV21 Sat Dec 09, 2017 08:54am

And, sadly, it doesn't sound like that official will ever accept being wrong.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

justacoach Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1012656)
The vast majority of HS officials have an understanding of that rule which is different from that of the referee with whom you spoke.

He must be moonlighting as an NBA or G-League ref on his nights off.

cozzmokramer Sat Dec 09, 2017 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1012656)
The vast majority of HS officials have an understanding of that rule which is different from that of the referee with whom you spoke.

That is why I was so surprised by the explanation that was given to me. Thought this was a pretty commonly known rule. The funniest thing about it was that the referee approached me after halftime to tell me that they looked the rule up at half and that he got it right.

xcoach13 Sat Dec 09, 2017 01:48pm

Is this the same guy that thought only head coach and players could stand during a 30 sec time out?:eek:

LRZ Sat Dec 09, 2017 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cozzmokramer (Post 1012662)
... they looked the rule up ....

On facebook.

BillyMac Sat Dec 09, 2017 02:11pm

Good Vibrations (Beach Boys, 1966) ...
 
Way back in twentieth century, I believe that the decision to charge a technical foul for slapping the backboard was based on whether, or not, the slap caused the basket/backboard to vibrate. Of course, that is no longer the case, a slap resulting from an attempt to block a shot can cause the basket/backboard to shake like a Polaroid picture and it's play on.

Am I right Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.?

Hey. A reference to OutKast and the Beach Boys in the same Forum post. Not too shabby.

BillyMac Sat Dec 09, 2017 02:48pm

You Can Look It Up ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cozzmokramer (Post 1012646)
The referee called it a Technical foul, ART. 4 Illegally contact the backboard/ring by: b. Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.

To play the devil's advocate, the word highlighted is "or", so let's separate that clause, as one is allowed to do when dealing with "or":

A player shall not: Illegally contact the backboard/ring by: ... causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.

This, in essence, takes intent out of the equation.

Could this be why he rationalized calling it a technical foul after looking it up?

Quote:

Originally Posted by cozzmokramer (Post 1012662)
... the referee approached me after halftime to tell me that they looked the rule up at half and that he got it right.

Of course, he would have to ignore the casebook play, and the Point of Emphasis:

10.3.4 SITUATION: A1 tries for a goal, and (a) B1 jumps and attempts to block
the shot but instead slaps or strikes the backboard and the ball goes into the basket;
or (b) B1 vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net and the ball does
not enter the basket. RULING: In (a) legal and the basket counts; and (b) a technical
foul is charged to B1 and there is no basket. COMMENT: The purpose of the
rule is to penalize intentional contact with the backboard while a shot or try is
involved or placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. A player who
strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt
to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed
a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-3-6.

2008-09 POINTS OF EMPHASIS
4. SLAPPING THE BACKBOARD. The incidents of players slapping the backboard are increasing throughout the country. The rules specify that “intentionally slapping or striking the backboard” is a technical foul (10-3-5). The spirit and intent of that rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to him/herself or as a means of venting frustration. A player who strikes the backboard in a legitimate attempt to block a try for goal should not be penalized. Basket interference cannot be ruled in either of the above situations. Basket interference only occurs if the ball is interfered with while in the cylinder above the basket ring or by touching either the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket (4-6).

Adam Sat Dec 09, 2017 07:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cozzmokramer (Post 1012662)
That is why I was so surprised by the explanation that was given to me. Thought this was a pretty commonly known rule. The funniest thing about it was that the referee approached me after halftime to tell me that they looked the rule up at half and that he got it right.

If your area uses assigners, I would email the assigner.

cozzmokramer Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by xcoach13 (Post 1012663)
Is this the same guy that thought only head coach and players could stand during a 30 sec time out?:eek:

Ummm, when did I mention that?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1