The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Michigan @ Ohio State (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103199-michigan-ohio-state-video.html)

JRutledge Tue Dec 05, 2017 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1012328)
-- If that play, as called, got sent into my supervisor(s), I would get chastised for not having play awareness nor a patient whistle.

-- I'm betting Teddy wants that call back.

There is a big part of that equation. We are not Teddy Valentine a multiple Final Four official. He has the ability to do things we would get questioned on depending on who we work for. I just watched the NCAA Video where they JD Collins discussed post play and calls and this call fits in that area. That is why I am OK with the call because a lot less was advocated to be called by the NCAA and JD Collins. I might be in the minority in this position, but I bet it was supported and probably something he was trying to address earlier in the game.

Peace

deecee Tue Dec 05, 2017 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1012329)
There is a big part of that equation. We are not Teddy Valentine a multiple Final Four official. He has the ability to do things we would get questioned on depending on who we work for. I just watched the NCAA Video where they JD Collins discussed post play and calls and this call fits in that area. That is why I am OK with the call because a lot less was advocated to be called by the NCAA and JD Collins. I might be in the minority in this position, but I bet it was supported and probably something he was trying to address earlier in the game.

Peace

I agree. The JD Collins videos contain contact that is so marginal that they want called. They are trying their best to hammer home freedom of movement (period).

In a couple years it will be something else, and so on and so forth.

Multiple Sports Tue Dec 05, 2017 07:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 1012310)
Of course #1 was necessary. It was Teddy V making the call.

DC -

Very good.....this is the only answer on this thread that really matters !!!!!

dahoopref Tue Dec 05, 2017 08:14pm

Play #2: The resumption of play inbound pass should have been at the 28-foot demarcation line of Michigan' frontcourt.

JRutledge Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1012344)
Play #2: The resumption of play inbound pass should have been at the 28-foot demarcation line of Michigan' frontcourt.

You mean the out of bounds throw-in spot?

Peace

dahoopref Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1012345)
You mean the out of bounds throw-in spot?
Peace

Yes, that is what I meant.

johnny d Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1012344)
Play #2: The resumption of play inbound pass should have been at the 28-foot demarcation line of Michigan' frontcourt.

No it should not have. Think about what the rule says, and who the violation is on.

JRutledge Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1012346)
Yes, that is what I meant.

That is not quite what the rules state. Rule 7-3-2c says:

Quote:

When there is a team control in the backcourt of the ball is loose in the backcourt and any situation in Article 1 occur, play shall resume to either the point of interruption or the designated spot nearest where the violation or foul occurred.
Since this was a violation as stated in 7-3-1a says:

Quote:

A violation as in Rule 9 or a simultaneous violation;
Peace

dahoopref Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1012349)
That is not quite what the rules state. Rule 7-3-2c says:



Since this was a violation as stated in 7-3-1a says:



Peace

Per the NCAA MEMORANDUM
November 20, 2017
Page No. 6

5. Art Hyland, Secretary-Rules Editor comments.
c. Throw-ins (Rule 7-3 and 7-4). The following throw-in provisions are in effect immediately:

(2) Backcourt.

When the offensive team commits an offensive foul or violation (including causing the ball to be out of bounds) or the defense is awarded the ball after a held ball, the throw-in for the defensive team (now becomes the offense) will be at the closest of the four spots using the line of demarcation.

Raymond Wed Dec 06, 2017 08:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 1012348)
No it should not have. Think about what the rule says, and who the violation is on.

Frontcourt throw-ins after a violation are done at the one of the 4 designated throw-in spots. That has been part of the pre-game for every college game I've done this season.

johnny d Wed Dec 06, 2017 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1012350)
Per the NCAA MEMORANDUM
November 20, 2017
Page No. 6

5. Art Hyland, Secretary-Rules Editor comments.
c. Throw-ins (Rule 7-3 and 7-4). The following throw-in provisions are in effect immediately:

(2) Backcourt.

When the offensive team commits an offensive foul or violation (including causing the ball to be out of bounds) or the defense is awarded the ball after a held ball, the throw-in for the defensive team (now becomes the offense) will be at the closest of the four spots using the line of demarcation.

My bad, I did not read your original post carefully enough to notice the word Michigan's. That makes a big difference, having missed that key word, I thought you were saying the throw in should be at the 28 foot line in the back court.

And yes, I was aware of the updated memo from Art.

njbell89 Sat Dec 23, 2017 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1012325)
Michigan was in the bonus according to the scoreboard on the screen. And the shooter shot a one and one. ????

I had the same question. Looks like the television scoreboard was not updated quickly enough. The rebounding foul was the 7th on Michigan.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1