The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Michigan @ Ohio State (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103199-michigan-ohio-state-video.html)

JRutledge Mon Dec 04, 2017 08:17pm

Michigan @ Ohio State (Video)
 
Play #1:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/nuSWfmD_AKA" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #2:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Ptu_0KM-2_8" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #3:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/WScUO9dUkas" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

bucky Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:22pm

1) Not necessary
2) BC violation as there was no defensive tip
3) Travel

bas2456 Tue Dec 05, 2017 12:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1012297)
1) Not necessary



Why not?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Camron Rust Tue Dec 05, 2017 01:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1012297)
1) Not necessary
2) BC violation as there was no defensive tip
3) Travel

Agree. In fact, you could say he traveled twice. He dragged the pivot foot quite a ways before picking it up and and then stepping with it.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 05, 2017 08:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 1012299)
Why not?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

If the referee knew it was a try, then the hold didn't create an advantage (and it's not one of the automatic fouls).

But, it looked to me like the post player was calling for the ball and the referee thought it was a pass.

Or, maybe he was just trying to clean up the post play (depending on what had been happening and whether they had talked to the players prior to this).

deecee Tue Dec 05, 2017 09:13am

Of course #1 was necessary. It was Teddy V making the call.

bucky Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:37am

Got to be something obvious. Why two shots? Were they in double bonus?

bas2456 Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1012314)
Got to be something obvious. Why two shots? Were they in double bonus?



That’s the only way, barring any sort of flagrant foul, that they could have two shots there, right?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Pantherdreams Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:41am

1) Not needed.

2) DIdn't watch that one.

3) Is a travel by NFHS and NCAA rule. Everywhere else in the world they want us by rule to be letting that one go now.

SC Official Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 1012299)
Why not?

#1 is not a call you want to make at a camp. The ball went in the basket, so there was no advantage, and the contact wasn't severe enough to warrant a "clean-up" whistle.

I'm sure Teddy wishes he could have it back.

JRutledge Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:01am

1. I have no issues with the call or who called it. I think considering all the video they show about rebounding contact, that was a good foul. And if there had been a retaliation and you did not call the first foul, then there would have been other issues. You have no idea what is going to happen with the ball.

2. I just showed this because people think because the rule has changed all contact situations with the ball are OK. And the coach was complaining as if it was last year apparently.

3. I thought it was a travel when it happened.

Peace

Eastshire Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:02am

On #1, are any of you calling this if the rebound goes away? I usually would let this go unless the was a short rebound to that side.

walt Tue Dec 05, 2017 12:52pm

1) With all the emphasis on rebounding plays and all the videos the NCAA has put out, I have no problem with the call. If that got sent into a coordinator, I am not sure I'd be able to explain a no call on the grab and pull on the waist when I got the "Why wasn't this called?" phone call?

2) No brainer.

3) Travel.

bucky Tue Dec 05, 2017 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 1012315)
That’s the only way, barring any sort of flagrant foul, that they could have two shots there, right?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Michigan was in the bonus according to the scoreboard on the screen. And the shooter shot a one and one. ????

Raymond Tue Dec 05, 2017 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by walt (Post 1012324)
1) With all the emphasis on rebounding plays and all the videos the NCAA has put out, I have no problem with the call. If that got sent into a coordinator, I am not sure I'd be able to explain a no call on the grab and pull on the waist when I got the "Why wasn't this called?" phone call?
....

-- If that play, as called, got sent into my supervisor(s), I would get chastised for not having play awareness nor a patient whistle.

-- I'm betting Teddy wants that call back.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1