The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Wizards-76ers play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103184-wizards-76ers-play.html)

kk13 Fri Dec 01, 2017 04:12pm

Angry or not, he is drawing attention to himself. T

Camron Rust Fri Dec 01, 2017 05:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kk13 (Post 1012185)
Angry or not, he is drawing attention to himself. T

And that is illegal by what rule?

Raymond Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1012187)
And that is illegal by what rule?

In the NBA it's pretty much automatic.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

AremRed Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1012193)
In the NBA it's pretty much automatic.

Camron is trying to say that “drawing attention to yourself” is not listed in the rule book as a technical foul. Which is pedantic and unnecessary.

bucky Sat Dec 02, 2017 01:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1012194)
Camron is trying to say that “drawing attention to yourself” is not listed in the rule book as a technical foul. Which is pedantic and unnecessary.

It...kinda is IMO. See NFHS case 10.4.4 Sit A Comment: A player who strikes either the backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-4-3.

If doing one act that can't be ignored b/c it is an attempt to draw attention results in a technical, then why can't another?

Camron Rust Sat Dec 02, 2017 03:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1012197)
It...kinda is IMO. See NFHS case 10.4.4 Sit A Comment: A player who strikes either the backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-4-3.

If doing one act that can't be ignored b/c it is an attempt to draw attention results in a technical, then why can't another?

You make a good point. I think a lot of the times, the ball slam is a T, but, for me, it isn't automatic.

BillyMac Sat Dec 02, 2017 06:32am

Illegal With Exception ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1012197)
If doing one act that can't be ignored b/c it is an attempt to draw attention results in a technical, then why can't another?

Why? Because the casebook play is associated with this rule:

A player shall not: Illegally contact the backboard/ring by: Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1012197)
NFHS case 10.4.4 Sit A Comment: A player who strikes either the backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-4-3.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1