The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2017, 12:02pm
sj sj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 360
Legal guarding position question

A5 is dribbling up the court near the sideline. Defender B21 establishes legal guarding position with both feet in-bounds. Just prior to contact B21 has moved to maintain legal guarding position and has one foot on the sideline when A5 runs into B21 knocking him over.

Based on the wording in 4-23-2-a and 4-23-3-a, as well as the comment on page 70, this is a charge. Is that understanding correct? And seeing they clarified this rule a couple of years ago does anybody have any idea why they still allow the defender to have a foot out of bounds while he was just maintaining legal guarding position?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legal Guarding Position RefBob Basketball 21 Thu Jun 23, 2016 11:23am
Legal guarding position? AremRed Basketball 7 Thu Apr 18, 2013 01:50am
Legal guarding position tjchamp Basketball 87 Thu Apr 29, 2004 08:53pm
legal guarding position John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 28 Sat Nov 08, 2003 10:14pm
Once more, the question of a legal guarding position Damian Basketball 10 Mon Sep 29, 2003 10:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1