![]() |
Duke v Mich State
Video Request:
6:02 remaining in the second half. Jay Bilas stated that the official Lamont Simpson told him that it was "a live-ball, contact technical foul." What??? |
|
My opinion is a flagrant 2 (personal) foul.
|
Quote:
|
I just saw the play, I am very confused. There is no such foul? This is either a Flagrant Foul (1 or 2) or nothing. The ball was clearly live and you cannot give the ball at the division line for this kind of T. I think the officials out talked themselves on this one.
Peace |
Video of the play
Here is the play.
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/48QpSStUBO0" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allowfullscreen></iframe> Peace |
It looked to me like he was trying to slap away the arm of the MSU player that was holding onto him, not slinging an elbow. The elbow making contact was "incidental" to that (and I don't mean to say this was incidental contact).
I could go with an F1, but I do not believe there was an intent to harm here. |
Quote:
|
Meh. It’s not like he wound up and slammed him. Did you see that little, “oops, crap I hit his head” look on his face? F1.
Wrong guy shot FTs, ball was inbounded 47 feet from where it should have been, and now the offender is only one vice two Ts from ejection. It’s really bad to kick a rule at this level; it’s even worse to make up a new type of foul on the fly. That was a big oops. Shouldn’t have happened. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
I have an F1. He didn't size up or target the opponent, and he didn't "throw" an elbow. He was attempting to swat away the hand the was pulling on his jersey; he didn't even know where the opponents face was. No way in hell that warrants an ejection.
I am extremely bothered that the adjudication was botched. |
Quote:
|
I'd have a hard time ejecting a player for what is clearly an accidental elbow. From what I see Carter was simply trying to slap away the defenders arm, as the defender grabbed his jersey.
Going strictly by the rules, this may indeed be a FF2... which includes ejection. But a FF1 would suffice. What doesn't work at all is making something up. |
Does the jersey grab (an Int foul in NFHS) also count as an FF1 in NCAA?? If so, why not double foul call here?
|
Quote:
As to the subject of whether you could call a double personal foul here....sure, you could. But, I'd probably be passing on the marginal jersey hold and then get surprised by the elbow. I'd be reluctant, at that point, to re-evaluate the hold as something more than marginal just because of how the other guy reacted. I want to get the big foul here. If the two fouls were a little more bang-bang, then maybe DPF makes sense. Otherwise I'm probably not calling it that way. I like to save my DPFs for those few times in a season where they really stand out as a good use of a tool. This wouldn't be one of those times, IMHO. |
Quote:
#2) This is why you don't pass on players intentionally pulling the jersey of an opponent. |
Quote:
#2) I went back and looked at the video again, and you're right, this is more egregious than I first thought. The replay angles don't show it well, but the live angle at the very beginning of the clip was telling. B34's shirt was pulled at a 30° angle. Yeah, that's probably not a hold one should pass on. Still a common foul, though. |
Intent doesn't matter a whit to me. I look at mode of contact (elbow) and location of contact (head and neck area), and whether the contact is excessive/unnecessary or excessive and also severe/extreme.
For me, this contact is excessive and severe. Therefore, Flagrant 2. I have a Flagrant 1 for the jersey pull. |
Quote:
|
I know Lamont and one thought that comes to my mind is that he has officiated and officiates so many levels. His words may have been inexact due to wording used in other areas, like the WNBA for example. Not saying he is correct/incorrect, just adding that crosstalk among many levels (WNBA, NBA, NCAA, FIBA, NFHS, etc.) can get mixed.
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Teddy was right there, not sure why he passed on the jersey hold. had he immediately called an FF1 for that, there may have been no escalation. Duke player, being held, simply tried to swipe away holding hand without looking back, and inadvertently (IMO) hit the MSU player... above the shoulders. Ball was at mid-court. Teddy allowed play to continue. Now, at dead ball, they review.
Many have offered their opinion. I would have just went with double F1's. (I noticed, at 1:58, that JD (looks like him) is at the table.) |
Quote:
That was Collins at the table. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
The videos won't run on my computer - internet explorer 11. Are there some setting issues? Google chrome?
|
Quote:
I use Firefox and it works well. I have had not issues in the past using Edge or Chrome. Chrome after all is a Google product that runs YouTube. Peace |
Chrome ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk |
Internet Explorer 11 ...
Quote:
I'll stick to Internet Explorer 11. With the exception of the inability to show low definition videos (high definition videos always work), I like the features of Internet Explorer 11. Why do you ask? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01pm. |