![]() |
|
|
|||
This is a good rule which the NCAA recently adopted. It has been an NBA rule for years. Unfortunately, the NFHS has yet to follow suit.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Remember, you don't have to be accurate or precise, just definite. If you count like we all have playing back yard football, you have a pretty good mechanism. One-Thou-sand-One, One-Thou-sand-Two, etc. Each syllable is ~0.25 seconds. Get through 3, take of 0.7 or 0.8 seconds. Get to just one, take off 0.2. In the middle, split the difference. You'd be surprised how precise you can be with a simple technique. Or, if you prefer.... One-Miss-i-ssipp-i, Two-Miss-i-ssipp-i, etc.Where each syllable is 0.2.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
And, there is an interp from FED that "some time, likely tenths of a second" should come off -- but it was only an annual interp and didn't make it to the case book, so ... From 2009-10: SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1’s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2’s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2’s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1) Last edited by bob jenkins; Tue Nov 07, 2017 at 08:56am. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Instigator ...
Camron Rust: You are a bad boy (I was thinking same thing).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
3N2 Reaction Shoe | tlavan | Basketball | 9 | Sun Nov 13, 2016 10:20pm |
Odd reaction to an OBS call | Dakota | Softball | 12 | Sat Jul 02, 2005 11:54am |
GImme your first reaction | azbigdawg | Softball | 16 | Wed Jun 22, 2005 01:25pm |
Your Reaction ??? | Bandit | Softball | 4 | Fri Apr 29, 2005 03:41pm |
So what is your reaction? | Ron Pilo | Basketball | 26 | Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:08pm |