The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Revisit the "jump stop" (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103083-revisit-jump-stop.html)

Jqb12 Fri Nov 03, 2017 12:35pm

Revisit the "jump stop"
 
I recently found myself in a position of trying to explain to a coach why his player could not leave the ground on one foot with the ball, land simultaneously on both feet, and NOT be allowed a pivot foot after the landing. Other than simply telling him that it's in the rule book, how do we explain WHY this is traveling? I did a half-assed job of trying to explain it. He didn't catch the ball in the air and then land on 2 feet, it was off his dribble.

so cal lurker Fri Nov 03, 2017 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jqb12 (Post 1010950)
Other than simply telling him that it's in the rule book, how do we explain WHY this is traveling?

Not sure you can: the player doesn't have a pivot foot because the rule book says so.

Maybe you try: "Normally jumping and landing is travelling. There is an exception for jumping off one foot and landing on both at the same time. But the price for that exception is that the player doesn't get to pivot."

Jqb12 Fri Nov 03, 2017 01:43pm

Yea, that would've sounded a little better than what I found myself rambling about. Really doesn't seem to be a sound explanation.

crosscountry55 Fri Nov 03, 2017 02:37pm

Not to belabor a discussion we recently had, but you have to be sure that the dribble had already ended when the player alighted off of that one foot. If the dribble ended after the alight, and then he/she lands simultaneously on two feet, now either could be a pivot. Be ready for the coach to make this point (whether the coach saw it the way you saw it is an entirely different matter).

It's all about when the dribble ends. If you're not sure, don't guess. This is probably why players appear to get away with travelling in some cases like this. It's because the official wasn't sure and didn't guess.

BigCat Sat Nov 04, 2017 08:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jqb12 (Post 1010955)
Yea, that would've sounded a little better than what I found myself rambling about. Really doesn't seem to be a sound explanation.

"Your player ended the dribble with one foot on the floor. He can jump off of that foot. If both feet land, they must be simultaneous. once that happens he cannot pivot. 4-44."

bob jenkins Sat Nov 04, 2017 09:13am

Part of the issue in this is that, in general, coaches use the term "jump stop" only to mean "gather in the air and land on two feet." -- So, when they ask, "Can you oivot after a jump stop?" they get the answer "yes" and then try to apply it to the "jump off one foot..." type,

BillyMac Sat Nov 04, 2017 01:30pm

Regional ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1010981)
Part of the issue in this is that, in general, coaches use the term "jump stop" only to mean "gather in the air and land on two feet." -- So, when they ask, "Can you pivot after a jump stop?" they get the answer "yes" and then try to apply it to the "jump off one foot..." type,

Bingo.

And basketball terms may have regional differences. In some areas, a player putting his body between the basket and the opposing player in order to gain an advantage in getting rebound is called "boxing out". In other areas, it may be called "blocking out".

BigCat Sat Nov 04, 2017 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1010981)
Part of the issue in this is that, in general, coaches use the term "jump stop" only to mean "gather in the air and land on two feet." -- So, when they ask, "Can you oivot after a jump stop?" they get the answer "yes" and then try to apply it to the "jump off one foot..." type,

There's that word "gather" again. I don't think many coaches realize when the dribble ends. If they ask q can you pivot after a jump stop the official shoujd say depends on when the dribble ended. With a foot on ground, no pivot. If ended w both feet off ground, yes.

Most of the jump stops we see these days the dribble ends w one foot on ground. Many coaches and other think the dribble isn't ended until ball is touched with both hands.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1