The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2017-18 NFHS Interpretations, Pt.2 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102989-2017-18-nfhs-interpretations-pt-2-a.html)

BillyMac Wed Oct 18, 2017 06:34pm

Young'uns Can Google Larry Bird ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1010263)
The free thrower fails to be in the free-throw semicircle when the official is ready to administer the free throw ...

Larry Bird used to do this all the time. It was part of his free throw routine, plus he liked being a wise ass.

bucky Wed Oct 18, 2017 08:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1010263)

The play described IS NOT a Resumption of Play.

How did you deduce that?


Had the same partner who bounced the ball to a kid in a varsity game a couple weeks later for a FT and the kid was 2 feet outside the semi circle behind the FT line. I call a violation and he after the game said that I shouldn't have made that call. I told him he shouldn't have bounced the kid the ball in that position and it was lazy mechanics. I think he rated me poorly on both games (which is another pet peeve - officials rating officials).

BillyMac Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:15pm

Peer Ratings ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1010269)
... pet peeve - officials rating officials.

We now supplement ratings by trained observers with peer ratings. I hate rating my varsity partner, which is now the only (and junior varsity officials rating their junior varsity partners) peer rating that we do. I've got better things to observe during a game than my partner.

We used to allow junior varsity officials to rate varsity officials, which I also hated, and was glad to see go by the wayside.

But we threw out the baby with the bathwater when we stopped having varsity officials rate junior varsity officials. In my opinion that (varsity officials rate junior varsity officials) was the only worth while peer rating.

BillyMac Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:56pm

The Palmetto State ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1010207)
It is not correct to rule a warning later to the same coach who was already warned. Once another or different rule is broken, a technical foul must be ruled

Nice citation SC Official. Thanks.

deecee Thu Oct 19, 2017 06:25am

There's a case play that says the below regarding this violation and leaving or entering the semicircle is a violation.

RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have ended. (9-1-3e Penalty 1)

bob jenkins Thu Oct 19, 2017 07:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 1010192)
Had the same partner who bounced the ball to a kid in a varsity game a couple weeks later for a FT and the kid was 2 feet outside the semi circle behind the FT line. I call a violation and he after the game said that I shouldn't have made that call. I told him he shouldn't have bounced the kid the ball in that position and it was lazy mechanics. I think he rated me poorly on both games (which is another pet peeve - officials rating officials).

You're both right that the other was wrong.

AremRed Thu Oct 19, 2017 08:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 1010192)
Had the same partner who bounced the ball to a kid in a varsity game a couple weeks later for a FT and the kid was 2 feet outside the semi circle behind the FT line. I call a violation and he after the game said that I shouldn't have made that call. I told him he shouldn't have bounced the kid the ball in that position and it was lazy mechanics. I think he rated me poorly on both games (which is another pet peeve - officials rating officials).

This is not the purpose of the rule, I am disappointed you called this.

so cal lurker Thu Oct 19, 2017 08:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1010292)
You're both right that the other was wrong.

+1

why should the player be punished for the referee's mistake?

deecee Thu Oct 19, 2017 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 1010306)
+1

why should the player be punished for the referee's mistake?

I get the logic here, but aren't players/teams "punished" for referees mistakes in many other scenarios? Wouldn't this logic then apply to any referee mistake being "correctable"?

deecee Thu Oct 19, 2017 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1010292)
You're both right that the other was wrong.

I see your point.

Zoochy Tue Oct 24, 2017 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 1010286)
There's a case play that says the below regarding this violation and leaving or entering the semicircle is a violation.

RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have ended. (9-1-3e Penalty 1)

It looks like you are referring to Case Book play 9.1.3 SITUATION I:

The official administering a free throw awarded to A1 places the ball at his/her disposal. A1, who is inside the free-throw semicircle leaves the semicircle to confer with a teammate.

RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have ended. (9-1-3e PENALTY 1)


Nothing about Shooter A1 entering the Free throw area after the ball is at his/Her disposal. Go to 10.4.5c

SC Official Tue Oct 24, 2017 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1010537)
It looks like you are referring to Case Book play 9.1.3 SITUATION I:

The official administering a free throw awarded to A1 places the ball at his/her disposal. A1, who is inside the free-throw semicircle leaves the semicircle to confer with a teammate.

RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have ended. (9-1-3e PENALTY 1)


Nothing about Shooter A1 entering the Free throw area after the ball is at his/Her disposal. Go to 10.4.5c

Huh?

Camron Rust Wed Oct 25, 2017 12:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1010537)
It looks like you are referring to Case Book play 9.1.3 SITUATION I:

The official administering a free throw awarded to A1 places the ball at his/her disposal. A1, who is inside the free-throw semicircle leaves the semicircle to confer with a teammate.

RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have ended. (9-1-3e PENALTY 1)


Nothing about Shooter A1 entering the Free throw area after the ball is at his/Her disposal. Go to 10.4.5c

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1010538)
Huh?

That is correct and can occur after a timeout if a team delays returning to the floor. You put the ball down on the FT line (never done it) and start the 10 count. The only way for the shooting team to avoid a violation on the FT is to call another timeout.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1