The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   6 on the Court -- unnoticed... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102845-6-court-unnoticed.html)

bucky Mon Aug 14, 2017 01:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1008713)
We can all agree that we can penalize during live balls, even if the clock isn't running, no need for discussion on that. Team members are always participating under those circumstances

If live ball penalties can be assessed, regardless of the clock status, then why can't the same be said for dead ball penalties? Ergo, status of the clock is irrelevant.

To me, you have live/dead ball penalties and the clock's status has no affect.

You seem to be focusing on a specific dead ball period (after made basket). What about the others such as just before tip-off, before a throw-in, or before a free throw. When the officials see 5+ players on the court, there is no penalty, they just get rid of (so to speak) the extras. So why not apply the same concept to your dead ball period? Does that not seem logical?

Indeed, it is the only situation in which the ball status goes live-dead-live automatically but to me, it stands to reason to apply how it is handled in the same manner as the other situations.

Love your passion and not even trying to convince you of anything, only offering how I handle it given written words in the rule book. I will definitely throw this at our state interpreter and see what kind of feedback comes.

BillyMac Mon Aug 14, 2017 06:04am

Participating ...
 
Good post.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1008728)
... after made basket ... before tip-off, before a throw-in, or before a free throw.

When are team members participating? Certainly not during the dead ball period before the live ball of a jump ball or during the dead ball period before a live ball of a designated spot throwin.

NFHS rules, as presently written, don't use live ball/dead ball, or the status of the clock, to determine extra team member rulings (penalties, or send extra man back) but rather base the ruling on "participation", which it doesn't define. Other Forum members want to simply use live ball/dead ball, I just added the status of the clock into the mix for discussion purposes because I believe that team members can be participating during times other than live balls.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1008728)
I will definitely throw this at our state interpreter and see what kind of feedback comes.

Please do. My questions to trainers were just answered with, "Don't let it happen, do a better job of preventing six players from entering, or staying on the court".

Nevadaref Mon Aug 14, 2017 07:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1008729)
NFHS rules, as presently written, don't use live ball/dead ball, or the status of the clock, to determine extra team member rulings (penalties, or send extra man back) but rather base the ruling on "participation", which it doesn't define.

Not true. The NFHS defines participating in the Case Book ruling already cited in this thread.

BillyMac Tue Aug 15, 2017 05:57am

Bench Personnel ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1008745)
Not true. The NFHS defines participating in the Case Book ruling already cited in this thread.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1008314)
10.2.2 SITUATION: With Team A leading 51 to 50, a held ball is called. A6 properly reports and enters the game. Time is then called by Team A. The clock shows two seconds remaining in the game. After play is resumed by a throw-in, the officials: (a) recognize that A has six players competing, but cannot get the clock stopped; or (b) do not notice Team A has six players on the court. Following the throw-in, time expires. Team B now reports to the officials that Team A had six players on the court.
RULING: In (a), since one of the officials had knowledge that Team A had six players participating simultaneously and this was detected prior to time expiring, a technical foul is assessed against Team A. In (b), since it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after time had expired, it is too late to assess any penalty.

Time expired. Everybody is bench personnel. It said time expired, not ball is dead (even though it was). Two variables. Water muddied.

10.5.3 SITUATION: A5 has just received his/her fifth foul of the game. A5 (a) is erroneously permitted to remain in the game for another two minutes before the scorer realizes the mistake; or (b) leaves the game after the coach is notified of the disqualification. At the intermission between the third and fourth quarter, A5 reports as a substitute and subsequently enters the game. RULING: In (a), as soon as the error is discovered, the player is removed from the game, no penalties are assessed. In (b), A5 will not actually "participate" until the ball becomes live. If detected prior to the ball becoming live, A5 would be directed to the bench and no penalty assessed unless the official deemed it was a deliberate attempt to circumvent the rules. If detected after the ball becomes live, it is a technical foul charged directly to the head coach resulting in the loss of coaching-box
privileges. The player is immediately removed from the game and Team B is awarded two free-throws and the ball. (2-11-5 Note 2)

Not about extra players. First (note "prior") live ball sets up the penalty, even if the disqualified player is discovered during a subsequent dead ball. Anything prior to first live ball is not penalized, that's all the ruling states. After that it's open season for a penalty, live ball or dead ball. If the disqualified player eventually leaves the game (undiscovered) and becomes bench personnel, then it may be too late to penalize.

If during a dead ball after the ball first becomes live with the disqualified player (coach was informed) on the court (let's say after an out of bounds violation), the disqualified player (we can call him a player, he's one of five) is discovered, are you not going to penalize, or just send him back to the bench?

BryanV21 Tue Aug 15, 2017 07:33am

Doesn't the line "A5 will not actually "participate" until the ball becomes live" solve our issue here?

bucky Tue Aug 15, 2017 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1008749)
Doesn't the line "A5 will not actually "participate" until the ball becomes live" solve our issue here?

It definitely goes in my pile of reasons to not penalize during a dead ball.

To answer Billy's last question, indeed, I would not penalize. In the case, the player went 2 minutes and then it was discovered. A DQ'd player (barring deliberate attempt to circumvent rules), participating in a game, should not, IMO, ever be penalized as it was the fault of some game official (referee, umpires, table, scorers, etc.).

Freddy Tue Aug 15, 2017 01:32pm

Haven't Heard This Interpretation Yet, I Don't Think
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1008749)
Doesn't the line "A5 will not actually "participate" until the ball becomes live" solve our issue here?

Yes it does.
My take on it after consideration of all the above discussion:

#1. Before ball becomes live = not "participating"
#2. After ball becomes live = "participating"
#3. During a dead ball period after that = still "participating", therefore meriting a technical foul . . .
. . . because the parameters of "will not actually "participate" until the ball becomes live" have been met if discovered after #2.
Anytime after that, A5, when discovered, is still, without a definition to the contrary anywhere in the books, A5 is still "participating" if out on the court.
That's what I'm thinkin', for now. Though I do respect those who disagree.

Nevadaref Tue Aug 15, 2017 01:59pm

This is the part of 10.5.3 which provides a clear definition of what it means to participate in an NFHS contest: "In (b), A5 will not actually "participate" until the ball becomes live. If detected prior to the ball becoming live, A5 would be directed to the bench and no penalty assessed..."

This rule 10-6-3 also needs to be penalized while being violated. Therefore, it must be caught during a live ball.

BryanV21 Tue Aug 15, 2017 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1008755)
This is the part of 10.5.3 which provides a clear definition of what it means to participate in an NFHS contest: "In (b), A5 will not actually "participate" until the ball becomes live. If detected prior to the ball becoming live, A5 would be directed to the bench and no penalty assessed..."

This rule 10-6-3 also needs to be penalized while being violated. Therefore, it must be caught during a live ball.

I agree.

While it may not be fair not to assess the technical foul, it is what it is. Sorry, coach.

BillyMac Tue Aug 15, 2017 05:18pm

Disqualified ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1008752)
I would not penalize. In the case, the player went 2 minutes and then it was discovered. A DQ'd player (barring deliberate attempt to circumvent rules), participating in a game, should not, IMO, ever be penalized as it was the fault of some game official (referee, umpires, table, scorers, etc.).

I wouldn't either (penalize the player). The player is never penalized for participating after being disqualified. It's the coach who is penalized with a technical foul. It was the coach who decided to put said player back in the game after he was informed by an official that his player was disqualified (definition of disqualified equals coach informed). It was not an error by the referee, umpires, table, scorers, the police officer in the corner, or the hot single mom who runs the concession stand. If the officials, or table, screwed up (not in this case) and the coach was never informed, then the player was never officially disqualified and, of course, there would be penalty for anybody. In this case, the coach screwed up and gets the penalty, not the disqualified player.

Want to give it another try bucky?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1008748)
If during a dead ball after the ball first becomes live with the disqualified player (coach was informed) on the court (let's say after an out of bounds violation), the disqualified player (we can call him a player, he's one of five) is discovered, are you not going to penalize, or just send him back to the bench?


BillyMac Tue Aug 15, 2017 05:24pm

Parameters ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by freddy (Post 1008754)
my take on it after consideration of all the above discussion:
#1. Before ball becomes live = not "participating"
#2. After ball becomes live = "participating"
#3. During a dead ball period after that = still "participating", therefore meriting a technical foul . . .
. . . Because the parameters of "will not actually "participate" until the ball becomes live" have been met if discovered after #2.
Anytime after that, a5, when discovered, is still, without a definition to the contrary anywhere in the books, a5 is still "participating" if out on the court.
That's what i'm thinkin', for now. Though i do respect those who disagree.

Haven't Heard This Interpretation Yet, I Don't Think

Sounds similar to my post:

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1008748)
First (note "prior") live ball sets up the penalty, even if the disqualified player is discovered during a subsequent dead ball. Anything prior to first live ball is not penalized, that's all the ruling states. After that it's open season for a penalty, live ball or dead ball. If the disqualified player eventually leaves the game (undiscovered) and becomes bench personnel, then it may be too late to penalize.

I hope it's similar, they're starting to wear me down and I need a "participating" buddy.

BillyMac Tue Aug 15, 2017 05:29pm

Until ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1008755)
This is the part of 10.5.3 which provides a clear definition of what it means to participate in an NFHS contest: "In (b), A5 will not actually "participate" until the ball becomes live. If detected prior to the ball becoming live, A5 would be directed to the bench and no penalty assessed..."

You're extrapolating, (which can sometimes work, but in my opinion, not here). It doesn't say what can happen after that (after the ball becomes live), like when it becomes dead. And it only deals with one player (A5) who just entered the game. It doesn't say if the other four players were participating before the ball became live, or while it was dead. I also wonder why participate is in quotes? Why isn't it just participate, with no quotes?

BillyMac Tue Aug 15, 2017 05:50pm

Dubious ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1008759)
I also wonder why participate is in quotes? Why isn't it just participate, with no quotes?

I went to some grammar web sites and came up with these:

1) It is meant to denote a strange or unusual use of the word.

My favorite:

2) When you want to imply that the quoted word is dubious.

Quotation marks - Grammarist

bucky Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1008757)
I wouldn't either (penalize the player). The player is never penalized for participating after being disqualified. It's the coach who is penalized with a technical foul. It was the coach who decided to put said player back in the game after he was informed by an official that his player was disqualified (definition of disqualified equals coach informed). It was not an error by the referee, umpires, table, scorers, the police officer in the corner, or the hot single mom who runs the concession stand. If the officials, or table, screwed up (not in this case) and the coach was never informed, then the player was never officially disqualified and, of course, there would be penalty for anybody. In this case, the coach screwed up and gets the penalty, not the disqualified player.

Want to give it another try bucky?

I won't call it another try, perhaps, just more info. The definition of "disqualified" does not equal the coach being informed. Being "officially disqualified" involves the coach being informed. Can't believe I just split hairs on that one but whateves...

So, if the coach was informed, then it could be considered a deliberate attempt to circumvent the rules and a technical foul would be warranted, whether the ball is live or dead.

BillyMac Wed Aug 16, 2017 06:02am

Disqualified ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1008761)
The definition of "disqualified" does not equal the coach being informed. Being "officially disqualified" involves the coach being informed.

I'm not sure what the difference is?

4-14-2: A player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel
when the coach is notified by an official.


Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1008761)
... if the coach was informed, then it could be considered a deliberate attempt to circumvent the rules and a technical foul would be warranted ...

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1008748)
10.5.3 SITUATION ... unless the official deemed it was a deliberate attempt to circumvent the rules.

How does an official "deem" this? Coaches aren't perfect and occasionally make honest mistakes. Good question for another thread.

bucky Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1008762)
I'm not sure what the difference is?

4-14-2: A player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel
when the coach is notified by an official.


NFHS created 2 parts so only they would know.


Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1008762)
How does an official "deem" this? Coaches aren't perfect and occasionally make honest mistakes. Good question for another thread.

Not sure as all people are different. You as an official have to determine the honesty of the mistake. I am only responding to the case whereby the extra player was DQ and it is a live/dead/live ball. If kid/table/coach were notified, and extra player was discovered on court during a dead ball in the live/dead/live case, it could easily be deemed by an official to be deliberate by the coach. It could be deemed this by process of elimination (IOW, what else could it be?) and, perhaps more importantly, can be used, by rule, as the means to assessing a T during this "strange" dead ball period that has been discussed. An official would not even have to give the reason for the T. Everyone, including the coach (unless the coach had read this thread and was a very experienced official) would understand (or at least think) that the T was for having an extra player on the floor. No one would say a word about not being able to give the T because it is a dead ball. And, that one official who read this thread, would also not be able to question it because he/she would now be familiar with the rule regarding the deliberate attempt to circumvent the rules. Let's go one step further and pretend, hypothetically, that there was another official(he/she did not read this thread) on the planet that questioned giving the T during that dead ball period. You could look like a rule God and explain that you deemed that the coach was deliberately circumventing (use those words to accentuate your God-like knowledge) the rules and ergo, the T was allowed during the dead ball.

Can't believe I did it again. Another fine for too many words coming my way. Sheesh.

BigT Wed Aug 16, 2017 02:37pm

Maybe I am making this too simple. Wouldn't it be better if the coach or table says there is 6 players to stop count both teams and then blow the whistle and call the T? Why are we blowing our whistle because the coach is counting and then counting and saying coach I cant call the T cuz I decided to count after my whistle rather than before my whistle...

BillyMac Wed Aug 16, 2017 05:35pm

Unsporting ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1008765)
An official would not even have to give the reason for the T.

There's got to be a reason, either unsporting, or disqualified player in the game.

10-4-1: Bench personnel, including the head coach, shall not: Commit an unsporting foul. This includes, but is not limited to, acts or conduct such as yadah yadah yadah ...

As with other parts of 10.5.3 SITUATION, the NFHS is unclear as to what type of technical foul to give pre-live ball for a coach deliberately attempting to circumvent the rules by sending in a disqualified player.

I'm guessing unsporting.

Stupid NFHS rules editors. Stupid 10.5.3 SITUATION.

BillyMac Wed Aug 16, 2017 05:39pm

Quite Rare ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 1008766)
... if the coach or table says there is 6 players to stop count both teams and then blow the whistle and call the T?

Absolutely a great, and simple, interpretation, kind of like Occam's razor. But there are some more complex situations, many are quite rare, but they can occur.

Raymond Thu Aug 17, 2017 05:40am

Stop obsessing

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

Camron Rust Thu Aug 17, 2017 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1008771)
Stop obsessing

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

120 posts to get to that?

BillyMac Sat Aug 19, 2017 09:29am

Idiom Of The Day ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1008782)
120 posts to get to that?

... and that's all she wrote.

Bad Zebra Sun Aug 20, 2017 08:28am

How can you tell it's the off-season?
 
When a discussion goes on for 9 PAGES over a 6th team member participating :D:D:D:D:D

BillyMac Sun Aug 20, 2017 09:29am

Perfect Storm ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 1008811)
How can you tell it's the off-season? When a discussion goes on for 9 PAGES over a 6th team member participating

Agree.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1008682)
... it's the offseason and we have a perfect storm for a long thread, with as many questions as answers.


BigT Wed Aug 23, 2017 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 1008811)
When a discussion goes on for 9 PAGES over a 6th team member participating :D:D:D:D:D

Its called the off season...

BillyMac Sat Oct 28, 2017 12:10pm

Live Ball Only ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1008683)
What exactly do you want from us, we are not the NFHS?

You're right Raymond. Now we finally have it directly from the horse's mouth (below).

From the IAABO Sportorials November/December 2017 issue, article entitled Rules Interpretations and Clarifications from NFHS In-Person Meeting (with Theresia Wynns, NFHS Basketball Rules Editor):

More than five players on the court not observed by officials:
- If Team A has more than five players on the court during a live
ball and the officials do not realize it, should the officials charge
Team A with a technical foul if the scorer notifies officials of the
infraction during the next dead ball period? Answer: No. An
on-court official must observe the excess number of players on
the court
during a live ball and a team having more than five
players on the court during a live ball shall be penalized only if
the infraction is discovered while being violated.


An interpretation directly from from Ms. Wynns, the NFHS Grand Poobah, should put this issue to rest. Right?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Oct 28, 2017 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1010737)
You're right Raymond. Now we finally have it directly from the horse's mouth (below).

From the IAABO Sportorials November/December 2017 issue, article entitled Rules Interpretations and Clarifications from NFHS In-Person Meeting (with Theresia Wynns, NFHS Basketball Rules Editor):

More than five players on the court not observed by officials:
- If Team A has more than five players on the court during a live
ball and the officials do not realize it, should the officials charge
Team A with a technical foul if the scorer notifies officials of the
infraction during the next dead ball period? Answer: No. An
on-court official must observe the excess number of players on
the court
during a live ball and a team having more than five
players on the court during a live ball shall be penalized only if
the infraction is discovered while being violated.


An interpretation directly from from Ms. Wynns, the NFHS Grand Poobah, should put this issue to rest. Right?


Yes.

MTD, Sr.

BigCat Sat Oct 28, 2017 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1010737)
You're right Raymond. Now we finally have it directly from the horse's mouth (below).

From the IAABO Sportorials November/December 2017 issue, article entitled Rules Interpretations and Clarifications from NFHS In-Person Meeting (with Theresia Wynns, NFHS Basketball Rules Editor):

More than five players on the court not observed by officials:
- If Team A has more than five players on the court during a live
ball and the officials do not realize it, should the officials charge
Team A with a technical foul if the scorer notifies officials of the
infraction during the next dead ball period? Answer: No. An
on-court official must observe the excess number of players on
the court
during a live ball and a team having more than five
players on the court during a live ball shall be penalized only if
the infraction is discovered while being violated.


An interpretation directly from from Ms. Wynns, the NFHS Grand Poobah, should put this issue to rest. Right?

If I can deduce(big word) that there were 6 on floor without taking scorer word for it I will penalize. I do not have to see it while ball is "live." Example, 6 on floor and we are oblivious. Horn sounded. Ball dead(no shot in air) if I see 6 I at that moment I will penalize. I don't think I have to discover it "while ball live." But I have to know personally that there were 6 while ball was live.

BryanV21 Sat Oct 28, 2017 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 1010741)
If I can deduce(big word) that there were 6 on floor without taking scorer word for it I will penalize. I do not have to see it while ball is "live." Example, 6 on floor and we are oblivious. Horn sounded. Ball dead(no shot in air) if I see 6 I at that moment I will penalize. I don't think I have to discover it "while ball live." But I have to know personally that there were 6 while ball was live.

I don't have the book in front of me, but doesn't it say it has to be discovered while the ball is live? Not if you have definite knowledge.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

Nevadaref Sun Oct 29, 2017 12:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 1010741)
If I can deduce(big word) that there were 6 on floor without taking scorer word for it I will penalize. I do not have to see it while ball is "live." Example, 6 on floor and we are oblivious. Horn sounded. Ball dead(no shot in air) if I see 6 I at that moment I will penalize. I don't think I have to discover it "while ball live." But I have to know personally that there were 6 while ball was live.

This is called not following the rules and making up your own. :(

BigCat Sun Oct 29, 2017 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1010742)
I don't have the book in front of me, but doesn't it say it has to be discovered while the ball is live? Not if you have definite knowledge.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

It says team technical for having more than 5 players participating simultaneously. Down further, "penalized if discovered while being violated." The interpretation billy put up said an official had to observe while the ball is live.

Hopefully, it never happens to any of us but...say you have 6 players on the court for one team and the horn sounds because the officials are clueless. Officials kill the play (ball becomes dead) officials then see 6 on the court. They know nobody ran onto the floor after the ball was dead....and they're 6 players from one team still out there. You can figure out 6 participated simultaneously without taking anybody's word for it because.... they are still there. I would penalize.

Again, hope it never happens. Just quibbling with Billy's interpretation. Moral- count players

BigCat Sun Oct 29, 2017 12:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1010746)
This is called not following the rules and making up your own. :(

I suppose it might be but in this limited situation when 6 are still standing there id probably still penalize. I just wont let it happen...so i dont have to...

BryanV21 Sun Oct 29, 2017 12:42am

I think BigCat is seeing the intention of the rule, but the wording is bad and can be interpreted how BillyMac is saying.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sun Oct 29, 2017 12:49am

When E. F. Hutton Talks, People Listen ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 1010747)
Billy's interpretation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1010749)
BillyMac is saying

Whoa. Hold onto your horses cowboys. BillyMac isn't saying anything. Theresia Wynns, the NFHS Basketball Rules Editor, who has oodles of gravitas, is the one doing the talking.

BillyMac Sun Oct 29, 2017 12:52am

Jinx ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1010737)
An interpretation directly from from Ms. Wynns, the NFHS Grand Poobah, should put this issue to rest. Right?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1010739)
Yes.

We can only hope.

BigCat Sun Oct 29, 2017 12:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1010749)
I think BigCat is seeing the intention of the rule, but the wording is bad and can be interpreted how BillyMac is saying.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

I'm stretching it in this limited circumstance... so just dont let it happen....

BillyMac Sun Oct 29, 2017 12:57am

For Whom The Bell Tolls (Ernest Hemingway) ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1010746)
This is called not following the rules and making up your own.

While the rule itself may not be as clear as we'd like it (definition of participate), Ms. Wynns interpretation (on court official must observe excess number of players on the court, during a live ball, penalized only if discovered while being violated) seems to be as clear as a bell. And I know not of a higher NFHS interpretative authority.

BigCat Sun Oct 29, 2017 01:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1010753)
While the rule itself may not be as clear as we'd like it (definition of participate), Ms. Wynns interpretation (on court official must observe excess number of players on the court, during a live ball, penalized only if discovered while being violated) seems to be a clear as a bell. And I know not of a higher NFHS interpretative authority.

Yeah, you're right. I suppose if i let 6 players on the court and i cant figure it out without the scorer/timer getting me to stop the game and telling me.....then i probably deserve what happens next.... tell the opposing coach "i see 6 now...but i didnt then...so i cant penalize...". :) just dont let it happen..

BillyMac Sun Oct 29, 2017 06:27am

Theresia Wynns, NFHS Basketball Rules Editor ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 1010747)
... after the ball was dead....and they're 6 players from one team still out there ... they are still there. I would penalize.

And according to Theresia Wynns, NFHS Basketball Rules Editor, you would be 100% wrong.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 1010754)
"I see 6 now...but I didnt then...so I can't penalize...".

And according to Theresia Wynns, NFHS Basketball Rules Editor, you would be 100% correct.

BigCat Sun Oct 29, 2017 08:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1010755)
And according to Theresia Wynns, NFHS Basketball Rules Editor, you would be 100% wrong.



And according to Theresia Wynns, NFHS Basketball Rules Editor, you would be 100% correct.

I acknowledged this in my previous post...but thx for pointing it out again..:)

BillyMac Sun Oct 29, 2017 08:23am

110% Correct ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 1010756)
I acknowledged this in my previous post...but thx for pointing it out again.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1010755)
And according to Theresia Wynns, NFHS Basketball Rules Editor, you would be 100% correct.

Nothing wrong with being 100% correct. Embrace it.

bob jenkins Mon Oct 30, 2017 08:10am

I hope that she puts the (wrong*, imo) interp someplace a little more official than "an interview in the IAABO sportorial"

* -- wrong, because a player can participate while the ball is dead after a made basket. Maybe it should be "while the ball is live or while the clock is (properly) running"

JRutledge Mon Oct 30, 2017 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1010774)
I hope that she puts the (wrong*, imo) interp someplace a little more official than "an interview in the IAABO sportorial"

This is about as bad as her sending an email response to a person and not addressing the issue that is being actually asked. Then putting no such interpretation out to back up that statement.

Peace

BillyMac Mon Oct 30, 2017 06:05pm

Be Careful What You Ask For, You May Get It ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jerkins (Post 1010774)
Maybe it should be while the ball is live or while the clock is (properly) running

That was my opinion way back at the beginning of this thread. At least we've got a NFHS interpretation, from no less than the head honcho, to put some form of closure to this debate. Some of us may not like the interpretation, but at least we have one.

BigCat Mon Oct 30, 2017 09:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1010802)
That was my opinion way back at the beginning of this thread. At least we've got a NFHS interpretation, from no less than the head honcho, to put some form of closure to this debate. Some of us may not like the interpretation, but at least we have one.

No. She's wrong. You say stupid nfhs in so many places and want to accept this. Made basket, ball dead clock running.. player is participating. I'm guessing she was asked a question about 6 on floor, then one sneaks off, ball becomes dead with officials being clueless. Scorer tells them. Can't penalize there. She made a generalized statement which was too broad.

And Nevada rationalized it earlier citing the provision that a player who enters doesn't participate until ball becomes live. That is true. But once it does that player is participating even when made basket/ball dead. He isn't a participant and then cease to be every dead ball. Equally wrong.

BillyMac Tue Oct 31, 2017 05:57am

Opinions ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 1010806)
She's wrong ... and (you) want to accept this.

I do not want to accept this (I lead the charge to expand the definition of participate), but until a new interpretation comes from the NFHS, it's the only choice I have, other than offer my own opinion, or to listen to opinions of other officials, but in both cases they're just opinions, opinions based on ambiguous rules, based on a nonexistent definition of participate.

BillyMac Tue Oct 31, 2017 06:34am

Dead Ball Period ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1010774)
Maybe it should be "while the ball is live or while the clock is (properly) running"

So there would be a difference between the charging of the technical foul during the dead ball period immediately following the scoring of a successful field goal, and the dead ball period immediately following the scoring of a successful free throw?

bob jenkins Tue Oct 31, 2017 07:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1010820)
So there would be a difference between the charging of the technical foul during the dead ball period immediately following the scoring of a successful field goal, and the dead ball period immediately following the scoring of a successful free throw?

Good point.

How about (and with just as little thought as before) "A player does not begin to participate until the ball is live. A player continues to participate until earliest of: (a) the ball becomes live after the player leaves the court (is replaced or sits on the bench), or (b) or the period ends and multiple players from either team have entered or left the court, or (c) a granted time out is reported to the table and the time out timer has (or should have) begun."

BillyMac Tue Oct 31, 2017 04:43pm

Always Listen To bob ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1010822)
How about "A player does not begin to participate until the ball is live. A player continues to participate until ...

Finish it anyway you want. Anything is better the definition of participating that we now have, which is nothing, zero, diddly squat, goose egg, zip, zilch, zippo, nill, naught ...

bucky Tue Oct 31, 2017 11:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1010820)
So there would be a difference between the charging of the technical foul during the dead ball period immediately following the scoring of a successful field goal, and the dead ball period immediately following the scoring of a successful free throw?

On a side note, some states have mercy rules whereby the clock is properly running during a dead ball.:eek:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1