The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   OOB or TI Violation - An Update (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102801-oob-ti-violation-update.html)

Freddy Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:58am

OOB or TI Violation - An Update
 
Situation: A1 releases an endline throw-in pass to A2 who is standing out of bounds off the sideline.
Ruling: Out of Bounds violation or Throw-In Violation?
Result: Throw-in at spot of violation, whichever it is determined to be.

Did some study on it and found this previously published 2007/08 Interpretation:
SITUATION 3: During an alternating-possession throw-in for Team A, thrower A1 passes the ball directly on the court where it contacts (a) A2 or (b) B2, while he/she is standing on a boundary line. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation on (a) A2; (b) B2. The player was touched by the ball while out of bounds, thereby ending the throw-in. The alternating-possession arrow is reversed and pointed toward Team B's basket when the throw-in ends (when A2/B2 is touched by the ball). A throw-in is awarded at a spot nearest the out-of-bounds violation for (a) Team B; (b) Team A. (4-42-5; 6-4-4; 9-2-2; 9-3-2)

Has anything changed since then with the relevant rules since that time to reverse that interpretation from making the above situation an OOB violation and not a Throw-In violation?

deecee Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 1007642)
Situation: A1 releases an endline throw-in pass to A2 who is standing out of bounds off the sideline.
Ruling: Out of Bounds violation or Throw-In Violation?
Result: Throw-in at spot of violation, whichever it is determined to be.

Did some study on it and found this previously published 2007/08 Interpretation:
SITUATION 3: During an alternating-possession throw-in for Team A, thrower A1 passes the ball directly on the court where it contacts (a) A2 or (b) B2, while he/she is standing on a boundary line. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation on (a) A2; (b) B2. The player was touched by the ball while out of bounds, thereby ending the throw-in. The alternating-possession arrow is reversed and pointed toward Team B's basket when the throw-in ends (when A2/B2 is touched by the ball). A throw-in is awarded at a spot nearest the out-of-bounds violation for (a) Team B; (b) Team A. (4-42-5; 6-4-4; 9-2-2; 9-3-2)

Has anything changed since then with the relevant rules since that time to reverse that interpretation from making the above situation an OOB violation and not a Throw-In violation?

Why would this be a throw-in violation?

bob jenkins Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 1007642)
Has anything changed since then with the relevant rules since that time to reverse that interpretation from making the above situation an OOB violation and not a Throw-In violation?

Nothing has changed. In fact, the interp you cited *was* the change (I think -- I didn't really go back and check) from the misguided, short-lived "this is a TI violation" interp.

BillyMac Sun Jul 09, 2017 02:07pm

Misguided ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 1007643)
Why would this be a throw-in violation?

Because about thirty years ago it was a throwin violation for not throwing the ball directly to someone on the court.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1007645)
... the misguided, short-lived "this is a TI violation" interp.

With apologies to General Douglas Macarthur, old rules never die, they just fade away, and sometimes it takes them a long, long time to fade away.

deecee Sun Jul 09, 2017 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1007646)
Because about thirty years ago it was a throwin violation for not throwing the ball directly to someone on the court.



With apologies to General Douglas Macarthur, old rules never die, they just fade away, and sometimes it takes them a long, long time to fade away.

Glad officials are worrying about 30 year old rules today....:rolleyes:

BillyMac Sun Jul 09, 2017 02:54pm

Thirty Years Is Too Long ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 1007647)
Glad officials are worrying about 30 year old rules today..

I'm not worried about them, I just can't believe that the interpretation hangs around as some type of "myth" thirty years after it's deleted from the casebook.

Those that subscribe to this interpretation aren't as "rule stupid" as many may believe. They just have a fuzzy historical perspective.

Telling them that this was an actual interpretation at one time may make them feel less embarrassed about being wrong.

This old interpretation shows up on the Forum about once, or twice, each year.

When will it die?

Nevadaref Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:01am

Actually, the NFHS Rules Book switched this to a throw-in violation with the ensuing throw-in coming from the original spot about 8-10 years ago. That only lasted about two years and then the NFHS "corrected"/changed the penalty section to rule that this is an OOB violation. It has been OOB ever since.

Freddy Mon Jul 10, 2017 02:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1007653)
Actually, the NFHS Rules Book switched this to a throw-in violation with the ensuing throw-in coming from the original spot about 8-10 years ago. The only lasted about two years and then the NFHS "corrected"/changed the penalty section to rule that this is an OOB violation. It has been OOB ever since.

Thank you and all others except for one who responded with the verification I was looking for in order to provide an answer to the official who asked me. That should do it.

teebob21 Wed Jul 12, 2017 04:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1007649)
I'm not worried about them, I just can't believe that the interpretation hangs around as some type of "myth" thirty years after it's deleted from the casebook. (snip)

When will it die?

In my sport, depending on you ask, the hands are part of the bat.
I have yet to see a bat for retail sale that includes hands.:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1