The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2003, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 744
Ding him for sure, but DO NOT reply with a snide comment of your own before you do it. That's the sort of thing that will cause assignors to not give you as many games.

I'm sure Mark Padgett was joking, but still...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2003, 02:18pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Re: My 2 cents...

Quote:
Originally posted by Indy_Ref
General rule of thumb for the coach: If he goes over the line but no one else hears it, I probably let it go...but he/she grandstands and others hear it, WHACK.
[/B]
That's your general rule of thumb. Personally,if I can hear a coach say something derogatory,he's getting nailed. Over the line is over the line,no matter what! If you don't nail him,he sureashell is gonna be doing it again. That's my general rule of thumb.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2003, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by TriggerMN
Ding him for sure, but DO NOT reply with a snide comment of your own before you do it. That's the sort of thing that will cause assignors to not give you as many games.

I'm sure Mark Padgett was joking, but still...
I think you're right, Trigger. (Sheez, I can hear that music in the background...that steel guitar...that crooning voice)

In my experience, a Davism usually only makes matters worse. On rare occasion, it can help, but then a T isn't needed! The only reason for the T is to make the game better, and if a Davism will do the job, great. But that isn't very often.

Mark's bark is worse than his bite. At least, to all the reasonable and calm coaches.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2003, 03:06pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Mark's bark is worse than his bite.
WOOF! WOOF!
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2003, 09:43pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
...I'm now wondering if I should have Td him up for a rather obvious insult directly to my face. I'd like your opinions, what would you have done?
Back In The Saddle,
Good post!

For me, the timing of the blockout is a consideration.

Had the shooter landed solidly with balance, I may have no-called.
Had the block occured before the shooter had a chance to land cleanly, I may have called a block and explained to the coach that we officials have been told to follow the shooter to the floor, and that there was too much unecessarily rough contact.

mick
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2003, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 275
I had a similar one to this

On mine the shooter landed and the defense player had a good box out. Then as the shooter was trying to get around him, he kept backing up pushing him about 8-10 feet. I called the foul and the player said something like "What, with my butt?" and I said yes. To me the contact impeded the movement of the offensive player trying to get to a rebounding position.

On the coach's comment, I would have just said "That's enough, coach". That usually lets them know what will happen next and the focus gets back to the present and not the past call.

__________________
Damain
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2003, 07:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
I have called the same foul when on a rebound one player displaces another. I have also gotten the same response from coaches and players. My reply is "Coach he can box him out, but he can't push him out".

I also know a lot of players are taught to back their opponent out. They are trying to get an,(excuse the phrase)"over the back" call. My wife, the coach, says she will have her players do it until they get called for it.

I have no problem calling it unless it happens too far away from the play to say a player was put at a disadvantage.


Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2003, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
originally posted by mick

Had the block occured before the shooter had a chance to land cleanly, I may have called a block ...
If the block occurs while the shooter is still in the air, i.e. airborne shooter, and the shot is missed I have 3 FT's for the shooter...if shot is made then 1 FT of course.
Is this how you call this mick?

RD
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2003, 10:27am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude
Quote:
originally posted by mick

Had the block occured before the shooter had a chance to land cleanly, I may have called a block ...
If the block occurs while the shooter is still in the air, i.e. airborne shooter, and the shot is missed I have 3 FT's for the shooter...if shot is made then 1 FT of course.
Is this how you call this mick?

RD
RookieDude,
YU.P., if the shooter is still airborne from behind the arc, we can give the shooter 3 chances.
If the shooter had landed, let's give 'im two.
mick

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2003, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Thumbs up my rule of thumb

on boxing out: First 1 to 2 feet of displacement is usually a good boxout, next 6 to 8 feet would be a foul. I have explained that very concept to player and coach when asked and have had no argument. Also, I would not tolerate the coach's comment - especially if anyone else overheard. To allow the comment to go by without action would invite further abuse for you, your crew, and for future refs. Cute remarks from a ref often get interpreted as "baiting" from an upset coach. In my mind, if you make cute remarks, it would be unfair to call the "T".
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2003, 11:51am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude
Quote:
originally posted by mick

Had the block occured before the shooter had a chance to land cleanly, I may have called a block ...
If the block occurs while the shooter is still in the air, i.e. airborne shooter, and the shot is missed I have 3 FT's for the shooter...if shot is made then 1 FT of course.
Is this how you call this mick?

RD
RookieDude,
YU.P., if the shooter is still airborne from behind the arc, we can give the shooter 3 chances.
If the shooter had landed, let's give 'im two.
Two FT's if the shot is over? Intentional foul?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2003, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Two FT's if the shot is over? Intentional foul?
It's the 10th foul.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2003, 12:13pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Two FT's if the shot is over? Intentional foul?
It's the 10th foul.
Doesn't say that anywhere above,does it? Could be 1/1 onF7 to F9.Could be possession before that.

No?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2003, 12:20pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude
Quote:
originally posted by mick

Had the block occured before the shooter had a chance to land cleanly, I may have called a block ...
If the block occurs while the shooter is still in the air, i.e. airborne shooter, and the shot is missed I have 3 FT's for the shooter...if shot is made then 1 FT of course.
Is this how you call this mick?

RD
RookieDude,
YU.P., if the shooter is still airborne from behind the arc, we can give the shooter 3 chances.
If the shooter had landed, let's give 'im two.
Two FT's if the shot is over? Intentional foul?
Sorry! M'bad!
My mind had 2 as opposed to three, and I should have said "up to two only".
...But then we all knew that didn't we?
mick
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2003, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Two FT's if the shot is over? Intentional foul?
It's the 10th foul.
Doesn't say that anywhere above,does it? Could be 1/1 onF7 to F9.Could be possession before that.

No?
Not if mick's shooting two, it couldn't.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1