The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2003, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally posted by RefJeff
Basketball Fundamental # 6 to be exact. It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble.

Definition 4-44-5b After gaining possession on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

Situation: Player A1 dives for and gains possession of the ball. While on the floor, A1 begins to dribble and then proceeds to get up.

How would you rule on this?
4-44-5b actually only applies while holding the ball....

ART. 5 . . . A player holding the ball:
a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than hand or foot.
b. After gaining possession while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

If they start a dribble, this no longer applies.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1