![]() |
NFHS 5 second inbound count starting
After a made field goal when does the 5 second count for the ball to be inbounded. In a state qualifier in Minnesota tonight a team scored with about 6 seconds to go to cut the lead to 1 and was out of time outs. The team in the lead never inbounded the ball and won by 1. IIRC the count begins when the ball is placed at the disposal of the player throwing the ball inbounds and since there were less than 5 seconds left when this happened the game ended. Is this the proper way to handle the situation.
|
Quote:
I do not think that anyone can answer your question without seeing a video of the play. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Let's Go To The Videotape ...
Quote:
The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it. A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count. When is the ball available to the player? Through the basket? On the floor? In the inbounder's hands inbounds? In the inbounder's hands out of bounds? In the inbounder's hands out of bounds facing the wall behind the basket? In the inbounder's hands out of bounds facing the court? Quote:
Same issue for granting a timeout to the scoring team after a goal. The ball becomes live when: b. On a throw-in, it is at the disposal of the thrower. At what point will the official not grant a timeout to the scoring team after a goal? When is the ball at the disposal of the player (available to the player)? Ball on the floor? In the inbounder's hands inbounds? In the inbounder's hands out of bounds? In the inbounder's hands out of bounds facing the wall behind the basket? https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.O...=0&w=220&h=170 When does the official start counting? When the ball is at the disposal of the inbounder. When is the ball is at the disposal of the inbounder? When the official starts counting. |
There's no way an official with any level of actual experience is going to start a count quickly enough to master when the team scored with 6 seconds left.
|
Made shot with 6 seconds left, game is over if the other team inbounds it 99.999% of the time. It should be 100% but there are some officials who will try to be "cute" and "smart" and completely kick this.
|
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk |
Quote:
On any other throw in administered by an official, when does the ball become available to the thrower? Does it start when we know they should have a throwin (on the infraction that stops the clock) or when we actually give them the ball OOB? If we bounce them the ball, does it start as we bounce them the ball or when they catch the ball? |
Let's Go To The Videotape ...
Quote:
4-4-7: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower. b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her. c. Placed on the floor at the spot. d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count. Now we just need a NFHS definition for "available to a player" (only for after a basket) and we're ready to rock and roll. For the good of the cause: The nonshooting team can be granted a timeout before the bounced ball is caught by the free thrower. The ball becomes live when: On a free throw, it is at the disposal of the free thrower. Note: When do we ever (by the manual) hand the ball to the free thrower (see a. above)? I haven't done that for over thirty years. Am I right Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.? |
"at the disposal of the thrower" after a made basket is entirely up to the judgement of the official. That's why we make the big bucks. :)
You'll never find a book interpretation of exactly how long that takes, because it can vary greatly... a if it goes through the hoop and is caught by a member of Team B, it's at their disposal within a second or so. If the ball takes a weird bounce or inadvertently caroms off a foot/knee/whatever, it's going to take a few seconds for the ball to be at Team B's disposal. |
Quote:
|
That's My Story And I'm Sticking To It ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Indeed, no one does it. (I have done it twice and it was because the shooter (a captain) had quick questions. I handed him the ball and slowly retreated) As far as the OP, NFHS case 6.1.2 sit B provides wording that indicates when a throw-in is available, all in the same language that we have used in this thread. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Let's Go To The Videotape ...
Quote:
to the end line when: (a) A1 calls for a time-out; or (b) A1 illegally contacts B1. RULING: In order to rule correctly, it depends on whether the bouncing ball is judged to be at the thrower’s disposal. If the covering official judges it is at the thrower’s disposal, he/she would start the count and the ball becomes live. In this case, in (a), no time-out is granted and the foul in (b), is penalized. If the ball is not at the thrower’s disposal, the time-out is granted in (a), and the contact in (b), is ignored unless it is intentional or flagrant. COMMENT: In this situation, the covering official must give the new throw-in team a moment or two to recognize it is their ball for a throw-in and get a player into the area to pick up the ball. If the ball is near the end line, it is the throw-in team’s responsibility to secure it and throwin from anywhere out of bounds along the end line. The covering official shall start his/her throw-in count when it is determined the ball is available. (4-4-7d) |
Follow The Bouncing Ball ...
Quote:
Quote:
Note: Over thirty years ago there were many free throw shooting situations where the trail handed the ball to the free throw shooter, always from the shooter's left side, but that ancient mechanic went the way of the buggy whip. https://tse4.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.8...=0&w=300&h=300 |
Quote:
What do you do if its the team who was just scored on hit the ball and has to track it down? Do you call them for a delay of game warning? Or do you just start the 5 second count? If they were trying to get it to another player OOB for the throw-in and their toss went errant. The ball was available when the player secured the ball? Do they get extra time because he couldn't get it to the inbound thrower correctly? Clearly the intent of the rules is for the offense to make a prompt throw-in, not be able to run time unreasonably, give a fair playing field to those who want to press... Not sure when the best time to start it but it may not be OOB facing the floor... |
how about this wrinkle
So, had a game this season with this same situation, with the only difference being the scoring team (the one with no timeouts) knocking the ball well out of the way in an attempt to prompt the delay of game warning--which stops the clock, because there was no other way they were going to be able to stop it. Do you go ahead and grant the delay of game warning, knowing that it's a gamesmanship situation, or do you ignore the violation because it's (in essence) rewarding them for their illegal act?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Personally, I think the new lead at halfcourt should just call a 5-second violation.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If more than 5 seconds, administer as normal. If 5 seconds or less, then no. If the new offensive team is actually trying to do the throw-in, then you call a technical foul. If the new offensive team is not trying to complete the throw-in, then you ignore the infraction and let the clock run. The case play spells it out. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35pm. |