The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Iowa @ Maryland plays (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102323-iowa-maryland-plays-video.html)

JRutledge Sat Feb 25, 2017 08:46pm

Iowa @ Maryland plays (Video)
 
Play #1:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/KB1OXxgMXY8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #2:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Ng2cUyTa_3w" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play 3:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/xkMNiuk2-aw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

bucky Sat Feb 25, 2017 09:24pm

1) Obvious travel and can't believe these refs (although only one may have been watching play) missed it and no one else appears to mind either!!

2) Although I might have treated it differently, nothing wrong with it.

3) Obvious indeed.

just another ref Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:35pm

That's not a backcourt violation.

bucky Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 1001158)
That's not a backcourt violation.

It isn't? Seems to me that when #2 white touches the ball in the BC, it is an obvious violation.;)

just another ref Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1001159)
It isn't? Seems to me that when #2 white touches the ball in the BC, it is an obvious violation.;)


Ball isn't in the backcourt when he touches it.

Sharpshooternes Sun Feb 26, 2017 01:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 1001165)
Ball isn't in the backcourt when he touches it.

Good eye.

Nevadaref Sun Feb 26, 2017 03:04am

1. Travel, someone doesn't know the rule.
2. Holding foul on W35.
3. Not a BC violation, yet. Need one more touch.

Camron Rust Sun Feb 26, 2017 04:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1001168)
1. Travel, someone doesn't know the rule.
2. Holding foul on W35.
3. Not a BC violation, yet. Need one more touch.

Agree on all.

#2, I don't see anything the player in black did wrong.

Raymond Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1001172)
Agree on all.

#2, I don't see anything the player in black did wrong.

I agree. I would have just had a foul against the White player

bucky Sun Feb 26, 2017 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 1001165)
Ball isn't in the backcourt when he touches it.

Since you are using a pronoun, "he", not sure to whom you are referring. Ball was in BC when #2 touched it.

Rich Sun Feb 26, 2017 03:04pm

It was in the air over the backcourt and still had FC status. The ball didn't touch the floor until AFTER the touch. So at that point it had backcourt status, but it needed to be touched by another (or the same) white player for it to be a violation.

frezer11 Sun Feb 26, 2017 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1001189)
It was in the air over the backcourt and still had FC status. The ball didn't touch the floor until AFTER the touch. So at that point it had backcourt status, but it needed to be touched by another (or the same) white player for it to be a violation.

Had that white player tipped the ball in his save attempt, such that the ball bounced almost right down the midcourt line, and was recovered by A2 reaching over the time line such that he stayed entirely in the front court, is there a violation there? Same question, but if the ball took 2-3 bounces in the back court before landing in the FC, and was then recovered?

Raymond Sun Feb 26, 2017 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 1001192)
Had that white player tipped the ball in his save attempt, such that the ball bounced almost right down the midcourt line, and was recovered by A2 reaching over the time line such that he stayed entirely in the front court, is there a violation there? Same question, but if the ball took 2-3 bounces in the back court before landing in the FC, and was then recovered?

The ball either hits the division line or doesn't in your first scenario, which are you intending?

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

bucky Sun Feb 26, 2017 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1001189)
It was in the air over the backcourt and still had FC status. The ball didn't touch the floor until AFTER the touch. So at that point it had backcourt status, but it needed to be touched by another (or the same) white player for it to be a violation.

Yes, agreed, accept it was then touched by another player, #2.

Rich Sun Feb 26, 2017 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1001195)
Yes, agreed, accept it was then touched by another player, #2.



#2 and the ball both had frontcourt status when he touched it.

Altor Sun Feb 26, 2017 04:41pm

Just so everybody is clear White #2 is the wing that is opposite the table. I can't see the numbers of the player who made the errant pass or the one who tried to "save" that pass (the wing on the table side).

The whistle is blown shortly after the table side player touches the ball. It should not have been. #2 eventually picks up the ball in the back court in the center circle.

Rich Sun Feb 26, 2017 04:46pm

Sorry. Thought bucky was referring to the player that touched it while both had frontcourt status.

frezer11 Sun Feb 26, 2017 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 1001192)
Had that white player tipped the ball in his save attempt, such that the ball bounced almost right down the midcourt line, and was recovered by A2 reaching over the time line such that he stayed entirely in the front court, is there a violation there? Same question, but if the ball took 2-3 bounces in the back court before landing in the FC, and was then recovered?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 1001193)
The ball either hits the division line or doesn't in your first scenario, which are you intending?

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

Sorry, I mean it is rolling in the backcourt. No player in team A touches the ball while that player has BC status in my scenario.

ODog Sun Feb 26, 2017 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 1001198)
The whistle is blown shortly after the table side player touches the ball. It should not have been. #2 eventually picks up the ball in the back court in the center circle.

Right, so No. 2 is just picking up a dead ball. That doesn't suddenly make an incorrect backcourt call correct.

Altor Sun Feb 26, 2017 05:24pm

I don't disagree. Just trying to clarify Bucky's comments.

Adam Sun Feb 26, 2017 05:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1001201)
Right, so No. 2 is just picking up a dead ball. That doesn't suddenly make an incorrect backcourt call correct.

Technically, it should have been an IW, with ball back to white. That's picking nits on what was going to be an obvious violation.

Adam Sun Feb 26, 2017 05:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1001168)
1. Travel, someone doesn't know the rule.
2. Holding foul on W35.
3. Not a BC violation, yet. Need one more touch.

1. I will assume a Big Ten ref knows the rule, but just missed the call.
2 and 3, agreed.

MechanicGuy Sun Feb 26, 2017 08:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 1001209)
1. I will assume a Big Ten ref knows the rule, but just missed the call.
2 and 3, agreed.

On 1....I'm not so sure. He probably knows the basics of the travel rule, but it's hard to say he just "missed" this one. It's not really possible to do that move and not travel lol.

Adam Mon Feb 27, 2017 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 1001217)
On 1....I'm not so sure. He probably knows the basics of the travel rule, but it's hard to say he just "missed" this one. It's not really possible to do that move and not travel lol.

If he took his eyes off the shooter at just the wrong moment to see the defender, he may not have seen it well enough to make a call. This is the most basic of travel rules, so the idea that he doesn't know the rule is more difficult for me to believe than the idea that he just looked away at the wrong moment.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1