![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
This Old Rule ...
It was required in 2000-01. That requirement was removed in 2001-02. Thank God.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Feb 12, 2017 at 02:09pm. |
|
|||
|
I can't think of a reason why you would want to do this, but could a sub report to the table before the 1st FT of a 2 shot penalty, intending to sub in for someone other than the shooter, and choose to wait until after the 2nd FT? For example, if a sub for the defending team is waiting at the table, does he HAVE to come in after the 1st?
|
|
|||
|
And of course I've seen this scenario, where the Coach is basically holding his player back after the 1st, and waiting until the shooter has the ball for the 2nd, but can the substitute actually deny the official beckoning them on after the 1st free throw? The coach should just wait, but does he have to?
|
|
|||
|
Relevant ???
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
To answer your subject line, I don't believe that is relevant to this specific point, of whether or not a sub at the table MUST come on to the court before the last FT, or if they are allowed to wait until after that final throw has occurred.
|
|
||||
|
Quote:
And what bob said.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
There are probably some who would say once the sub is beckoned, that sub becomes a player (unless disallowed by rule -- e.g., the sub is for the shooter) and must come in. I don't think that's a rule I'm going to enforce particularly strictly, unless it comes into play on a behavior issue. |
|
|||
|
Substitute Withdrawn ...
Quote:
3-3: A substitute becomes a player when he/she legally enters the court. 3.3.1 SITUATION C: Substitute A6 reports to the scorer just after the warning signal is sounded during a time-out. The scorer advises A6 that he/she will not be allowed to enter until the next opportunity for substitution. The Team A coach beckons A6 to return to the bench. RULING: This is permissible. The substitute is not obligated to remain at the table. However, A6 would have to report again before being allowed to enter the court. If A6 remains at the table, he/she may actually replace any player.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Sub for the shooter | Berkut | Basketball | 22 | Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:55am |
| Sub for shooter | Clark Kent | Basketball | 4 | Wed Dec 30, 2009 07:29pm |
| Who is the shooter? | chartrusepengui | Basketball | 0 | Fri Feb 08, 2008 08:40am |
| Sub for FT shooter | tjchamp | Basketball | 7 | Thu Jan 11, 2007 09:07am |
| sub for shooter | rgaudreau | Basketball | 10 | Thu Dec 06, 2001 04:25pm |