The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is this Basket Interference? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102180-basket-interference.html)

JRutledge Sat Jan 28, 2017 03:35pm

Is this Basket Interference?
 
Here is the play?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/hAFOMW-IAs4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

SNIPERBBB Sat Jan 28, 2017 07:18pm

I guess the question here is does it qualify for the dunk exception?

Nevadaref Sat Jan 28, 2017 08:18pm

Offensive BI. No goal, award 2 FTs.

BigCat Sun Jan 29, 2017 12:37am

Rule says can't touch any part of basket while ball is on or within it. Case play about a player grabbing rim for safety. No T but still BI.

By rule, this is BI. Ball on rim when he grabs it. No T cause off balance from foul. Grabs for safety. If I missed it, counted basket and gave one FT I wouldn't be too upset. I'd be wrong by rule but not upset...

AremRed Sun Jan 29, 2017 09:16am

Not BI. Nice triple whistle though.

BigCat Sun Jan 29, 2017 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 998818)
Here is the play?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/hAFOMW-IAs4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Did the crew stay with counting the basket and shooting 1? C made the call and counted it. Your second question "good application of the rule or not" makes me wonder if they waved it off and shot 2. Thx

deecee Sun Jan 29, 2017 11:45am

Without specific guidance from my section/assignor this is a BI call.

BigCat Sun Jan 29, 2017 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 998827)
Not BI. Nice triple whistle though.

Just one whistle grasshopper. It is BI under rules. I might pass on it or miss the call...but it is BI.

BryanV21 Sun Jan 29, 2017 02:06pm

Once the ball is no longer in the shooter's grasp, I don't see how you can give him the dunking exception. The ball is on the cylinder and the ring is still moving after he has let go of it. Seems like BI to me.

bob jenkins Sun Jan 29, 2017 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 998838)
Once the ball is no longer in the shooter's grasp, I don't see how you can give him the dunking exception. The ball is on the cylinder and the ring is still moving after he has let go of it. Seems like BI to me.

I think -- Grasping the ring while the ball is in the cylinder is NOT BI. Nor is having the ring moving once the ball comes back down -- the ring just needs to be back at it's position.

BryanV21 Sun Jan 29, 2017 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 998839)
I think -- Grasping the ring while the ball is in the cylinder is NOT BI. Nor is having the ring moving once the ball comes back down -- the ring just needs to be back at it's position.

The exception states "if a player has his/her hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continues after it enters the imaginary cylinder or if such in action, the player touches the basket."

The shooter actually lost the handle on the ball before it was even within the imaginary cylinder (:23 into the video). And while he lets go of the ring before the ball enters the cylinder, the ring is still moving when the ball is on the ring.

BigCat Sun Jan 29, 2017 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 998840)
The exception states "if a player has his/her hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continues after it enters the imaginary cylinder or if such in action, the player touches the basket."

The shooter actually lost the handle on the ball before it was even within the imaginary cylinder (:23 into the video). And while he lets go of the ring before the ball enters the cylinder, the ring is still moving when the ball is on the ring.

Bryan. The shooter has a hold of the rim while the ball is rolling on the rim. That is main reason it is BI. (If ball is on rim it is by definition in cylinder so I'm not sure how you get that he lets go of ring before ball "enters cylinder.")

Also, The rim is still moving up and down when ball hits it so I think you can have it for this reason also. I think "original position" means rim has to be still.

Id still likely pass because foul caused it all. I know there's no exception for that but that's likely what I'd do.

BryanV21 Sun Jan 29, 2017 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 998841)
Bryan. The shooter has a hold of the rim while the ball is rolling on the rim. That is main reason it is BI. (If ball is on rim it is by definition in cylinder so I'm not sure how you get that he lets go of ring before ball "enters cylinder.")

Also, The rim is still moving up and down when ball hits it so I think you can have it for this reason also. I think "original position" means rim has to be still.

Id still likely pass because foul caused it all. I know there's no exception for that but that's likely what I'd do.

When I read "imaginary cylinder" I think of something like a tube with it's base being the ring itself. And the ball was not in that "tube" when he loses the grasp of the ball. If I'm misinterpreting the rule, then okay. Thanks

I understand being "fair", but how would you explain why you'd let the basket count?

BigCat Sun Jan 29, 2017 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 998842)
When I read "imaginary cylinder" I think of something like a tube with it's base being the ring itself. And the ball was not in that "tube" when he loses the grasp of the ball. If I'm misinterpreting the rule, then okay. Thanks

I understand being "fair", but how would you explain why you'd let the basket count?

That is the cylinder. Rim skyward. You said he let's go of the ring before ball enters the cylinder. Ball is clearly on ring when he grabs it.

And I wouldn't explain it. Frankly, I might not process it fast enough or care to try and process it. Don't like that offense did nothing to cause it. He got fouled. He didn't jump out of control and create his own need to grab rim. His grabbing didn't help ball go in. If I called it I'd certainly be proving I knew the rule.
Just not sure it's best thing to do.
I don't call multiple fouls and probably wouldn't call this. My supervisors would not care. Others might.

BryanV21 Sun Jan 29, 2017 04:27pm

So "on the ring" and "in the cylinder" are the same thing? Okay.

I wouldn't have seen it this way in real time, and like you would have allowed the basket to stand. Hooray for slow-motion replay!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1