The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Thoughts on this travel call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102160-thoughts-travel-call.html)

RefsNCoaches Tue Jan 24, 2017 03:00pm

Thoughts on this travel call
 
I don't know how to imbed video and this is from a Twitter account......

I don't know if that can be imbeded for all to view but...

https://twitter.com/Ray_Law12/status/822271510052225024


Would like to hear the feedback on this call.

bob jenkins Tue Jan 24, 2017 03:36pm

He traveled twice.

The player caught the ball with his left foot on the floor and jumped off that foot. To be legal, both feet needed to land at the same time -- they didn't.

If that was "too close" to call, then the above would be judged legal, but now neither foot can be the pivot foot. When the left foot is lifted before the ball is released on the dribble -- that's a travel.

Rich Tue Jan 24, 2017 03:36pm

It's a travel. Actually, it's two travels in one.

RefsNCoaches Tue Jan 24, 2017 03:41pm

I was reading some comments about it and most felt it wasn't a travel. Admittedly, As I watched in real time, it was difficult for me to catch the left foot becoming the pivot foot. As a slowed it down and replayed it, I thought that was the case and then he took RF, LF steps.

JRutledge Tue Jan 24, 2017 04:52pm

I got him traveling once clearly in live time. I do not know about the second time, but I stopped trying to pay attention after the first move.

Peace

UNIgiantslayers Tue Jan 24, 2017 04:57pm

Left foot pivot foot, travel. Count how many steps he takes before actually releasing the dribble and you have another reason to call a violation. Good call.

Rich Tue Jan 24, 2017 05:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UNIgiantslayers (Post 998402)
Left foot pivot foot, travel. Count how many steps he takes before actually releasing the dribble and you have another reason to call a violation. Good call.

Good officials don't count steps.

MD Longhorn Tue Jan 24, 2017 05:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UNIgiantslayers (Post 998402)
Left foot pivot foot, travel. Count how many steps he takes before actually releasing the dribble and you have another reason to call a violation. Good call.

Correct, if not for the wrong reason. Step-counters generally make more mistakes on travel calls. It's not about steps. It's about establishing a pivot foot (or disallowing yourself one, like after a jump stop) and what they can or cannot do once that happens.

MD Longhorn Tue Jan 24, 2017 05:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 998403)
Good officials don't count steps.

Rich types faster than me, and makes his points more succinctly. :)

JRutledge Tue Jan 24, 2017 05:08pm

Well if it is not big enough, there is a "full screen" button in the corner
 
Here is the video slowed down.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/G81gdCYvhp4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Hugh Refner Tue Jan 24, 2017 06:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefsNCoaches (Post 998386)
I was reading some comments about it and most felt it wasn't a travel.

Most what felt it wasn't a travel - coaches?

Pantherdreams Wed Jan 25, 2017 07:48am

I am ok with a travel call here as most have said there are multiple opportunities to make the call on this one play. As someone who calls more travels than most of my peers I appreciate this get.

Now the only mitigating factors are the manner in which the game was officiated all along. I know a lot of high school officials who aren't calling those catches or take offs consistently or at all. If you've gotten it all game, go ahead and get it again. If you only got it because its late in the game that is a problem. If the standard for footwork is not set early and consistently getting this in this situation could be problematic.

UNIgiantslayers Wed Jan 25, 2017 09:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 998403)
Good officials don't count steps.

Correct. Which is why I used the terminology in the rule book at the beginning of my post. The steps comment is for the fellas on here that like to come in and complain about officials, dont know the rulebook, and scream 3 seconds during every rebounding action.

RefsNCoaches Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 998459)
I am ok with a travel call here as most have said there are multiple opportunities to make the call on this one play. As someone who calls more travels than most of my peers I appreciate this get.

Now the only mitigating factors are the manner in which the game was officiated all along. I know a lot of high school officials who aren't calling those catches or take offs consistently or at all. If you've gotten it all game, go ahead and get it again. If you only got it because its late in the game that is a problem. If the standard for footwork is not set early and consistently getting this in this situation could be problematic.

To Hugh...they were fans at the game. I don't drop any stock in that, one of them was a friend of mine asking about it...I chimed in and reviewed it for my own learning. It's the correct call.

Panther - It was whistled with 4.3 left in a tight game. I wasn't there but some of the comments were around the time of the call. Not sure how it was officiated all game as I wasn't there. I'm sure those in disagreement were parent/fans of that team who ended up losing.

Appreciate the feedback guys! Good ongoing study video if you ask me as it was a pretty quick play.

Raymond Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 998401)
I got him traveling once clearly in live time. I do not know about the second time, but I stopped trying to pay attention after the first move.

Peace

I have one travel, when he replants his left foot after the jump stop.

But that travel is clear enough for a whistle.

BigCat Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:11am

He has ball and jumps off left leg and either doesn't land simultaneously or both feet do touch at same time but left leg slides back right away when he has no pivot foot. Travel either way.

Since he had the ball and jump stopped off one leg, he's not got a pivot. he has to release ball on dribble before picking either leg up.

If you forget the jump stop and first travel, say he's just a player with the ball on the wing with a pivot foot….his takeoff would be ok i think. (already forgot the video..:confused:)

HokiePaul Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:35am

It's a correct call.

Only possible complaint I could see here is if the officials had been passing on this call all game but decided to call in at a critical point in the game. Or if only one of the officials was identifying these plays as travels and the others were not.

Da Official Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:39am

Established left foot as pivot, then picked up pivot and put it back down before shooting. Easy travel call..that created a space advantage...that we need to get at any point in the game.:cool:

BigCat Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Da Official (Post 998506)
Established left foot as pivot, then picked up pivot and put it back down before shooting. Easy travel call..that created a space advantage...that we need to get at any point in the game.:cool:

You may know this, just to clarify…the left foot was not "established" as the pivot foot. player caught ball with left foot on floor and right up in air. He is allowed to hop off of that left foot and land simultaneously then on both. When he does neither foot can be a pivot.

Had he put the right one on the floor right after the left, then left would have been established. The hop off one foot is legal if you do it right. you probably know that.

ballgame99 Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 998512)
You may know this, just to clarify…the left foot was not "established" as the pivot foot. player caught ball with left foot on floor and right up in air. He is allowed to hop off of that left foot and land simultaneously then on both. When he does neither foot can be a pivot.

Had he put the right one on the floor right after the left, then left would have been established. The hop off one foot is legal if you do it right. you probably know that.

So you are saying you can do a jump stop without dribbling!? If the left foot comes down first it is the pivot. He jumps off that left foot and lands with two with no dribble. I got one of these in my game last night, the kid tried to do a step back jumper without dribbling, he just hopped back and shot. That is what this kid is doing except he starts a dribble rather than shooting.

Da Official Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 998512)
You may know this, just to clarify…the left foot was not "established" as the pivot foot. player caught ball with left foot on floor and right up in air. He is allowed to hop off of that left foot and land simultaneously then on both. When he does neither foot can be a pivot.

Had he put the right one on the floor right after the left, then left would have been established. The hop off one foot is legal if you do it right. you probably know that.

Good point! :cool:

BigCat Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 998519)
So you are saying you can do a jump stop without dribbling!? If the left foot comes down first it is the pivot. He jumps off that left foot and lands with two with no dribble. I got one of these in my game last night, the kid tried to do a step back jumper without dribbling, he just hopped back and shot. That is what this kid is doing except he starts a dribble rather than shooting.

If I catch ball with one foot on floor I can hop off that foot and must land simultaneously on two. I then have no pivot. If I want to dribble I have to release ball on dribble before I pick either foot up. See travel rule.

And when that left foot touches it will be "established" as pivot foot when the right one lands after it.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 25, 2017 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 998519)
So you are saying you can do a jump stop without dribbling!?

Of course you can.

And, there are two kinds of "jump stops" -- one allows either foot to be the pivot; one allows neither foot to be the pivot.

ballgame99 Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 998572)
Of course you can.

And, there are two kinds of "jump stops" -- one allows either foot to be the pivot; one allows neither foot to be the pivot.

Yes, and which one you have depends on what? When the dribble ends.

So if I catch the ball standing on one leg that leg is not my pivot foot? I need to re-read the travel rule apparently.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 998665)
So if I catch the ball standing on one leg that leg is not my pivot foot?

Not yet, it's not.

BigCat Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 998665)
Yes, and which one you have depends on what? When the dribble ends.

So if I catch the ball standing on one leg that leg is not my pivot foot? I need to re-read the travel rule apparently.

It becomes/is established as the pivot when the right lands after it. Take a look at all of 4-44.

bossman72 Fri Jan 27, 2017 11:13am

How do you guys watch for travelling (visual mechanics)? From an outsider's perspective, it seems like it's a really tough call to make while trying to watch other stuff, but you guys seem to do it with no problem.

I guess it's tougher for me too because I don't know the rule. haha

bob jenkins Fri Jan 27, 2017 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bossman72 (Post 998749)
How do you guys watch for travelling (visual mechanics)? From an outsider's perspective, it seems like it's a really tough call to make while trying to watch other stuff, but you guys seem to do it with no problem.

I guess it's tougher for me too because I don't know the rule. haha

One eye on the ball, one on the pivot foot, one on the defender, one on the approaching screener.

BigT Fri Jan 27, 2017 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 998752)
One eye on the ball, one on the pivot foot, one on the defender, one on the approaching screener.

Bob I knew you had 4 eyes...

ballgame99 Fri Jan 27, 2017 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 998668)
It becomes/is established as the pivot when the right lands after it. Take a look at all of 4-44.

On the OP play, A1 catches the ball with left foot down, jumps off of it, lands with both, then pivots on his right foot, then takes off with a really small shuffle of the right foot. If I'm reading you right, the travel is because his jump stop would mean that both of his feet on the landing are his pivot. So when he pivots on the right (ie picks up the left and puts it back down) that equals a travel?

BigCat Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 998759)
On the OP play, A1 catches the ball with left foot down, jumps off of it, lands with both, then pivots on his right foot, then takes off with a really small shuffle of the right foot. If I'm reading you right, the travel is because his jump stop would mean that both of his feet on the landing are his pivot. So when he pivots on the right (ie picks up the left and puts it back down) that equals a travel?

Player catches ball with left foot on floor. It is simply a foot on the floor at this moment. He jumps off of that foot. If he is going to land with the ball, he has to have both land simultaneously. When both land at the same time, he has NO pivot foot. If he wants to start a dribble he has to do it before lifting either foot.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 998759)
On the OP play, A1 catches the ball with left foot down, jumps off of it, lands with both, then pivots on his right foot, then takes off with a really small shuffle of the right foot. If I'm reading you right, the travel is because his jump stop would mean that both of his feet on the landing are his pivot. So when he pivots on the right (ie picks up the left and puts it back down) that equals a travel?


See post #2

ballgame99 Mon Jan 30, 2017 09:28am

I went back and looked at 4-44, and there it is in black and white; the pivot foot is not established until both feet have hit the floor. So the player in the OP is allowed to jump off his one foot and make a jump stop. This is the reason I still participate in this forum, I've been around the game for 30 years, and reffed for 7, and learned something I didn't know today. Thanks guys.

jump stop Mon Jan 30, 2017 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 998761)
Player catches ball with left foot on floor. It is simply a foot on the floor at this moment. He jumps off of that foot. If he is going to land with the ball, he has to have both land simultaneously. When both land at the same time, he has NO pivot foot. If he wants to start a dribble he has to do it before lifting either foot.



After a jump stop the player can lift his feet, he or she just can't put the foot back on the floor. i.e. after a jump stop the player could jump in the air to shoot. They could lift one foot and start a dribble

bob jenkins Mon Jan 30, 2017 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jump stop (Post 998867)
[/COLOR]
After a jump stop the player can lift his feet, he or she just can't put the foot back on the floor. i.e. after a jump stop the player could jump in the air to shoot. They could lift one foot and start a dribble

Yes. No.

(Assuming the "jump stop" is the type that does not allow either foot to be a pivot foot.)

BigCat Mon Jan 30, 2017 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jump stop (Post 998867)
[/COLOR]
After a jump stop the player can lift his feet, he or she just can't put the foot back on the floor. i.e. after a jump stop the player could jump in the air to shoot. They could lift one foot and start a dribble

If you end the dribble with one foot on floor and jump off of that foot, or, as in this case, catch ball with one foot on floor and then jump..player must land simultaneously. When he does, neither foot can be a pivot. Must release ball on dribble before lifting either foot. 4-44

Raymond Mon Jan 30, 2017 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jump stop (Post 998867)
After a jump stop the player can lift his feet, he or she just can't put the foot back on the floor. i.e. after a jump stop the player could jump in the air to shoot. They could lift one foot and start a dribble

Your user-name gets revoked for this post.

jump stop Wed Feb 01, 2017 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 998868)
Yes. No.

(Assuming the "jump stop" is the type that does not allow either foot to be a pivot foot.)

You are right. My mistake, you can't lift a foot to start a dribble

jump stop Wed Feb 01, 2017 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 998917)
Your user-name gets revoked for this post.

I may have to change it LOL


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1