The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Block or Charge or No Call (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102135-block-charge-no-call-video.html)

xyrph Thu Jan 19, 2017 09:49pm

Block or Charge or No Call (Video)

What are the teaching points in this clip?

As a coach, I want to know if this is called correctly so I can teach my kids.

I see legal guarding position followed by lateral movement. Who has the right to the floor space if both players arrive at the same instant?

<iframe width="1280" height="720" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/_o6cI_WohVY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

JRutledge Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:37pm

There is no video.

Peace

Matt Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by xyrph (Post 997926)
What are the teaching points in this clip?

As a coach, I want to know if this is called correctly so I can teach my kids.

I see legal guarding position followed by lateral movement. Who has the right to the floor space if both players arrive at the same instant?

(iframe width="1280" height="720" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/_o6cI_WohVY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen)(/iframe)

Doesn't look like lateral movement to me.

justacoach Thu Jan 19, 2017 11:21pm

(Carry on the dribble before contact)
Definite BLOCK and I love the T's mechanics

crosscountry55 Thu Jan 19, 2017 11:54pm

Quote:

I see legal guarding position followed by lateral movement.

LGP? Yes. But the subsequent movement is decidedly toward the ball handler. To be honest it's not really close.

Quote:

Who has the right to the floor space if both players arrive at the same instant?

This question isn't relevant since the defender committed a personal foul, i.e. the defender blocked the ball handler. It's not a matter of who arrived when.