The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Legal Guarding Position (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102112-legal-guarding-position.html)

SNIPERBBB Mon Jan 16, 2017 09:34pm

I didnt say they teach to fall away early. I said its the natural reaction.

BigCat Mon Jan 16, 2017 09:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 997550)
I didnt say they teach to fall away early. I said its the natural reaction.

It is a very natural reaction. I read your post to say coaches want that call. I guess I'll say they want every call. But they don't expect getting that call if their player falls down early. Games just never been played that way. Falling down early is a conversation referees have here. Coaches teach kids to take contact.

Rich Mon Jan 16, 2017 09:47pm

As a coach I don't want my player falling early. Much more likely to get landed on and more likely to get pinned with a blocking foul.

AremRed Mon Jan 16, 2017 09:47pm

Really depends on the situation but I generally call this a block as the falling players legs trip the opponent.

Kansas Ref Mon Jan 16, 2017 09:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 997540)
There are things in rules I question based on how game is played and coached. As a coach and player, if I or my kid doesn't stay in for contact, falls early, then I don't expect a charge call. I don't know a single coach who will say he's entitled to fall early. That's something a rule maker came up with. That's my opinion. As the coach of the defense I'll sure take it but I don't expect it. I'm not sure who comes up with some of these rules.

And moving backward is different than falling early. Moving backward entire body goes back.