The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inadvertent Whistle - what's the POI? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102099-inadvertent-whistle-whats-poi.html)

rfp Fri Jan 13, 2017 02:37pm

Inadvertent Whistle - what's the POI?
 
Team A has the ball out of bounds on their front-court baseline. Inbounder A1 holds the ball through the plane where defender B1 legally swipes it out of his hands since it is on the inbounds side of the plane. Partner blows whistle thinking it's a technical foul then comes up to me for help, realizing it was a legal play. We decided to go with the AP arrow, but upon further thinking, I believe we should have returned the ball to Team A for a throw-in since Team A was last in control at the time of the inadvertent whistle. Game ended up a blow-out, so no impact to the call either way. What's the POI in this sitch?

Rich Fri Jan 13, 2017 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rfp (Post 997301)
Team A has the ball out of bounds on their front-court baseline. Inbounder A1 holds the ball through the plane where defender B1 legally swipes it out of his hands since it is on the inbounds side of the plane. Partner blows whistle thinking it's a technical foul then comes up to me for help, realizing it was a legal play. We decided to go with the AP arrow, but upon further thinking, I believe we should have returned the ball to Team A for a throw-in since Team A was last in control at the time of the inadvertent whistle. Game ended up a blow-out, so no impact to the call either way. What's the POI in this sitch?

Is there team control in a throw in? Did team control end?

BigCat Fri Jan 13, 2017 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rfp (Post 997301)
Team A has the ball out of bounds on their front-court baseline. Inbounder A1 holds the ball through the plane where defender B1 legally swipes it out of his hands since it is on the inbounds side of the plane. Partner blows whistle thinking it's a technical foul then comes up to me for help, realizing it was a legal play. We decided to go with the AP arrow, but upon further thinking, I believe we should have returned the ball to Team A for a throw-in since Team A was last in control at the time of the inadvertent whistle. Game ended up a blow-out, so no impact to the call either way. What's the POI in this sitch?

There is team control during a throw in. However, when the ball is knocked out of the thrower ins hands the throw in has ended. There's no team control "inbounds." Using the arrow was correct.

Now, remember, there is a definition of a team control foul. It is a team control foul if the offense fouls during the throwin or after it but before ball is secured. They have said this because they don't want FTs if the offense fouls once the throw in ends and while a scramble is going on. There is no team control "inbounds" once the ball is tipped but they still call it a "team control foul" to reach a desired result.

The definitions are weird but I think I said it correctly.

BlueDevilRef Fri Jan 13, 2017 03:07pm

My original thought was give ball to B on endline since it appears to be a legal steal. But then I read it again and it said A had control when the whistle blew. Now I've confused myselfr

BigCat Fri Jan 13, 2017 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 997310)
My original thought was give ball to B on endline since it appears to be a legal steal. But then I read it again and it said A had control when the whistle blew. Now I've confused myselfr

He said ball was swiped. Knocked away. He said A"" was last to have it.presumably he meant because they had it during throw in. I viewed it as ball bouncing around when whistle blew.

There's team control for throwin purposes and team control "inbound." Two things.

BryanV21 Fri Jan 13, 2017 03:21pm

Count me in the "AP" crowd (not to be confused with the awesome British comedy "The IT Crowd").

BTW, I've had to explain to people that team control during a throw-in is for foul purposes, and shouldn't be used to try and explain other calls... such as backcourt violations.

BlueDevilRef Fri Jan 13, 2017 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 997312)
He said ball was swiped. Knocked away. He said A"" was last to have it.presumably he meant because they had it during throw in. I viewed it as ball bouncing around when whistle blew.

There's team control for throwin purposes and team control "inbound." Two things.



I took it to mean that whistle blew when the ball was in A's hands and being swiped by B.

Welpe Fri Jan 13, 2017 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 997309)
There's no team control "inbounds."

When did Team Control end?

rfp Fri Jan 13, 2017 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 997312)
There's team control for throwin purposes and team control "inbound." Two things.

What's the rule reference for these two "versions" of team control? If so, there's a different outcome if the same inadvertent whistle happens during an interrupted dribble. What's the rationale for the different treatment?

BigCat Fri Jan 13, 2017 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 997324)
I took it to mean that whistle blew when the ball was in A's hands and being swiped by B.

duh, I've had a recent head injury. The official blew the whistle for the contact with the ball. Thrower in was still holding it. Throwin not over. Ball goes back to them. No arrow. I'm sorry. I'm the one not reading it right....thinking straight , etc. Sharp as a marble. Sorry all...

rfp Fri Jan 13, 2017 04:17pm

The actual sequence of events:
  1. Ball held across plane by A1.
  2. B1 contacts ball on the inbounds side of the plan, dislodging ball from A1's hands.
  3. Ball becomes loose inbounds.
  4. Official, sensing something wrong happened, blows whistle inadvertently.

johnsonboys03 Fri Jan 13, 2017 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 997309)
There is team control during a throw in. However, when the ball is knocked out of the thrower ins hands the throw in has ended. There's no team control "inbounds." Using the arrow was correct.

Now, remember, there is a definition of a team control foul. It is a team control foul if the offense fouls during the throwin or after it but before ball is secured. They have said this because they don't want FTs if the offense fouls once the throw in ends and while a scramble is going on. There is no team control "inbounds" once the ball is tipped but they still call it a "team control foul" to reach a desired result.

The definitions are weird but I think I said it correctly.

Can you provide rule #s to review those definitions?

bob jenkins Fri Jan 13, 2017 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 997315)
Count me in the "AP" crowd (not to be confused with the awesome British comedy "The IT Crowd").

BTW, I've had to explain to people that team control during a throw-in is for foul purposes, and shouldn't be used to try and explain other calls... such as backcourt violations.

So if while the ball is loose, A1 pushes B1, and B is in the bonus, would you shoot FTs?

so cal lurker Fri Jan 13, 2017 04:21pm

Well, if the player knocked the ball out of the thrower's hands, the thrower didn't have the ball in his hands when the whistle blew. So isn't the question really whether POI based on the moment the whistle blew (loose ball, AP) or upon what caused the whistle (ball still in hands at moment of erroneously perceived violation, still A's ball)?

BigCat Fri Jan 13, 2017 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rfp (Post 997331)
The actual sequence of events:
  1. Ball held across plane by A1.
  2. B1 contacts ball on the inbounds side of the plan, dislodging ball from A1's hands.
  3. Ball becomes loose inbounds.
  4. Official, sensing something wrong happened, blows whistle inadvertently.

Well, this then does look like I had it right. Ball is loose, should be no whistle and he just blows it cause feels something wrong. This does go to arrow.

It isn't as if he blew whistle at time of contact thinking T. Ball was loose then he blows. Arrow is right.

Welpe Fri Jan 13, 2017 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 997338)
Well, this then does look like I had it right. Ball is loose, should be no whistle and he just blows it cause feels something wrong. This does go to arrow.

Again, when did team control end?

BigCat Fri Jan 13, 2017 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 997340)
Again, when did team control end?

When B knocked ball out of his hands. That's when the throw in ended. Now, they will still call it a team control foul if A fouks anybody before ball is secured but that is only for foul purposes. It is not really team control when bslk is loose after being touched. There is no team control once ball loose on floor after the throw in ends. Reason why we don't have backcourt violations etc

Welpe Fri Jan 13, 2017 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 997341)
When B knocked ball out of his hands. That's when the throw in ended.

Support that with a rule reference.

BigCat Fri Jan 13, 2017 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 997342)
Support that with a rule reference.

Welp, look at 4-19-7. That is definition of team control foul. The first half of it says team control foul is a foul by team in control. If, there was team control after the throw in ended, when ball tipped, there would be no reason for that section to say more.....BUT it does

"Or by a member of the throw in team from start of throw in until player control secured inbounds. "

The rules recognize that team control "during throw in" ends when the throw in ends. They add the "until ball secured/player control" because they don't want to shoot FTs for offensive fouls during the scramble.

When team control was added to throw in it said team control exists during throwin. We all know throw in ends when ball touched. So when it first came in, a ball could be deflected, then offense foul and we still shoot FTs. Ball tipped, throw in over: ball loose no team in control.

The last part was added because they did not want to shoot FTs for offensive fouls committed after throw in ended but before ball secured.

This is aggravating because you can't get this from reading the rules for the most part I don't think. There were POEs that came with it each time there was a change.

BryanV21 Fri Jan 13, 2017 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 997335)
So if while the ball is loose, A1 pushes B1, and B is in the bonus, would you shoot FTs?

Before reading BC's post a little earlier I would have said "yes", as the throw-in ended when the ball was knocked loose, thus ending the provision of there being team control during a throw-in. And neither team had control of the ball in bounds.

But after reading his post that the provision for team control to exist during a throw-in for foul purposes continues until the other team (aka Team B) gains control, I'll change my answer to "no".

Welpe Fri Jan 13, 2017 04:46pm

You're stretching a rule that doesn't apply in this situation to make it fit.

The rules for when team control starts and when it ends are clear:

ART. 2

A team is in control of the ball:

a. When a player of the team is in control.

b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.

c. During an interrupted dribble.

d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.

ART. 3

Team control continues until:

a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.

b. An opponent secures control.

c. The ball becomes dead.


There is nothing in Article 3 that says that Team Control has ended yet ergo it hasn't ended. The proper thing to do here is to give the ball back to Team A because nothing in the rules has ended Team Control.

As an aside, only by long lost interpretation do we all know that there shouldn't be a back court violation on a throw-in. A plain reading of the rules says it would be a violation.

BigCat Fri Jan 13, 2017 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 997346)
You're stretching a rule that doesn't apply in this situation to make it fit.

The rules for when team control starts and when it ends are clear:

ART. 2

A team is in control of the ball:

a. When a player of the team is in control.

b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.

c. During an interrupted dribble.

d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.

ART. 3

Team control continues until:

a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.

b. An opponent secures control.

c. The ball becomes dead.


There is nothing in Article 3 that says that Team Control has ended yet ergo it hasn't ended. The proper thing to do here is to give the ball back to Team A because nothing in the rules has ended Team Control.

As an aside, only by long lost interpretation do we all know that there shouldn't be a back court violation on a throw-in. A plain reading of the rules says it would be a violation.

No. I'm not stretching. The rules aren't written clearly. I'd bet my own house on this one. The POEs were very clear and should have made it to a place where they could be looked up. Like in the rule book.

I remember each change of the rule and each POE. That's my biggest gripe on nfhs. They say things in a POE but don't include it in the rules. Maybe Billy will come along and find them.

Rich Fri Jan 13, 2017 05:08pm

What Welpe keeps asking.

Camron Rust Fri Jan 13, 2017 05:19pm

There are two types of team control. While the rules are poorly written in this area, the NFHS has made its intentions clear.

Let's call them "Preliminary Team Control" and "Full Team Control". (That isn't what they're called, just what I'm calling them for the sake of discussion).

Preliminary Team Control begins when the thrower has the ball for a throwin.
Full Team Control begins when a player inbounds obtains player control.

Both end in the same way....a try is released, the other team gains control, or the ball becomes dead.

Team Control fouls are defined to happen whenever there is either....no FTs for any foul by the offense from the time they have the throwin until the time when team control is defined to end.

All other issues that depend on team control go by Full Team Control.

So, when the ball became loose on the inadvertent whistle, the throwin had ended but there was no Full Team Control. Since the throwin ended but Full Team Control had not yet been established, the resumption of play would be based on the AP arrow.

This is how we can have team control fouls on a throwin but no backcourt violation until after a player inbounds has player control.

BigCat Fri Jan 13, 2017 05:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 997355)
What Welpe keeps asking.

See Camrons response. You can't get this clearly from the rules but the POEs set it out very clearly when rules changes made. Which is obviously why they didn't make it in rules.:o

Rich Fri Jan 13, 2017 05:33pm

I know the whole discussion. I'm just amazed that you have to go through such gymnastics to describe it.

In the meantime, I'm likely giving it back to A and putting it in play.

BigCat Fri Jan 13, 2017 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 997364)
I know the whole discussion. I'm just amazed that you have to go through such gymnastics to describe it.

In the meantime, I'm likely giving it back to A and putting it in play.

Well, I have had a recent head injury. And I do like to get it right. I wouldn't have to go through gymnastics if they'd put the POEs in rules.

Rich Fri Jan 13, 2017 05:39pm

Well, yeah. That's my point. How many officials actually understand all this? a
For every one on this forum there are THOUSANDS who are not. How many associations cover this thoroughly?

No rule coverage, no caseplays....

BigCat Fri Jan 13, 2017 05:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 997370)
Well, yeah. That's my point. How many officials actually understand all this? a
For every one on this forum there are THOUSANDS who are not. How many associations cover this thoroughly?

No rule coverage, no caseplays....

Preaching to choir. Drives me crazy. Elbow rule really aggravates me. Nothing in rules about it....

BigCat Fri Jan 13, 2017 06:17pm

The POE from 2014/15 discusses it. There's a better one somewhere. I plugged in "throw in point of emphasis" in Internet to find 2014 one...

billyu2 Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:25pm

How would this play have been ruled in the years prior to the "team control" on a throw in rule change?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Jan 15, 2017 12:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rfp (Post 997331)
The actual sequence of events:
  1. Ball held across plane by A1.
  2. B1 contacts ball on the inbounds side of the plan, dislodging ball from A1's hands.
  3. Ball becomes loose inbounds.
  4. Official, sensing something wrong happened, blows whistle inadvertently.



rfp:

Based upon what you just wrote. I would say that Team A gets the ball for a non-AP Throw-in. Why? Because B1's slapping the ball ended Team A's AP Throw-in, but did not end Team A's Team Control of the Ball. The inadvertent whistle made the ball Dead while Team A was in control of the ball.

MTD, Sr.

BigCat Sun Jan 15, 2017 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 997440)
rfp:

Based upon what you just wrote. I would say that Team A gets the ball for a non-AP Throw-in. Why? Because B1's slapping the ball ended Team A's AP Throw-in, but did not end Team A's Team Control of the Ball. The inadvertent whistle made the ball Dead while Team A was in control of the ball.

MTD, Sr.

Maybe Billy can pull up the POEs. One is 2014/15. Team control ended when the throw in ended. Ball is now inbounds under no team's control. They added to the definition of team control foul,4-19-7 I think, that it is team control foul if offense commits foul from start of Thtow in until ball is secured. The POEs clearly say this is only for foul purposes. Once ball on court after tip there is no team control for any other reason. BC, 10 seconds etc. Inadvertent whistles... Its not clear in rules but is in POEs. Bsll goes to arrow here.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 15, 2017 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 997464)
Maybe Billy can pull up the POEs. One is 2014/15. Team control ended when the throw in ended. Ball is now inbounds under no team's control. They added to the definition of team control foul,4-19-7 I think, that it is team control foul if offense commits foul from start of Thtow in until ball is secured. The POEs clearly say this is only for foul purposes. Once ball on court after tip there is no team control for any other reason. BC, 10 seconds etc. Inadvertent whistles... Its not clear in rules but is in POEs. Bsll goes to arrow here.

I disagree with that and it is inconsistent too.

I believe team control, for the purposes of fouls, begins when the team has the ball for a throwin. Nothing the NFHS has said indicates that it ends when the ball is tipped but not secured. They defined team control to start when the player has the ball for a throwin and that it only applied to fouls. They didn't change how team control ended.

BigCat Sun Jan 15, 2017 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 997467)
I disagree with that and it is inconsistent too.

I believe team control, for the purposes of fouls, begins when the team has the ball for a throwin. Nothing the NFHS has said indicates that it ends when the ball is tipped but not secured. They defined team control to start when the player has the ball for a throwin and that it only applied to fouls. They didn't change how team control ended.

I think that is what I said. 4-19-7 says team control "foul" is any foul by offense from beginning of throw in until ball secured. That's an artificial definition to make sure offense doesn't shoot FTs even if ball tipped(throw in ends) and they foul before ball secured. Once the ball is tipped, there really is no longer team control. That's why they added that it is a team control foul until ball secured. It is inconsistent and done simply so FTs aren't shot.

For every other rule, BC, 3 seconds, inadvertent whistles, regular rules apply. No team control inbounds. ball goes arrow. We are on same side of this but may say it differently.

The first change to this said there was team control during a throwin. So no FTs for fouks "during" throw in. They realized when balls were tipped, throwin was over , offense fouls..they were still shooting FTs. So they added the phrase "until ball secured" to eliminate the FTs.

For every other reason in book, when ball is tipped, it's now inbounds and regular rules apply. There is no team control. I think we are 6 of 1 half dozen etc. The POEs do set it out very clearly....if we can find them

BillyMac Sun Jan 15, 2017 01:19pm

Ask And It Will Be Given To You (Matthew 7:7) ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 997464)
Maybe Billy can pull up the POEs ... 2014/15.

2014-15 NFHS Points of Emphasis.

4. Team Control Status During Throw In: Since a 2011-12 rules change, team control exists during a throw-in when the thrower-in has the ball at his/her disposal. The change was made ONLY, to eliminate the penalty of administering free throw(s) when a teammate of the throw-in commits a common foul during the throw-in. The change made the penalty consistent with the penalty for other team control fouls. The penalty now is the awarding of a throw-in to the opposing team at the spot out-of-bounds nearest to where the foul occurred.

NOTE: Team control during a throw-in is not intended to be equated to player control status inbounds which creates team control status inbounds. During the throw-in, 10 seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc... are not factors as there has yet to be player control/team control status obtained inbounds.

BigCat Sun Jan 15, 2017 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 997469)
2014-15 NFHS Points of Emphasis.

4. Team Control Status During Throw In: Since a 2011-12 rules change, team control exists during a throw-in when the thrower-in has the ball at his/her disposal. The change was made ONLY, to eliminate the penalty of administering free throw(s) when a teammate of the throw-in commits a common foul during the throw-in. The change made the penalty consistent with the penalty for other team control fouls. The penalty now is the awarding of a throw-in to the opposing team at the spot out-of-bounds nearest to where the foul occurred.

NOTE: Team control during a throw-in is not intended to be equated to player control status inbounds which creates team control status inbounds. During the throw-in, 10 seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc... are not factors as there has yet to be player control/team control status obtained inbounds.

There's also another one that addresses the addition of the language"until ball secured." Just expands definition of team control FOUL to include balls tipped and until secured.

just another ref Sun Jan 15, 2017 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 997469)
2014-15 NFHS Points of Emphasis.

4. Team Control Status During Throw In: Since a 2011-12 rules change, team control exists during a throw-in when the thrower-in has the ball at his/her disposal. The change was made ONLY, to eliminate the penalty of administering free throw(s) when a teammate of the throw-in commits a common foul during the throw-in. The change made the penalty consistent with the penalty for other team control fouls. The penalty now is the awarding of a throw-in to the opposing team at the spot out-of-bounds nearest to where the foul occurred.

NOTE: Team control during a throw-in is not intended to be equated to player control status inbounds which creates team control status inbounds. During the throw-in, 10 seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc... are not factors as there has yet to be player control/team control status obtained inbounds.

With this in mind, could we not say no team control and at least go to the arrow? B has made a good defensive play. It is unfair (sometimes NFHS rules are) to give the ball back to A.

BigCat Sun Jan 15, 2017 05:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 997477)
With this in mind, could we not say no team control and at least go to the arrow? B has made a good defensive play. It is unfair (sometimes NFHS rules are) to give the ball back to A.

Team control for throwin and until ball secured applies only to fouls. If a foul isn't involved, once ball is touched inbounds we go to regular team control rules. The ball is loose, no team has established control inbounds. now the whistle blows. Going to the arrow is what is required.

just another ref Sun Jan 15, 2017 07:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 997480)
Team control for throwin and until ball secured applies only to fouls. If a foul isn't involved, once ball is touched inbounds we go to regular team control rules. The ball is loose, no team has established control inbounds. now the whistle blows. Going to the arrow is what is required.

Not according to some in this thread.

Rich Sun Jan 15, 2017 07:29pm

Let me know when this makes the rulebook or casebook. Till then, I'm out of this thread.

Adam Sun Jan 15, 2017 08:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 997477)
With this in mind, could we not say no team control and at least go to the arrow? B has made a good defensive play. It is unfair (sometimes NFHS rules are) to give the ball back to A.

IW results are often unfair.

Welpe Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 997488)
Let me know when this makes the rulebook or casebook. Till then, I'm out of this thread.

Perhaps we can attempt to read a plate full of tea leaves to divine the ruling.

I know what I'm doing for now. If the Fed wishes to fix the rules, I'll adjust.

BigCat Tue Jan 17, 2017 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 997579)
Perhaps we can attempt to read a plate full of tea leaves to divine the ruling.

I know what I'm doing for now. If the Fed wishes to fix the rules, I'll adjust.

It should be a lot clearer etc so i know where you are coming from. Here's something I'm thinking..and remembering why i say what I'm saying…in addition to the POE.

How long has the player/team control definition rule 4-12 been in its current form? I'm wondering and thinking it has been in its current form for quite a while. Team control when a player has disposal of ball for throw in has been there because that is the point when the other team is no longer allowed to call a timeout. The other portions of that rule deal with the ball once it is inbounds. I'm thinking that the actual wording in the definition of team control hasn't changed. 4-12.

What has changed, and I'm thinking the only thing that has changed, is the definition of "team control foul" in 4-19-7. They added the language to say it is a team control FOUL from start of throw in until ball secured. That is why i say they just created this artificial rule for fouls only. I don't think the definition of team control in 4-12 itself changed. They just wanted to reach a result of not shooting FTs. We know for 10 seconds, 3 seconds, 5 seconds etc there has to be team control inbounds.

If 4-12 has changed substantially ill have to rethink it. I DO AGREE IT SHOULD BE CLEARER. THE POE could be put in the rule.

so cal lurker Tue Jan 17, 2017 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 997584)
It should be a lot clearer etc so i know where you are coming from. Here's something I'm thinking..and remembering why i say what I'm saying..

How long has the player/team control definition rule 4-12 been in its current form? I'm wondering and thinking it has been in its current form for quite a while. Team control when a player has disposal of ball for throw in has been there because that is the point when the other team is no longer allowed to call a timeout. The other portions of that rule deal with the ball once it is inbounds. I'm thinking that the actual wording in the definition of team control hasn't changed. 4-12.

What has changed, and I'm thinking the only thing that has changed, is the definition of "team control foul" in 4-19-7. They added the language to say it is a team control FOUL from start of throw in until ball secured. That is why i say they just created this artificial rule for fouls only. I don't think the definition of team control in 4-12 itself changed. They just wanted to reach a result of not shooting FTs. We know for 10 seconds, 3 seconds, 5 seconds etc there has to be team control inbounds.

If 4-12 has changed substantially ill have to rethink it. I DO AGREE IT SHOULD BE CLEARER. THE POE could be put in the rule.

Really, they should just fix the sloppy drafting that led to unintended consequences and required interps. They can get rid of this mess by taking TC out of the TI, and changing the def of a TC foul to a foul that occurs either (1) when there is TC, or (2) during throw in (with appropriate definition of when that ends for purposes of TC). Sometimes the instinct (not just here, but in life) is to try to tinker to fix rather than just identify the actual problem and go back and fix it properly.

Adam Tue Jan 17, 2017 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 997585)
Really, they should just fix the sloppy drafting that led to unintended consequences and required interps. They can get rid of this mess by taking TC out of the TI, and changing the def of a TC foul to a foul that occurs either (1) when there is TC, or (2) during throw in (with appropriate definition of when that ends for purposes of TC). Sometimes the instinct (not just here, but in life) is to try to tinker to fix rather than just identify the actual problem and go back and fix it properly.

This, this, this. Yep.

They've been tinkering for years now rather than fixing the mess they made. Now it seems like they're just being stubborn about it and refusing to acknowledge there's a problem.

bob jenkins Tue Jan 17, 2017 03:31pm

As we all said when this first came out -- if we can have (by definition) a PC foul when there is no PC, then we can have (by definition) a TC foul when there is no TC.

MD Longhorn Tue Jan 17, 2017 04:16pm

Bandaid on top of a bandaid on top of gauze over another bandaid and a cast, all topped by ACE and another bandaid ... at this point nothing's touching skin anymore.

BigCat Tue Jan 17, 2017 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 997621)
Bandaid on top of a bandaid on top of gauze over another bandaid and a cast, all topped by ACE and another bandaid ... at this point nothing's touching skin anymore.

Can we sue somebody for that injury? For my headache its caused....Its a cluster. They need to start over....

Zoochy Wed Jan 18, 2017 01:17pm

Game Management
 
I ran this play past a few 'Veteran' officials. A particular official basically said to set aside the rules and use 'Game Management'. I assume he was implying to give the ball back to Team A. :confused:

Adam Wed Jan 18, 2017 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 997732)
I ran this play past a few 'Veteran' officials. A particular official basically said to set aside the rules and use 'Game Management'. I assume he was implying to give the ball back to Team A. :confused:

The sign of a veteran who doesn't want to bother with the rules because they make his life more difficult.

Rich Wed Jan 18, 2017 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 997760)
The sign of a veteran who doesn't want to bother with the rules because they make his life more difficult.

The more years I add to my career, the more I have sympathy for this.....in very limited circumstances.

so cal lurker Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:54am

Saw a real-world IW. HS JV boys (high quality JV), close game, under 2 minutes. Blue driving toward basket. Weak whistle -- some stop, some don't, blue misses runner in lane. Real whistle. Jump signal -- AP favors white. Most parents hopelessly confused with what is happening. Blue coach upset. Referees get together for a surprisingly long time. Blue given ball back. Parent on white team yells "C'mon refs, you can;t just give them the game!" :rolleyes:

It looked to me that at first I though the official was going to pretend the whistle hadn't happened -- but thought better of it. That delay, however, added to the confusion, and may have lead to his jump signal. But they got together and got it right. (Dang it, this forum has me spending way too much time paying attention to what the refs do and how they do it at my son's games . . .still not quite as bad as when I watch soccer games though . . .)

LRZ Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 997765)
The more years I add to my career, the more I have sympathy for this.....in very limited circumstances.

Sid Borgia (I think): "I don't call fouls, I dispense justice."

deecee Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:27pm

If it's a blow out go with the decision that gives the ball getting the snot beat out of them.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1