The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Timing question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102021-timing-question.html)

mj Thu Dec 29, 2016 01:01pm

Timing question
 
Team A behind by 1 inbounding from their back court with .9 remaining in the game. They throw a length of the court pass that is tipped out of bounds. Clock is still at .9 after the whistle blows. Can there be any time taken off the clock?

WhistlesAndStripes Thu Dec 29, 2016 01:07pm

Yes, but only if you have definite knowledge of how much time should have ticked off.

bob jenkins Thu Dec 29, 2016 01:08pm

"Likely tenths of seconds" according to an NFHS interp (see the sticky thread of the interps for the past 15 years or so)

mj Thu Dec 29, 2016 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes (Post 995836)
Yes, but only if you have definite knowledge of how much time should have ticked off.

Understand that part that you need definite knowledge by rule. Many around here saying they would take .3 off because the tip rule. I'm not so sure...

mj Thu Dec 29, 2016 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 995837)
"Likely tenths of seconds" according to an NFHS interp (see the sticky thread of the interps for the past 15 years or so)

I'll look Bob thank you!

BryanV21 Thu Dec 29, 2016 01:10pm

Since there was no count by an official in this situation (assuming by "length of court pass" meaning it wasn't tipped in the backcourt, so no ten-second count was started), can there be "definite knowledge"?

HokiePaul Thu Dec 29, 2016 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 995841)
Since there was no count by an official in this situation (assuming by "length of court pass" meaning it wasn't tipped in the backcourt, so no ten-second count was started), can there be "definite knowledge"?

Definite knowledge doesn't mean there had to be a visual count (e.g. backcourt/closely guarded). I keep my own count on last second plays just for situations like this where something goes wrong with the clock. I'd have definite knowledge that something other than 0.0 should have come off the clock, although I know this has been debated before and I think it's about 50/50 on those who agree with this interpretation.

BryanV21 Thu Dec 29, 2016 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 995852)
Definite knowledge doesn't mean there had to be a visual count (e.g. backcourt/closely guarded). I keep my own count on last second plays just for situations like this where something goes wrong with the clock. I'd have definite knowledge that something other than 0.0 should have come off the clock, although I know this has been debated before and I think it's about 50/50 on those who agree with this interpretation.

I totally agree that some time should be taken off, but not sure how to do that with definite knowledge.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

Raymond Thu Dec 29, 2016 02:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 995841)
Since there was no count by an official in this situation (assuming by "length of court pass" meaning it wasn't tipped in the backcourt, so no ten-second count was started), can there be "definite knowledge"?

According to Albert Einstein, Carl Sagan, and Neil deGrasse Tyson--yes.

BillyMac Thu Dec 29, 2016 04:47pm

Always Listen To bob ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 995837)
"Likely tenths of seconds" according to an NFHS interp (see the sticky thread of the interps for the past 15 years or so)

Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2009-10

SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1’s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2’s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2’s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)

Adam Thu Dec 29, 2016 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 995841)
Since there was no count by an official in this situation (assuming by "length of court pass" meaning it wasn't tipped in the backcourt, so no ten-second count was started), can there be "definite knowledge"?

An official can have a count in his or her head. Such a count could easily get you to half or a full second. If you get to a full second, game over. If half, then put it in play with .4. Some will note that you could get a fairly accurate count down to tenths of a second, but that's a harder sell IMO. I might be willing to sell quarters if I was cognizant enough to actually count it.

Nevadaref Thu Dec 29, 2016 05:49pm

I can't count in tenths of a second. Timers make mistakes.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 29, 2016 06:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 995874)
I can't count in tenths of a second. Timers make mistakes.

Can you count in Mississippi's? If so, you've got a count in 0.2 second increments.
  • One - 0.2
  • Miss - 0.4
  • i - 0.6
  • ssi - 0.8
  • ppi - 1.0

If your cadence is not quite regular, it may not be exactly accurate, but it would be a valid count.

deecee Thu Dec 29, 2016 08:22pm

I'm taking off .3 seconds. I am making an allowance for the clock starting on the tip and going out of bounds. There is a threshold that you can be 100% certain that much time went off the clock without knowing how much actually went off. You just need to apply some common sense.

In most cases in what was described I would be 100% certain that .3 seconds as that number increases my certainty decreases.

Adam Thu Dec 29, 2016 11:15pm

.3 seconds refers to catching and releasing a ball. It has nothing to do with the time it takes a ball to go from being tipped to hitting out of bounds. Depending on the player's proximity to the line, it could easily be less than .3 seconds. One could maybe make the case that the NFHS ruling requires at least .1, but .3 comes out of thin air for this situation.

Nevadaref Thu Dec 29, 2016 11:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 995888)
.3 seconds refers to catching and releasing a ball. It has nothing to do with the time it takes a ball to go from being tipped to hitting out of bounds. Depending on the player's proximity to the line, it could easily be less than .3 seconds. One could maybe make the case that the NFHS ruling requires at least .1, but .3 comes out of thin air for this situation.

Are you aware of the NBA rule requiring 0.3 to be removed from the clock anytime the ball is touched inbounds and then becomes dead again from a stopped clock situation?

That is from where deecee is taking the grounds for his decision.

deecee Fri Dec 30, 2016 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 995888)
.3 seconds refers to catching and releasing a ball. It has nothing to do with the time it takes a ball to go from being tipped to hitting out of bounds. Depending on the player's proximity to the line, it could easily be less than .3 seconds. One could maybe make the case that the NFHS ruling requires at least .1, but .3 comes out of thin air for this situation.

My statement said for most cases. There may be times where the touch happens close to the OOB and the ball immediately goes out at almost the same time. In this case I wouldn't be comfortable with .3 seconds. In reality in most cases the number is greater than .3 but to me it's one I'm comfortable using as my baseline. I sure as hell am NOT going to NOT take any time off when the ball was legally touched and the clock didn't start.

Adam Fri Dec 30, 2016 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 995890)
Are you aware of the NBA rule requiring 0.3 to be removed from the clock anytime the ball is touched inbounds and then becomes dead again from a stopped clock situation?

That is from where deecee is taking the grounds for his decision.

Nope, I wasn't aware of the NBA rule.

ODog Fri Dec 30, 2016 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 995911)
I sure as hell am NOT going to NOT take any time off when the ball was legally touched and the clock didn't start.

New scenario: First quarter, 5:16 left. Throw-in is tipped by defender right back out of bounds. Clock still reads 5:16. You bothering with this or were you just talking end-of-period scenarios?

Adam Fri Dec 30, 2016 05:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 995922)
New scenario: First quarter, 5:16 left. Throw-in is tipped by defender right back out of bounds. Clock still reads 5:16. You bothering with this or were you just talking end-of-period scenarios?

I'm not messing with this: especially if the clock isn't displaying .1s.

BillyMac Fri Dec 30, 2016 06:41pm

If Displayed ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 995926)
I'm not messing with this: especially if the clock isn't displaying .1s.

Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2009-10
SITUATION 11: ... the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed.

deecee Fri Dec 30, 2016 07:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 995922)
New scenario: First quarter, 5:16 left. Throw-in is tipped by defender right back out of bounds. Clock still reads 5:16. You bothering with this or were you just talking end-of-period scenarios?

I don't care about this. These are 2 different scenarios. In the original scenario if its like a 2-3 possession game I'm not picking the nit either.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1