The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Duke vs Elon - Administration of Dead ball Techincal Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102003-duke-vs-elon-administration-dead-ball-techincal-foul.html)

WhistlesAndStripes Thu Dec 22, 2016 03:10pm

Duke vs Elon - Administration of Dead ball Techincal Foul
 
In last night's game between Duke and Elon, Grayson Allen was called for a Dead Ball Techincal foul after committing a foul against a dribbler that resulted in a 1-and-1 bonus situation. The lane was cleared for all FTs, and Elon got the ball after the free throws. I believe they shot the bonus first, followed by the TF FTs.

I know that in NFHS, this is correct, that you administer in the order the fouls occurred. But I thought it was different in college. Am I wrong?

Adam Thu Dec 22, 2016 03:12pm

Dead ball contact technical foul in the NCAA is administered like NFHS, in order of occurrence with the ball given to the team who shot the Free Throws.

AremRed Thu Dec 22, 2016 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 995579)
Dead ball contact technical foul in the NCAA is administered like NFHS, in order of occurrence with the ball given to the team who shot the Free Throws.

More specifically the throw-in is at the division line on either side of the court. I always take it opposite unless the coach requests it to be tableside.

LeeBallanfant Thu Dec 22, 2016 06:48pm

Same situation except Elon player fouled in act of shooting and then is deliberately tripped while ball is still in flight or rolling on rim. Is this 2 Personals on same Duke Player?

APG Thu Dec 22, 2016 09:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes (Post 995577)
In last night's game between Duke and Elon, Grayson Allen was called for a Dead Ball Techincal foul after committing a foul against a dribbler that resulted in a 1-and-1 bonus situation. The lane was cleared for all FTs, and Elon got the ball after the free throws. I believe they shot the bonus first, followed by the TF FTs.

I know that in NFHS, this is correct, that you administer in the order the fouls occurred. But I thought it was different in college. Am I wrong?

Under NCAA-M rules, contact dead ball technical fouls and flagrant 2 technical fouls result in two shots and the throw in at the division line. Thus you'll shoot free throws in the order they occur.

JRutledge Thu Dec 22, 2016 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 995597)
Same situation except Elon player fouled in act of shooting and then is deliberately tripped while ball is still in flight or rolling on rim. Is this 2 Personals on same Duke Player?

Well it was two fouls in this situation. And it would be in your hypothetical.

The first foul caused the ball to become dead. The second foul was during dead ball contact. That is why they shot 4 FTs in this situation.

Peace

Camron Rust Fri Dec 23, 2016 03:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 995597)
Same situation except Elon player fouled in act of shooting and then is deliberately tripped while ball is still in flight or rolling on rim. Is this 2 Personals on same Duke Player?


In the case where there is a shot in flight the ball remains live until shot ends. The first foul doesn't cause the ball to become dead. Any and all fouls that occur before the ball is dead are personal fouls. So, yes, you'd have two personal fouls on one player. The 2nd one, if it is similar to this play, would be intentional.

Some might be inclined to call one, and I'd agree if they were both garden variety fouls. But if they are clearly two separate acts and one of them is egregious like this, I have no problem with penalizing both with one of them being intentional or flagrant.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1