![]() |
Backcourt Violation?
I seem to remember an old case play on this.
Team A has ball in FC. B1 smacks the ball down into the FC and then it bounces over the center line. A1 catches the ball while in the back court before the ball bounces in the backcourt. I seem to remember this being a backcourt violation. Am I remembering correctly? |
Quote:
And if it was a violation, it would also be a violation if A1 was holding or dribbling the ball in the BC as long as B1 was standing in the FC. |
Quote:
frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. At what point is the ball in the backcourt in my example? When it's caught by A1 , correct? So the question is regarding the ball not touching the BC. It's not in the BC until it's caught by A1. I'm sure there was an old case play on this but can't find it. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If the ball never touched the backcourt i.e. the floor then who was the last to touch it when it had FC status? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If A1 in BC passes to A2 in FC, but the ball does not bounce, does the ball have FC status? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. |
The ball maintains frontcourt status while in the air, and so, when the team A player, standing in backcourt is first to touch the ball, that player becomes the last to touch the ball while it has frontcourt status, and in the same instant, he/she is the first to touch the ball when it obtains backcourt status.
Additionally, if the player had allowed the ball to touch the floor in team A's backcourt, thus obtaining backcourt status before that player touched the ball, no violation would occur. The difficulty in the logic is that the same instant of touching constitutes both a frontcourt and a backcourt status. Thus, that logic is seen as cumbersome, faulty, and difficult to explain to observers, especially coaches. |
Quote:
As Adam said, the rule says BEFORE. At most, we have the ball simultaneously in FC and BC when A1 touches it. The rule says player can't be first to touch ball after it been in team control in FC if she or teammate last touched ball in FC BEFORE it went to BC. This is simultaneous, not before. i don't have a violation. |
Look at it another way: If B1 bounces a ball over an OOB line and A1 catches it before it lands, is the ball already OOB or only when A1 catches it?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
No it IS NOT.
Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
B sent it to b/c A1 in b/c gives b/c status on his/her touch.
Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk |
[QUOTE=Rob1968;995339]The ball maintains frontcourt status while in the air, and so, when the team A player, standing in backcourt is first to touch the ball, that player becomes the last to touch the ball while it has frontcourt status, and in the same instant, he/she is the first to touch the ball when it obtains backcourt status.
/QUOTE] That is not correct. The rule requires that A be the last to touch the ball BEFORE it returns to the backcourt. "Before" is a very clear word. Touching it in the backcourt is not touching it before touching it in the backcourt. Quote:
|
If the violation was for causing the ball to have BC status, this would be a violation.
That's not what the rule is, though. |
Quote:
From the 2007-08 NFHS Basketball Interpretations: SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1) |
[QUOTE=Camron Rust;995356]
Quote:
|
Quote:
Has that been rescinded? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The logic of that ruling leads to all sorts of crazy rulings. |
I had this debate in another forum. This type of play was taken to Peter Webb and Ms. Wynns, NFHS Editor who said ( IT IS A VIOLATION) since a changed the status of the ball to bc, of course ignoring the rule that says touching a player is the same as touching the floor.
I don't like it, but as per nfhs it is a backcourt violation. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Don't know about Peter Webb but going to Mrs. Wynns for clarification on a rule is laughable. She is a suit that oversees the rules, that's it. The NFHS needs to hire some legit technical writers to clean up their BS. |
IAABO, Not NFHS ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I've Got A Bridge In Brooklyn For Sale ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
The "in the FC" language refers to the location of the player when he or she touches the ball. Not the status of the ball. In your play team A has control in FC. B1, located in FC, deflects ball into air. A2 steps into BC. He is now IN THE BC, not the FC. He catches ball in air. Yes the ball had FC status and simultaneously gets BC status when he touches it. But A2 was clearly in the BC when he touched the ball. B1 was the last person located in the FC to touch the ball. Let me know if there is a hole in this thought. |
Quote:
What is the point you're trying to make? The location of the player and the status of the ball when he touches it are one and the same. |
Quote:
|
I ran this by my IAABO interpreter and his ruling is a backcourt violation
Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I think everybody agrees with you on this. (except whoever wrote the infamous interp) A single player CAN do both things, but not at the same time. |
Quote:
What I am saying is looking at the wording in rule it could be that the physical location of the player is what matters. The last person to touch ball IN THE FC refers to where the player is located at time of touch. A2 is not physically located in FC so he isn't last to touch it in FC. The fact that the ball in the air has FC status doesn't matter. |
Quote:
Example: A1 in the backcourt at the division line makes a bounce pass laterally across the court such that it bounces in the frontcourt. A2, also in the backcourt catches the ball. That is a violation and neither A1 nor A2 were ever in the frontcourt. Back to your play...B1 was the last to touch a the ball that had frontcourt status before the ball returned to the backcourt where A2 was the first to touch the ball after the ball returned to the backcourt (touching it gave the ball backcourt status and A2 was still touching it a microsecond after first touching it...and more). Since B1 was the last to touch the ball before the ball returned to the backcourt, it is not a violation. |
Quote:
A1 is dribbling in his backcourt near the division line. B1 is defending A1 while standing fully in Team A's frontcourt. B1 reaches across the division line and bats the ball into A1's knee and the ball bounces away from the dribbler. Is this a backcourt violation? Now point out that the elements of that play are exactly the same as the one which you previously asked him. Team A has team control. When B1 bats the ball, the ball gains FC status while still in control on Team A. B1 knocked the ball in the air and it contacted A1 before touching the court in the backcourt. Therefore, when the ball struck A1's knee the status of the ball reverted to backcourt. Hopefully, this will illustrate the silliness of the previous ruling. He would have to declare both situations to be backcourt violations to be consistent. My position, and that of most posters on this forum, is that neither situation is a violation. |
It's basically Schrödinger's back court interpretation.
This is an interp I conveniently forget I have ever seen since there is not only no rule backing for such an interpretation but it's also highly illogical. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
What also makes the interpretation silly, is they give no recognition a rule that states the ball touching a player is THE SAME as touching the floor in that spot. If it is not a bc violation if the ball hits the floor first, and a touching the ball is the same as the ball hitting the floor, how can 1 be a violation and 1 not?
They pay no mind to the intent of the rule. I wonder what the NCAA interpretation would be |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The NFHS published the same ruling as a POE. PS the NCAA should have written "muffs" instead of "fumbles" in the final play. |
Quote:
DATE: 1/22/2015 RULE: 9-13-4 QUESTION: A January 2015 Referee Magazine play has generated a great deal of discussion among Iowa WBB officials. Here's the play: Player and team control have been established in the front court. A1 passes to A2 in the front court and the ball is deflected up into the air by B1. A3 recovers the ball, which is still in the air, with both feet on the court in the back court. Is this a violation? Operating on the principle of last to touch/first to touch, it seems this should be legal. The defense was last to touch and caused the ball to go into the back court, but it technically still had front court status (because it is still in the air) when it was recovered by the offense - first to touch in the back court. ANSWER (REVISED): When we talk about a ball being returned from a team's frontcourt to its backcourt, the key as to whether or not we will have a violation rests with whether or not a member of that team was the last to touch the ball in their frontcourt and the first to touch the ball in its backcourt (9-13.4). In your play, B1 is the last player to touch the ball in Team A's front court, so any member of Team A may touch or secure control of the ball in Team A's backcourt. |
Quote:
In the OP, the status of the ball does not matter, It's when/where/and by whom it is touched. I really don't see how a reasonable person could issue the interp. I know Referee Mag makes several errors but NFHS website? OK, BigCat already pointed this out, I didn't mean to pile on. I didn't see the 2nd page. Simple rule, let's not complicate it or overthink it. |
Quote:
|
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06pm. |