The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Compromise at the Monitor? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101980-compromise-monitor.html)

Jesse James Sun Dec 18, 2016 09:13pm

Compromise at the Monitor?
 
Late in the Butler/Indiana game (inside 20 seconds left if someone can pull video), out of bounds call going Butler's way goes to review. Review clearly shows Butler guy (Chrabascz) losing possession due to an Indiana hack, but ball was never touched by Indiana. Ball stayed with Butler.

Is the NCAA expectation to compromise in such instance?

SNIPERBBB Sun Dec 18, 2016 09:49pm

I dont know how the NCAA rule is written but someone could really stretch 9-3-1 in NFHS.

JRutledge Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:13pm

Do you mean because they did not call the foul, they give it to the player (team) that was fouled on the monitor?

Peace

Jesse James Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 995211)
Do you mean because they did not call the foul, they give it to the player (team) that was fouled on the monitor?

Peace

Yes

bas2456 Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:42pm

IIRC, the overhead shot was the one that definitively showed that the Butler player was the last to touch the ball.

Tough call to go against Indiana.

johnny d Mon Dec 19, 2016 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jesse James (Post 995205)
Late in the Butler/Indiana game (inside 20 seconds left if someone can pull video), out of bounds call going Butler's way goes to review. Review clearly shows Butler guy (Chrabascz) losing possession due to an Indiana hack, but ball was never touched by Indiana. Ball stayed with Butler.

Is the NCAA expectation to compromise in such instance?


Yes, that is exactly the NCAA expectation. The monitor clearly shows you missed a foul, so you should double down and award the ball to the wrong team, even though anyone with a set of eyes can tell should be going the other way.

deecee Mon Dec 19, 2016 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 995254)
Yes, that is exactly the NCAA expectation. The monitor clearly shows you missed a foul, so you should double down and award the ball to the wrong team, even though anyone with a set of eyes can tell should be going the other way.

Can you elaborate where you get this expectation from? I'm curious.

SC Official Mon Dec 19, 2016 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 995261)
Can you elaborate where you get this expectation from? I'm curious.

I think he meant to use blue text, but what do I know.

APG Tue Dec 20, 2016 01:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jesse James (Post 995205)
Late in the Butler/Indiana game (inside 20 seconds left if someone can pull video), out of bounds call going Butler's way goes to review. Review clearly shows Butler guy (Chrabascz) losing possession due to an Indiana hack, but ball was never touched by Indiana. Ball stayed with Butler.

Is the NCAA expectation to compromise in such instance?

No...you go to the monitor and give it to the correct team. If you miss a foul you have to eat it.

so cal lurker Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 995295)
No...you go to the monitor and give it to the correct team. If you miss a foul you have to eat it.

I've always thought this was a flaw in the review process. As one miss is correctable and the other is not, the end result becomes farther from the correct answer than the initial ruling was.

The Lakers lost a game some years back, hampered by essentially this play. In late game, OOB was awarded to the Lakers. Review showed clearly that the it was last touched by a Laker -- and that there was a foul. Only the OOB was correctable. I *think* the NBA subsequently tweaked its rule to prevent that scenario, but I could be wrong.

APG Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 995315)

The Lakers lost a game some years back, hampered by essentially this play. In late game, OOB was awarded to the Lakers. Review showed clearly that the it was last touched by a Laker -- and that there was a foul. Only the OOB was correctable. I *think* the NBA subsequently tweaked its rule to prevent that scenario, but I could be wrong.

Still have to eat it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1