![]() |
Technical Foul?
After a time out Team A does not return to the court when the second warning horn sounds. After the officials attempt to bring Team A out of the huddle, the administering official sounds his whistle, places the ball on the floor and begins the throw in count. After a count of 2, Team B steps over the line and picks up the ball.
Same play but it is between the 1st and 2nd quarters? Or between 2nd and 3rd quarters? |
I've had this happen once, and regardless of what the rule is, you MUST prevent this from happening by telling the defender closest to you when you put the ball down, "do NOT touch the ball; it is not your ball and I will penalize you if you do..." (or whatever language you want to use).
|
A1 is not holding the ball, so double check the rule to make sure it's a T.
I'm going with a DOG warning for B, and they just bailed A out of a 5 second violation. I am not, however, bending over backwards to prevent B from doing this. |
Let's Go To The Videotape ...
7.5.1 SITUATION B: Team A does not break the huddle after the second horn
for a 60-second time-out. The official puts the ball down at the designated spot and begins the five-second count. The administering official is between four and five on the count when Team B reaches over the boundary and grabs the ball. RULING: Delay-of-game warning on Team B for reaching across the plane. No Team A member ever possessed the ball for the throw-in; therefore, a technical foul would not be assessed. (9-2 Penalty 3) |
Thanks BillyMac. I did not look hard enough in the case book. I only looked at 9.2 and 10.4.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
It's Not Your Ball ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14pm. |