The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   VIDEO REQUEST: Kansas/Indiana Blarge (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101828-video-request-kansas-indiana-blarge.html)

WhistlesAndStripes Mon Nov 14, 2016 12:35pm

VIDEO REQUEST: Kansas/Indiana Blarge
 
There was a play, mid to late second half I believe, which was called as a double foul when the Center came up with a charge at the same time the lead came up with a block. Officials came together and talked, went to the monitor, and then it was called as a double foul.

I'm surprised that 3 days later it hasn't been brought up here.

EDIT: It looks like this play occurred at the 6:50 mark of the 2nd half.

SC Official Mon Nov 14, 2016 12:51pm

6:50 in the second half was when it happened.

PC or no-call would've been my decision.

Of course Bilas didn't understand how it could possibly be a double foul.

Raymond Mon Nov 14, 2016 01:43pm

One of my conferences went to Synergy, I look up any play now. I just don't know how to clip them.....LOL

Raymond Mon Nov 14, 2016 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes (Post 992971)
...
I'm surprised that 3 days later it hasn't been brought up here.

EDIT: It looks like this play occurred at the 6:50 mark of the 2nd half.

Those who saw it probably thought there was nothing new to learn from the play.

Folks post blarges every season. Then somebody will come in with the classic "if you pregame this, it will never happen" cliché.

SC Official Mon Nov 14, 2016 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 992983)
Those who saw it probably thought there was nothing new to learn from the play.

Folks post blarges every season. Then somebody will come in with the classic "if you pregame this, it will never happen" cliché.

A-freaking-men.

JRutledge Mon Nov 14, 2016 02:19pm

Here is the entire sequence.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/mh10QVKy_EY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Mconnors625 Mon Nov 14, 2016 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 992985)
A-freaking-men.



Video of this game, with all the ESPN camera angles, was available early Saturday morning but by later in the day it was gone. You will find a few other videos on Youtube but they only have the feed from a camera mounted on the backboard at the opposite end of the court. Unfortunately, this video does not capture a good angle on the play and does not show both officials making their calls simultaneously. I, too, could not figure out how to clip the play out of the original video to post it and by the time I did it was too late. Regardless, despite the dreaded blarge being called on the play, the officials handled it well and neither coach gave them much grief. I thought a no-call would have been a better interpretation of the contact.

AremRed Mon Nov 14, 2016 02:25pm

Bunch of stuff going on here.

It's a rebound off a missed shot, so the RA doesn't apply. Which makes it weird why Lead is pointing in that direction. I suppose he could be pointing at the defender, but I'm pretty sure he was pointing at the RA. And the defender isn't even in the RA.

This is also a primary defender, and in Slot's area so I like the call form Slot. A bunch of people told me this is a block but I think this is a charge all day long.

Interestingly if the Lead did indeed call a RA blocking foul, then they could have gotten together and come out with just a charge. You can always bring information to change an RA call, and if information is brought then both Lead and Slot would have a charge call, and no blarge.

It sucks they can't get together and come out with one call like the NBA or NCAA-W but they did it correctly by their rule set.

SC Official Mon Nov 14, 2016 02:40pm

If you're going to call a foul here, it's not even close IMO. PC all day long, and C should have the first crack at it. L doesn't need to blow across.

However, the dribbler stopped on contact and the contact was marginal, so I would even be fine with a no-call.

BigCat Mon Nov 14, 2016 02:57pm

I think the L was pointing to the player on the floor, not the arc. We always say blow and hold from the outside. It's C call but can be hard for L to lay off. If I'm C I blow whistle and as arm goes up I'm looking at L. If he does nothing then I can sell. If he's emphatic it's on him unless I can yell " I got it" before he signals. It's my call at C but it won't be the last time L doesn't lay off.

UNIgiantslayers Mon Nov 14, 2016 03:12pm

The replay around :54 shows a pretty good angle as to the question of block or charge. It looks like the defender's got pretty good LGP and the offensive player displaces him, in my opinion.

JRutledge Mon Nov 14, 2016 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mconnors625 (Post 992988)
Video of this game, with all the ESPN camera angles, was available early Saturday morning but by later in the day it was gone. You will find a few other videos on Youtube but they only have the feed from a camera mounted on the backboard at the opposite end of the court. Unfortunately, this video does not capture a good angle on the play and does not show both officials making their calls simultaneously. I, too, could not figure out how to clip the play out of the original video to post it and by the time I did it was too late. Regardless, despite the dreaded blarge being called on the play, the officials handled it well and neither coach gave them much grief. I thought a no-call would have been a better interpretation of the contact.

For the record, this was all found by ESPN sources.

Peace

Raymond Mon Nov 14, 2016 07:22pm

I would love to hear APG's opinion on this...LOL

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

Nevadaref Mon Nov 14, 2016 07:26pm

Demonstrates that even the top guys screw up.

If the shot clock was kept at 28 seconds for the ensuing throw-in, then the situation was handled properly by rule. Of course, I believe that the throw-in spot should have been on the C's side of the basket too.

APG Tue Nov 15, 2016 05:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 993008)
I would love to hear APG's opinion on this...LOL

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

Hey, I went back and looked...film said I got the call wrong for reasons not related to this play! LOL


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1