The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   AP Arrow (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101683-ap-arrow.html)

Burtis449 Sat Oct 01, 2016 08:45am

AP Arrow
 
Situation: Team A adds a player to their score book. Team Technical foul on Team A. The game starts with 2 foul shots by a team B member followed by a throw-in by B1.

Question: when does the AP arrow get switched? I'd like a rule reference.

I've been told conflicting things by different (respected) officials.
One was that it's a normal AP throw in and the arrow gets switched when the throw in ends like normal.
I was also told that the arrow gets switched immediately after B1 has the ball in his/her hands. The reason being that this is the initial starting of team possession so switch the arrow to A's basket before the ball is thrown in. Rule 4-3 Art. 3b?! What are free throws for a non-common foul in this situation?

Any help would be appreciated.

deecee Sat Oct 01, 2016 09:44am

The arrow doesn't get switched since it hasn't been set. Team B gets 2 FT's, plus the ball to start the game. The arrow is set to team A to begin the game since B has the initial possession.

BigCat Sat Oct 01, 2016 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Burtis449 (Post 991318)
Situation: Team A adds a player to their score book. Team Technical foul on Team A. The game starts with 2 foul shots by a team B member followed by a throw-in by B1.

Question: when does the AP arrow get switched? I'd like a rule reference.

I've been told conflicting things by different (respected) officials.
One was that it's a normal AP throw in and the arrow gets switched when the throw in ends like normal.
I was also told that the arrow gets switched immediately after B1 has the ball in his/her hands. The reason being that this is the initial starting of team possession so switch the arrow to A's basket before the ball is thrown in. Rule 4-3 Art. 3b?! What are free throws for a non-common foul in this situation?

Any help would be appreciated.

You started the game with 2 technical free throws. Those are FTs for a "non common foul." You have the right rule section. When you hand the ball to team B for the throw in the arrow is set for the first time towards team A.

crosscountry55 Sat Oct 01, 2016 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 991320)
You started the game with 2 technical free throws. Those are FTs for a "non common foul." You have the right rule section. When you hand the ball to team B for the throw in the arrow is set for the first time towards team A.

In other words, when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower.

Again, Rule 4-3 is only employed in setting the arrow's initial direction, which happens at the beginning of the game or any extra period. 6-4-4 describes how the arrow is switched on an AP throw-in, which accounts for the vast majority of situations in which the scorer does something with the arrow.

Rob1968 Sun Oct 02, 2016 07:49pm

A) In the situation being discussed, with the arrow having been set to Team A, if on the ensuing throw-in, A2 and B2 simultaneously catch the ball, which team has the opportunity to attempt the subsequent throw-in?

B) On an alternating throw-in, other than the situation discussed above, with the arrow indicating that team B gets the opportunity to attempt the throw-in, if the throw-in by B1 is simultaneously caught by B2 and A2, which team has the subsequent throw-in? And when is the arrow switched?

BigCat Sun Oct 02, 2016 08:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 991342)
A) In the situation being discussed, with the arrow having been set to Team A, if on the ensuing throw-in, A2 and B2 simultaneously catch the ball, which team has the opportunity to attempt the subsequent throw-in?

B) On an alternating throw-in, other than the situation discussed above, with the arrow indicating that team B gets the opportunity to attempt the throw-in, if the throw-in by B1 is simultaneously caught by B2 and A2, which team has the subsequent throw-in? And when is the arrow switched?

A. It was set towards A when handed to B1 for the throw in. When B1 throws it in and A2 and B2 grab it simultaneously we go to the arrow. It is now an AP throw in for A. When you set the arrow the first time in the game towards A when it is handed tothrower B1 the arrow isn't changed when that throw in ends.


B. When B1s alternating throw in is simultaneously caught by B2 and A2 that AP throw in is over. Arrow goes to A. A gets the AP throw in from A2 and B2 simultaneously catching B1 throw in. If B1 would have held the ball over the boundary and A1 grabbed it and both held on, that AP throw in would not have ended and B gets it again for the AP throw in. That's a case play somewhere.

crosscountry55 Sun Oct 02, 2016 09:16pm

I believe BigCat is exactly right. Good scenario, Rob! I'd never thought about that comparison before.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Camron Rust Sun Oct 02, 2016 09:30pm

I agree.

Rob1968 Sun Oct 02, 2016 09:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 991345)
I agree.

I also agree. I worked a couple of games yesterday, as a mentor, with newer officials. These are the kinds of scenarios that need to be understood, before we see them on the court.
Big Cat's response is excellent, and I'm certain that the stated differences, and the situation in the B) answer will help someone in the upcoming season.
I constantly invite officials to check out the threads on this site. The wide ranging experience and knowledge, here, is priceless.

Case Book 4.3.3, 4.42.5, 6.4.1 Sit. A, 6.4.5 Sit. A, are of note in the discussion.

6.4.5 Sit. B concerns the the situation of the thrower holding the ball through the end-line or side-line plane.

Adam Mon Oct 03, 2016 11:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 991347)
I also agree. I worked a couple of games yesterday, as a mentor, with newer officials. These are the kinds of scenarios that need to be understood, before we see them on the court.
Big Cat's response is excellent, and I'm certain that the stated differences, and the situation in the B) answer will help someone in the upcoming season.
I constantly invite officials to check out the threads on this site. The wide ranging experience and knowledge, here, is priceless.

Case Book 4.3.3, 4.42.5, 6.4.1 Sit. A, 6.4.5 Sit. A, are of note in the discussion.

6.4.5 Sit. B concerns the the situation of the thrower holding the ball through the end-line or side-line plane.

I don't think this is a scenario we need to burden a first year official with. There's enough to learn before we start discussing plays they might, maybe, possibly see once in their entire careers.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Oct 03, 2016 02:52pm

This play is being over thought.

The NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, and FIBA Rules state how the AP Arrow is initially set and there are three ways.

Situation #1: The situation that happens about 99.99% of the time: A2 is the first Player to gain Play Control of the Ball during a Jump Ball or after a Jump Ball has ended.

Situation #2: The AP Arrow is set toward Team B's Basket (Team A's Basket under FIBA Rules), when the Ball is placed at the disposal of A1 for the Free Throws for a Common Foul committed before a Player from either Team gained PC of the Ball during a Jump Ball or after a Jump Ball has ended. This Situation can only happen at the start of an Overtime Period.

Situation #3: The AP Arrow is set toward Team B's Basket (Team A's Basket under FIBA Rules), when the Ball is placed at the disposal of the Thrower, A1, for any Situation that is not either Situation #1 or Situation #2.

MTD, Sr.

Kansas Ref Mon Oct 03, 2016 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 991361)
I don't think this is a scenario we need to burden a first year official with. There's enough to learn before we start discussing plays they might, maybe, possibly see once in their entire careers.

*But that ''first and only time" this first year Official has to adjudicate upon this type of occurrence/event could occur in the very first game that they officiate --thus, worthwhile to at least offer our input no?

APG Mon Oct 03, 2016 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 991385)
*But that ''first and only time" this first year Official has to adjudicate upon this type of occurrence/event could occur in the very first game that they officiate --thus, worthwhile to at least offer our input no?

I think there are a lot more common occurrences/events to go over with a first year official that would beneficial rather than burden them with a rather rare scenario.

Adam Mon Oct 03, 2016 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 991385)
*But that ''first and only time" this first year Official has to adjudicate upon this type of occurrence/event could occur in the very first game that they officiate --thus, worthwhile to at least offer our input no?

Assuming his partner is an experienced official, that partner should step in if this situation presents itself.

I'm a huge advocate for knowing the rules, but I'm also an advocate for incremental knowledge. There are some situations that the veteran official will simply need to handle in the rare case that they pop up.

If you're putting two rookies on the same game, then you'll just have to take a chance that they might in fact screw up a ruling on a bigfoot play. I'm ok with that, especially when the ruling is on which team gets the AP to start the game.

BigCat Mon Oct 03, 2016 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 991384)
This play is being over thought.

The NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, and FIBA Rules state how the AP Arrow is initially set and there are three ways.

Situation #1: The situation that happens about 99.99% of the time: A2 is the first Player to gain Play Control of the Ball during a Jump Ball or after a Jump Ball has ended.

Situation #2: The AP Arrow is set toward Team B's Basket (Team A's Basket under FIBA Rules), when the Ball is placed at the disposal of A1 for the Free Throws for a Common Foul committed before a Player from either Team gained PC of the Ball during a Jump Ball or after a Jump Ball has ended. This Situation can only happen at the start of an Overtime Period.

Situation #3: The AP Arrow is set toward Team B's Basket (Team A's Basket under FIBA Rules), when the Ball is placed at the disposal of the Thrower, A1, for any Situation that is not either Situation #1 or Situation #2.

MTD, Sr.

You might want to change your #1. By definition, there is no player or team control during a jump ball. thx 4-12-6

Adam Mon Oct 03, 2016 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 991389)
You might want to change your #1. By definition, there is no player or team control during a jump ball. thx 4-12-6

A1 grabs the ball right off the tip (doesn't even bounce). First touch is the act of catching the ball. This is gaining control "during" the jump ball, thus ending the jump ball by gaining control.

A1 grabs the ball after it bounces off of at least one jumper or the floor. This is gaining control after the jump ball has ended.

BigCat Mon Oct 03, 2016 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 991390)
A1 grabs the ball right off the tip (doesn't even bounce). First touch is the act of catching the ball. This is gaining control "during" the jump ball, thus ending the jump ball by gaining control.

A1 grabs the ball after it bounces off of at least one jumper or the floor. This is gaining control after the jump ball has ended.

i understand factually what your saying/describing. i said he might want to change it because the rule says word for word that there is no team or player control "during" a jump ball. id just not say "during" because of the way the rule is written. The rule drafters, by the way they have written the rule, have declared that the act that ENDS the jump ball, in your example the grab/possession by A1, is not considered "during." Everything before that moment is during.....

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Oct 03, 2016 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 991384)
This play is being over thought.

The NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, and FIBA Rules state how the AP Arrow is initially set and there are three ways.

Situation #1: The situation that happens about 99.99% of the time: A2 is the first Player to gain Play Control of the Ball during a Jump Ball or after a Jump Ball has ended.

Situation #2: The AP Arrow is set toward Team B's Basket (Team A's Basket under FIBA Rules), when the Ball is placed at the disposal of A1 for the Free Throws for a Common Foul committed before a Player from either Team gained PC of the Ball during a Jump Ball or after a Jump Ball has ended. This Situation can only happen at the start of an Overtime Period.

Situation #3: The AP Arrow is set toward Team B's Basket (Team A's Basket under FIBA Rules), when the Ball is placed at the disposal of the Thrower, A1, for any Situation that is not either Situation #1 or Situation #2.

MTD, Sr.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 991389)
You might want to change your #1. By definition, there is no player or team control during a jump ball. thx 4-12-6



I did not say that there was PC during a JB. I said gain PC during a JB, which ends the JB.

MTD, Sr.

crosscountry55 Mon Oct 03, 2016 08:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 991387)
I think there are a lot more common occurrences/events to go over with a first year official that would beneficial rather than burden them with a rather rare scenario.



Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 991361)
I don't think this is a scenario we need to burden a first year official with. There's enough to learn before we start discussing plays they might, maybe, possibly see once in their entire careers.


Respectfully disagree for two reasons:

1. We're all benefiting from this discussion because of the inquisitiveness of a rookie. Good for the rookie. I'd work with him any day because I can tell he cares about his craft.

2. Scenarios like this, though rare, do more than just help us through a once-in-a-career situation. They challenge us to contemplate the logic of definitions and their connections to the rest of the rules. This, IMHO, is where the real learning value lies, for rookies and veterans alike.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Adam Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 991411)
Respectfully disagree for two reasons:

1. We're all benefiting from this discussion because of the inquisitiveness of a rookie. Good for the rookie. I'd work with him any day because I can tell he cares about his craft.

2. Scenarios like this, though rare, do more than just help us through a once-in-a-career situation. They challenge us to contemplate the logic of definitions and their connections to the rest of the rules. This, IMHO, is where the real learning value lies, for rookies and veterans alike.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm not saying it shouldn't be discussed here in this forum. Rookies who participate here have a leg up on the competition with regard to rules knowledge.

I'm saying there's no reason to bring situations like this up in pregame meetings, or in large group rules clinics. There are ton of other rules that need to be addressed first. With a rookie, I'd rather discuss common myths and misconceptions.

Talk to a rookie about LGP. Talk to her about positioning. Discuss the fact that you can't travel unless you're holding the ball. Discuss the standards for calling a foul vs letting the contact go uncalled. Talk about the merits of a patient whistle.

Until those things are down pat, we're wasting time talking about the sasquatches of the basketball world.

No need to discuss multiple fouls, indirect technical fouls, the rare situation in the OP, or other big foot plays. For those plays, it's easy for the veteran to initiate a quick conference and take control.

Yes, there is benefit to discussing these plays, I just don't see a need for most rookies to focus their efforts here. When the exception asks questions in a forum like this, then by all means have the discussion.

My main disagreement is with the idea that young officials need to understand these situations before stepping on the court.

That's just my opinion, though. I think reasonable people can disagree.

crosscountry55 Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:41pm

I'm with you on this; this kind of breakdown is great on the forum or at the bar after the game. It doesn't belong in a pre-game nor need it take up 30 minutes of an association meeting.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Raymond Tue Oct 04, 2016 09:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 991319)
The arrow doesn't get switched since it hasn't been set. ....

Damn, you beat me to it.

Raymond Tue Oct 04, 2016 09:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 991385)
*But that ''first and only time" this first year Official has to adjudicate upon this type of occurrence/event could occur in the very first game that they officiate --thus, worthwhile to at least offer our input no?

True story. Very first paid game I ever worked was military intramural game. Opening tap leads to a breakaway lay-up for A1, B1 slaps the opposite side of the backboard as the ball is going through the basket. I call a T. My veteran partner over-rules me.

I believe it's the only time in my career I've whistled a T for that.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1