The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Disqualified player gets fouled (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10155-disqualified-player-gets-fouled.html)

cropduster Mon Sep 22, 2003 06:20pm

A1 is fouled by B1 while in the act of shooting. It is then determined that A1 had already been disqualified for his fifth foul. The coach gets a direct technical. A1 sits back down. What about the foul and where can I find it?
Barryb

ChuckElias Mon Sep 22, 2003 06:53pm

Under HS rules, any player from Team A who is eligible to substitute into the game may replace A1 and shoot A1's awarded FT(s). Then any player from Team B will shoot 2 FTs for the technical foul on Coach A. Team B is then awarded the ball at midcourt.

Oz Referee Mon Sep 22, 2003 07:34pm

Same in FIBA - the substitute shoots the free throws for the personal foul. And Team A can't sub out a current player and then sub them in for the dq'd player until the clock has run again. (I hope that makes sense)

Lotto Mon Sep 22, 2003 08:27pm

NCAA: Replace A1 with A6 first. Then B shoots the free throws for the T. Then return to point of interruption with A6 shooting 2 free throws. Continue as after any common foul free throws.

ChuckElias Mon Sep 22, 2003 09:35pm

Sorry, Lotto. Check out NCAA 10-11-2b. Participating after disqualification is a flagrant T. Even in NCAA, flagrant T's are penalized by 2 shots and the ball. (Women's is the same, but they don't call it "flagrant" for some reason.)

So, sub A6 in for A1. A6 shoots A1's FT(s). Then anybody on Team B shoots the T. Then B's ball at midcourt.

Bobby Mon Sep 22, 2003 10:25pm

This fortunately isn't the NBA, where there is no such rule. In the NBA and CBA, the disqualified player can shoot the free throw in certain restrictions.

(In the NBA, if a team is down to five players because of fouling out, and a player commits #6, he stays in the game and a T is called. Every time he fouls, there's a T.)

ChuckElias Tue Sep 23, 2003 08:37am

Quote:

Originally posted by Bobby
(In the NBA, if a team is down to five players because of fouling out, and a player commits #6, he stays in the game and a T is called. Every time he fouls, there's a T.)
Bobby, does the last guy to foul out stay in the game? Or does he get replaced by the first guy that fouled out? There's some wierd system in place, but I can't remember exactly what it is and I'm too lazy to dig out my NBA books.

rainmaker Tue Sep 23, 2003 08:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Bobby
(In the NBA, if a team is down to five players because of fouling out, and a player commits #6, he stays in the game and a T is called. Every time he fouls, there's a T.)
Bobby, does the last guy to foul out stay in the game? Or does he get replaced by the first guy that fouled out? There's some wierd system in place, but I can't remember exactly what it is and I'm too lazy to dig out my NBA books.

This board is too boring when the only thing we are worried about is whether the last guy to foul out of an NBA game stays in!

Lotto Tue Sep 23, 2003 11:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Sorry, Lotto. Check out NCAA 10-11-2b. Participating after disqualification is a flagrant T. Even in NCAA, flagrant T's are penalized by 2 shots and the ball. (Women's is the same, but they don't call it "flagrant" for some reason.)

So, sub A6 in for A1. A6 shoots A1's FT(s). Then anybody on Team B shoots the T. Then B's ball at midcourt.

My bad. I read the OP too quickly, thinking that A1's five fouls were discovered when B1's foul was reported. (In other words, the table didn't notice the five fouls at the time of A1's fifth foul.) In that case, I wouldn't call the flagrant T, since A1 hadn't been disqualified yet because of the table error. Your penalty is exactly correct in the situation the OP described, with the addendum that the women would take the ball in at the designated spot nearest where the flagrant T occurred. (I'm not sure where that would be! After all, A1 didn't participate after disqualification in a single spot. I'd probably put it in play at the division line anyway.)

Fortunately, here in NY, where HS girls play under modified NCAA rules, every T is two shots and the ball at the division line. So at least I would have made the right call for the games that I work... <whew!>

Camron Rust Tue Sep 23, 2003 11:44am

Quote:

Originally posted by cropduster
A1 is fouled by B1 while in the act of shooting. It is then determined that A1 had already been disqualified for his fifth foul. The coach gets a direct technical. A1 sits back down. What about the foul and where can I find it?
Barryb

Be aware that the technical foul can be called if and only if an official had previously notified the coach of player A1's disqualification. Until that notification happens, A1 is not actually disqualified no matter how many fouls he/she has.

ChuckElias Tue Sep 23, 2003 11:58am

We should also be aware that this can only be penalized if it is discovered while A1 is participating. In the original situation, A1 is obviously participating. But if, in a slightly different situation, A1 is subbed out and then the officials are notified that A1 had participated illegally, nothing could be done about it. And this is true for both NCAA and Fed.

Nevadaref Thu Sep 25, 2003 01:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by cropduster
A1 is fouled by B1 while in the act of shooting. It is then determined that A1 had already been disqualified for his fifth foul. The coach gets a direct technical. A1 sits back down. What about the foul and where can I find it?
Barryb

Be aware that the technical foul can be called if and only if an official had previously notified the coach of player A1's disqualification. Until that notification happens, A1 is not actually disqualified no matter how many fouls he/she has.

When I read this post, my take was that A1 was playing due to an error, not on purpose. I also thought that the coach of team A received a T for his angry actions when it was discovered that A1 had been playing with 5 fouls. If this is the case, then how to handle it under NFHS rules is listed in Note 2 following 2-11-11.

BOBBYMO Thu Sep 25, 2003 11:13am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Sorry, Lotto. Check out NCAA 10-11-2b. Participating after disqualification is a flagrant T. Even in NCAA, flagrant T's are penalized by 2 shots and the ball. (Women's is the same, but they don't call it "flagrant" for some reason.)

So, sub A6 in for A1. A6 shoots A1's FT(s). Then anybody on Team B shoots the T. Then B's ball at midcourt.


Chuck-

Is It B's ball at 1/2 court or at the P.O.I?

ChuckElias Thu Sep 25, 2003 05:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BOBBYMO
Chuck-

Is It B's ball at 1/2 court or at the P.O.I?

Fed and NCAA Men's -- midcourt.
NCAA Women's -- POI

Good catch, Bobby.

Lotto Thu Sep 25, 2003 06:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
NCAA Women's -- POI
For a flagrant foul, the penaly is two shots and the ball at the designated spot nearest where the foul occurred. This is not POI.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1