![]() |
traveling/jump stop
Alright im sure this has come up in different forms multiple times but here goes
As im aware these three things are true 1.If a player gathers the ball with a foot on the floor then proceeds into a jump stop neither foot may pivot (think gather with foot on ground, jump, two feet land at the same time) 2.Doing 1, but with feet landing not in sync is a travel(gather with foot on ground, jump, left-right or right-left) 3.If a player gathers the ball in the air and then lands, either foot can be the pivot foot OR if one lands first that foot is the pivot foot if what is above is correct, then how is this harden step back legal? he gathers with his right foot on the ground then lands on his left then puts his right down then shoots https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-90z...outu.be&t=117s 1:57 if the link time stamp fails |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Believe that others have addressed that the wording or phrasing of the NBA rule to determine travelling is not the same as any other rule set so most "travel" complaints come from that category.
Also depending on your assignor/assignment the idea of simultaneous can be more or less liberally applied. I've worked for guys who will argue that you can't ever have both feet hit at the same time, something has to hit first and I've worked for others who would say Harden or worse was close enough. |
Just like any other jump stop, it can be difficult to identify when the dribble ended, especially on a quick stepback like this. If it was gathered while he is in the air the staggered landing is legal, if it was gathered while the right foot is clearly planted, then yes it is a travel. But its not getting called unless that gather is very pronounced while the weight is on the right foot. That's just my $.02
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48am. |