The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another should this have been a TC foul--Duke v Yale (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101141-another-should-have-been-tc-foul-duke-v-yale.html)

Nevadaref Sat Mar 19, 2016 02:36pm

Another should this have been a TC foul--Duke v Yale
 
Duke v Yale with 5.5 seconds left in the first half.

Adam Sat Mar 19, 2016 02:52pm

Is there learning value in this video clip if it's retrieved?

Nevadaref Sat Mar 19, 2016 02:55pm

The point is that people don't seem to think of these plays as TC fouls.
The action is a dribbler having the ball knocked away by a defender and then committing a foul prior to either player getting the ball.
I've now seen about four of these in the tournament. Having all of the clips will help stress the point to the officials in my local association.

Raymond Sat Mar 19, 2016 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 984643)
The point is that people don't seem to think of these plays as TC fouls.
The action is a dribbler having the ball knocked away by a defender and then committing a foul prior to either player getting the ball.
I've now seen about four of these in the tournament. Having all of the clips will help stress the point to the officials in my local association.

My last game of the season we pre-gamed this.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

JRutledge Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:16pm

Here is the play
 
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/pMPr37knVFI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Raymond Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:38pm

Another one that should have been a TC foul.

Sharpshooternes Thu Mar 24, 2016 02:17am

Yep


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Rich Thu Mar 24, 2016 10:07am

I've deleted a bunch of posts.

Look, this site is officiating....and official...friendly.

This is not YouTube, this is not Facebook (although there are groups out there that don't tolerate this crap, either), this is not some other site where pointing out every mistake of every official is going to be tolerated.

If a video is posted, it should be for the purposes of making us all better officials. If it doesn't serve that purpose, then don't post about it.

Those who feel they need to post perceived errors with glee or an expression of schadenfreude or a "gotcha" mindset should just not bother.

Adam's posts were a specific response to a specific poster whose only purpose here was to point out all of the errors that he thought were made. It grew tiresome, we decided to end it, he ran a stop sign, he will return sometime after the Final Four. Anyone who wishes to join him on the RV can feel free to follow the same pattern.

jpgc99 Thu Mar 24, 2016 10:24am

Back to the video, I'm not seeing a foul here. While the ball is loose, I see two players going for the ball and making incidental contact. What is the illegal contact here?

JeffM Thu Mar 24, 2016 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpgc99 (Post 985055)
Back to the video, I'm not seeing a foul here. While the ball is loose, I see two players going for the ball and making incidental contact. What is the illegal contact here?

I see white #3 having the ball knocked away. White #3 does not go immediately to the ball but instead holds black.

Especially in men's leagues, I have had players say that contact (such as pushing an opposing player) should not be a foul because it was a loose ball.

I believe the teaching point is that white still has team-control since black had not secured control. Therefore, a foul by white going for the loose ball is still a Team-Control foul and free throws should not have been awarded.

jpgc99 Thu Mar 24, 2016 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JeffM (Post 985057)
I see white #3 having the ball knocked away. White #3 does not go immediately to the ball but instead holds black.

Especially in men's leagues, I have had players say that contact (such as pushing an opposing player) should not be a foul because it was a loose ball.

I believe the teaching point is that white still has team-control since black had not secured control. Therefore, a foul by white going for the loose ball is still a Team-Control foul and free throws should not have been awarded.

Yes, I agree that if there is a foul it is a team-control foul, but I'm just not seeing the illegal contact from this angle. I don't see any impact to the other players freedom of movement.

JeffM Thu Mar 24, 2016 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpgc99 (Post 985058)
Yes, I agree that if there is a foul it is a team-control foul, but I'm just not seeing the illegal contact from this angle. I don't see any impact to the other players freedom of movement.

He definitely was able to play through the contact.

Adam Thu Mar 24, 2016 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpgc99 (Post 985058)
Yes, I agree that if there is a foul it is a team-control foul, but I'm just not seeing the illegal contact from this angle. I don't see any impact to the other players freedom of movement.

Watching the video, I probably don't call that unless things have been getting chippy. Even then, though, this isn't likely a call that's going to clean up the game.

As for TC, I have to assume the official on the floor considered black to have gained control. It's dubious, and he may think otherwise looking at video.

jpgc99 Thu Mar 24, 2016 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 985068)
Watching the video, I probably don't call that unless things have been getting chippy. Even then, though, this isn't likely a call that's going to clean up the game.

As for TC, I have to assume the official on the floor considered black to have gained control. It's dubious, and he may think otherwise looking at video.

Yes, I agree with this. I'm really trying to spend time this off-season reviewing plays and differentiating between incidental contact and illegal contact. I think this is a great play to review, and it would be one that upon review, I would not want a whistle here, but I wanted to get other opinions.

Adam Thu Mar 24, 2016 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpgc99 (Post 985072)
Yes, I agree with this. I'm really trying to spend time this off-season reviewing plays and differentiating between incidental contact and illegal contact. I think this is a great play to review, and it would be one that upon review, I would not want a whistle here, but I wanted to get other opinions.

I think that's a great way to approach the play and video in general from NCAA games. I want to see these videos for two reasons.

1. To see how the folks working at that level are calling it.
But more importantly and more significantly:
2. To see more plays and be able to figure out angles and anticipate situations that can help me get into better position to make proper calls.

There's a third reason that stems from my baseball playing days in my youth. When I played baseball, I would anticipate plays in my head and what I would do with the ball if it was hit to me in certain situations. I would envision those plays so that when they happened, my body was reflexive. It reduced my response time. I get the same benefit from reviewing these types of plays.

Raymond Thu Mar 24, 2016 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 985068)
Watching the video, I probably don't call that unless things have been getting chippy. Even then, though, this isn't likely a call that's going to clean up the game.
...

Any chance to call a foul on Grayson Allen is cleaning up the game.:D

BoomerSooner Thu Mar 24, 2016 12:47pm

My initial thought while watching the video the first time was that the question was if there should have been a TC foul against Yale as it looked like the Yale player had extended his left arm into the Duke player to create space. I'm not sure I would have called anything, but that is what I thought I was supposed to be looking at based on the question and the video.

After watching the entire video and realizing what call was made and what the question actually was in the OP, I re-watched the video and am not of the belief that black had gained possession when the call was made. For that reason, I'm with those that would have considered this a TC foul against Duke. I also realize that if I originally thought the Yale player had stolen the ball and then pushed the Duke player when I first watched the video that it is possible the game official considered the Yale player to have possession.

I guess as far as learning something from this, my thought is that sometimes plays aren't black and white and that is why we still need experienced officials to make judgement calls like this. If we grant other officials the benefit of the doubt on the judgement aspect of calls (and remember they don't get to watch it 3 or 4 times like I did), I think we'll realize that they are going to apply the rules correctly almost without fail at this level. We can also disagree with and discuss the judgement aspect of the call as well, but if that is the context of the discussion, I don't think it is fair to criticize the application of the rules (in this case the awarding of FTs) without acknowledging that the actual game official may have assessed the play differently.

I'd point out that the uncertainty about when/if possession changed in this case makes using this video for Nevada's purpose of stressing that loose ball fouls by A are still TC fouls a bit of a challenge. If you are decidedly in the camp that Yale had not gained possession, then it is a good example to make his point. Otherwise, I bet you find more debate about the issue of possession than discussion on TC fouls.

HokiePaul Thu Mar 24, 2016 12:49pm

So is this a correctable error situation for awarding unmerited FTs, or is the official just making an (incorrect) judgement call that the defender had possession prior to the foul?

Adam Thu Mar 24, 2016 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 985077)
Any chance to call a foul on Grayson Allen is cleaning up the game.:D

I have no argument against this.

Adam Thu Mar 24, 2016 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 985083)
So is this a correctable error situation for awarding unmerited FTs, or is the official just making an (incorrect) judgement call that the defender had possession prior to the foul?

Without talking to the official, it's impossible to say.

BigCat Thu Mar 24, 2016 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 985083)
So is this a correctable error situation for awarding unmerited FTs, or is the official just making an (incorrect) judgement call that the defender had possession prior to the foul?

We don't know that without speaking to the official. If he believed blacks push of the ball was a dribble/possession then it is judgment and not a correctable error. FT is proper under rules. (Even if you think he is factually wrong.) If the coach goes to the table within the time limits after something like this happens, the officials get together and the calling official says, "you know what, i had a brain cramp. i wasn't saying it was possession." This would be a correctable error. An unmerited free throw was given.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1