![]() |
Cincinnati and St. Joseph last play of the game.
This final play is full of fun stuff. Cinci player goes up for a dunk off the pass with less than a second less. He puts it down to tie the game and send it to overtime, but time expires. After review, the bucket is wiped away. They lose by two. The part that kind of bothered me is that I thought he should have been shooting 2 for head contact on the attempted blocked shot. Thoughts on this?
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
Let me ask you this? Would have noticed it, or at least been sure of it, in real time?
I think it was a foul, but I can understand how it was passed on because it's the kind of foul that you might not be sure about, and in that situation especially you need high certainty to make the call. And of course you can't use replay to upgrade a no-call to a non-flagrant foul, so c'est la vie. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I think it's presumptuous to assume that two officials abandoned their primary and ball-watched in this situation. There was a lot of stuff to watch under the basket immediately leading up to the dunk attempt. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Buzzer Beater ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
Why would the clock still be running between the foul and the release? I think you are thinking of the case of a foul on an airborne shooter. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Quote:
AR114 On a foul that occurs near the expiration of time, officials must determine that the clock did not stop when the whistle sounded either because a timing mistake occurred or because it was so near the expiration of time that the timer is unable the stop the clock. If it's a timing mistake then count the bucket and put time back on. If its the latter then basket doesn't count and award 2 FTs. Quote:
Contact to the head is NOT marginal contact and the NCAA and NFHS has said so repeatedly. You can think that's the case but you are flat out wrong. |
Horn ???
Quote:
Quote:
|
It Could Happen ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
IF, in NCAAW, there is a monitor and the whistle was before the horn, put that time back up on the clock, count the basket, shoot 1 FT. I *think* the NCAAM rule is (substantially) the same. |
NFHS Horn ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk |
Curiosity Killed The Cat ...
Quote:
|
The NCAA ruling a few years ago was to use the monitor to restore the clock to the time of the contact for the foul and it did not matter whether the whistle was sounded before or after the horn. All that mattered was that the contact occurred prior to the expiration of time.
Perhaps one of our current NCAAM officials will come verify it that is still the case or if it has changed. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
And it's why I said the rulings were "(substantially) the same." |
Here is a play that can be embedded.
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/UypOPV2zoVs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10pm. |