The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Oct 23, 2000, 11:03pm
Official Forum Member

Hey guys!
I'm currently a freshman in Hillsboro High School.
What tips can you give me to improve my game?
Like take 500 shots every day? Or maybe some special drills?
Old Tue Oct 24, 2000, 09:13am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
This is a great site

http://bbhighway.telebasket.com/

Have fun & good luck!

Dan
Old Tue Oct 24, 2000, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member

1) If you made the freshman team, ask your coach what he wants you to develop and how, then do what he suggests if you want to improve your game, get more playing time, and move to the next level (JV/varsity).
2) If you are trying to make your team and failed, ask what you need to work on to make it next time.
3) If you haven't yet had tryouts, you may want to approach the coach in advance and ask what his priorities and expectations are, and use that to guide you in preparing. If you don't feel comfortable with this, at least make sure you are 100% fit, play some playround ball against better players, practice your basic skills, make sure you can nail layups at full speed - I know many coaches (rightly or wrongly) who drop kids right away when they can't hit a layup, and come in mentally focussed to give your all for the entire tryout. After tryouts, refer to 1) and 2).

If you serious about your hoops, talking to coaches about your game and showing a willingness to improve where they suggest is the best way to get where you want to be. No guarantees, but it's a good place to start. The coach will notice and you will probably end up working on the kind of things that coaches look for in players.