The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Purdue @ Indiana Plays (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100957-purdue-indiana-plays.html)

deecee Wed Feb 24, 2016 04:31pm

Here we are told 10-4-1 all day too. That arm bar was extended and much like 2 hands, or constant jabbing is "supposed" to be an automatic.

Armbar NOT withstanding that push off isn't minor and by itself is a PC foul. You have full extension by the ball handler into the defender to clear space (and a lot of it).

Most likely I would have the PC as well versus the handcheck simply for the fact that while I was processing 10-4-1 the push happened and it was WAY more obvious.

Camron Rust Thu Feb 25, 2016 02:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 982251)
Here we are told 10-4-1 all day too. That arm bar was extended and much like 2 hands, or constant jabbing is "supposed" to be an automatic.

Armbar NOT withstanding that push off isn't minor and by itself is a PC foul. You have full extension by the ball handler into the defender to clear space (and a lot of it).

Most likely I would have the PC as well versus the handcheck simply for the fact that while I was processing 10-4-1 the push happened and it was WAY more obvious.

Absent the contact from the defender's arm (yes, that was an armbar anyway yo slice it), you probably wouldn't have the pushoff. Call the first foul. I'm not calling the PC if I'm not calling the armbar.

JRutledge Thu Feb 25, 2016 02:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 982294)
Absent the contact from the defender's arm (yes, that was an armbar anyway yo slice it), you probably wouldn't have the pushoff. Call the first foul. I'm not calling the PC if I'm not calling the armbar.

Here is the Men's Rules

10-1-4
  • a. Keeping a hand or forearm on an opponent
  • b. Putting two hands on an opponent
  • c. Continually jabbing an opponent by extending an arm(s) and placing a hand or forearm on the opponent
  • d. Using an arm bar to impede the progress of the dribbler

None of these rules references happened on this play. The arm did not in any way impede the progress of the dribbler. He was going in one direction and he never was prevented from going in that direction.

The rule does not say "touching" is a foul. The contact has to do something. Even "b" has to be the defender actively putting their hands on the dribbler, not just retreating your hands that are likely in front of your body.

Now if you can show me a bulletin example I might agree with you. But I have not seen any such reference that suggest this play is a foul.

Peace

deecee Thu Feb 25, 2016 08:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 982294)
Absent the contact from the defender's arm (yes, that was an armbar anyway yo slice it), you probably wouldn't have the pushoff. Call the first foul. I'm not calling the PC if I'm not calling the armbar.

2 wrongs don't make a right and that pushoff is pretty advantageous and severe.

jpgc99 Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 982296)
Here is the Men's Rules

10-1-4
  • a. Keeping a hand or forearm on an opponent
  • b. Putting two hands on an opponent
  • c. Continually jabbing an opponent by extending an arm(s) and placing a hand or forearm on the opponent
  • d. Using an arm bar to impede the progress of the dribbler

None of these rules references happened on this play. The arm did not in any way impede the progress of the dribbler. He was going in one direction and he never was prevented from going in that direction.

The rule does not say "touching" is a foul. The contact has to do something. Even "b" has to be the defender actively putting their hands on the dribbler, not just retreating your hands that are likely in front of your body.

Now if you can show me a bulletin example I might agree with you. But I have not seen any such reference that suggest this play is a foul.

Peace

I agree 100% with everything JRut wrote. Touching is not a foul. I do not see any illegal contact initiated by the defense.

Camron Rust Thu Feb 25, 2016 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 982311)
2 wrongs don't make a right and that pushoff is pretty advantageous and severe.

A defender putting his arm out across the front of the dribbler is one of the thing that they want called....preventing the freedom of movement. I don't blame offensive players from pushing off if they are illegally being held back.

JRutledge Thu Feb 25, 2016 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 982331)
A defender putting his arm out across the front of the dribbler is one of the thing that they want called....preventing the freedom of movement. I don't blame offensive players from pushing off if they are illegally being held back.

OK and you call that and you will feel better.

Peace

Camron Rust Thu Feb 25, 2016 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 982332)
OK and you call that and you will feel better.

Peace

It is not about feeling better. It is about calling what I'm told to call.

JRutledge Thu Feb 25, 2016 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 982340)
It is not about feeling better. It is about calling what I'm told to call.

Well I work college and I have not been told to call that. And I am still looking for the video that suggests this particular play is a foul that must be called. All the videos I see the arm extends and stays extended, not just a touch when nothing is changed. And the NCAA has the "cylinder" philosophy and this did not even violate that principle.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1