The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   after made basket throw in scenario (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100914-after-made-basket-throw-scenario.html)

eyezen Thu Feb 18, 2016 09:28am

after made basket throw in scenario
 
NCAAM

Situation team A scores basket

Player B1 grabs ball and heads OOB of for throw-in, however passes to B2 BEFORE getting OOB (ends up OOB after pass) who heads up court

Correct Remedy

1) call immediate violation
2) kill play - issue DOG and redo throw in
3) wait till a five count and call violation

deecee Thu Feb 18, 2016 09:31am

This is an immediate violation.

eyezen Thu Feb 18, 2016 09:38am

Thanks - rule/case reference?

BlueDevilRef Thu Feb 18, 2016 09:46am

I believe this is an immediate violation in all rule sets

eyezen Thu Feb 18, 2016 09:49am

This scenario was given to me by text this morning - I told him violation as well but we're looking for rule reference

Raymond Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 981421)
NCAAM

Situation team A scores basket

Player B1 grabs ball and heads OOB of for throw-in, however passes to B2 BEFORE getting OOB (ends up OOB after pass) who heads up court

..

What happened after B2 received the ball, I'm not clear by this description.

eyezen Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:54am

I'm not having any luck embedding and the video is awful but this is what was texted to me

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bAyuAJhCszs

Raymond Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 981445)
I'm not having any luck embedding and the video is awful but this is what was texted to me

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bAyuAJhCszs

It's a private video, won't let me view it.

BigCat Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 981421)
NCAAM

Situation team A scores basket

Player B1 grabs ball and heads OOB of for throw-in, however passes to B2 BEFORE getting OOB (ends up OOB after pass) who heads up court

Correct Remedy

1) call immediate violation
2) kill play - issue DOG and redo throw in
3) wait till a five count and call violation

You won't find anything specific in NCAAM rules or casebook like the fed has in its book. Rule 9 does require the throw in to be thrown "directly INTO the court." The player has to be out of bounds first to do that as we know. If the player is close to the end line when he gets the ball i might start a count. It depends on where he passes the ball and if it appears to me that another player is coming back to make the throw in. If its clear by the actions of the players that the ball isn't being passed to another player for him to make the throw in i'll call the violation. I don't think i have to wait 5 seconds if it is obvious he isn't throwing the ball to someone else so that they can throw it in.
I will make sure though that they have abandoned the throw in before calling it.

eyezen Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 981446)
It's a private video, won't let me view it.

Try now

BigCat Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 981448)
Try now

He's obviously TRYING to make a throw in as opposed to passing it to another player so that he can take it out. The video is grainy but if the ball left his fingertips before his foot hit out of bounds it's a violation. I want to be sure before calling it. If it is obvious I will call it then. not wait for a 5 count.

eyezen Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 981451)
He's obviously TRYING to make a throw in as opposed to passing it to another player so that he can take it out. The video is grainy but if the ball left his fingertips before his foot hit out of bounds it's a violation. I want to be sure before calling it. If it is obvious I will call it then. not wait for a 5 count.

The calling official told me there is no question B1 was not OOB when the ball was released to B2. You can't see much but you can see the call on the court is an immediate violation - that is my opinion as well as to the proper ruling.

I've scoured the NCAAM book, a FED rule/case reference will work too

Adam Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 981451)
He's obviously TRYING to make a throw in as opposed to passing it to another player so that he can take it out. The video is grainy but if the ball left his fingertips before his foot hit out of bounds it's a violation. I want to be sure before calling it. If it is obvious I will call it then. not wait for a 5 count.

If what's obvious?

BigCat Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 981456)
If what's obvious?

I want to be certain it is a violation before calling. Not going to split hairs on this. Obvious to me that it is a violation.

BigCat Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 981454)
The calling official told me there is no question B1 was not OOB when the ball was released to B2. You can't see much but you can see the call on the court is an immediate violation - that is my opinion as well as to the proper ruling.

I've scoured the NCAAM book, a FED rule/case reference will work too

I was thinking your play was a player taking the ball out of the net and simply passing it up the floor. There's a fed case play about that. This play is different. You just go by basic throw in rule and violation rule. If he is attempting to make a throw in and doesn't do it correctly it is a violation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1