The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   How do your Correct the error (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100904-how-do-your-correct-error.html)

Zoochy Tue Feb 16, 2016 01:55pm

How do your Correct the error
 
A1 is awarded two free throws. After the first freethrow, B1 rebounds the ball and goes to the other end and scores. Before the ball is at the disposal for Team A, The officials then realize that A1 was not awarded is second freethrow. The officials count the basket by B1. They then go to the other end and Award A1 the second freethrow. A1 makes the second and the officials then award the ball back to team B.
Were the officials correct? What's the ruling

BigCat Tue Feb 16, 2016 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 981191)
A1 is awarded two free throws. After the first freethrow, B1 rebounds the ball and goes to the other end and scores. Before the ball is at the disposal for Team A, The officials then realize that A1 was not awarded is second freethrow. The officials count the basket by B1. They then go to the other end and Award A1 the second freethrow. A1 makes the second and the officials then award the ball back to team B.
Were the officials correct? What's the ruling

The basket by B counts. They should go and shoot A1s other free throw with no one on the lane. Then the ball is given to A because B made the basket. that is the POI. So if they gave the ball to B after the FT they did not do it correctly. You go to the POI because the made basket by B constitutes a change of possession. 2-10-6

Dad Tue Feb 16, 2016 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 981191)
A1 is awarded two free throws. After the first freethrow, B1 rebounds the ball and goes to the other end and scores. Before the ball is at the disposal for Team A, The officials then realize that A1 was not awarded is second freethrow. The officials count the basket by B1. They then go to the other end and Award A1 the second freethrow. A1 makes the second and the officials then award the ball back to team B.
Were the officials correct? What's the ruling

Pretty sure they were wrong no matter what.

Change of possession = POI which would've been A's ball.

No change of possession = line the players up like any other FT.

Giving the ball to B was the worst option?

deecee Tue Feb 16, 2016 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 981193)
The basket by B counts. They should go and shoot A1s other free throw with no one on the lane. Then the ball is given to A because B made the basket. that is the POI. So if they gave the ball to B after the FT they did not do it correctly. You go to the POI because the made basket by B constitutes a change of possession. 2-10-6

This is the correct administration.

DrPete Tue Feb 16, 2016 03:09pm

After the initial free throw, did all the players attempt to rebound? Or was B1 the only one who made an initial attempt to secure the rebound? If the other players, knowing that the ball would be dead after the first free throw, did not go for the rebound or try to play defense, how do you justify the basket by B? I know what the case play says, but the original situation needs more details.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

SD Referee Tue Feb 16, 2016 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 981191)
A1 is awarded two free throws. After the first freethrow, B1 rebounds the ball and goes to the other end and scores. Before the ball is at the disposal for Team A, The officials then realize that A1 was not awarded is second freethrow. The officials count the basket by B1. They then go to the other end and Award A1 the second freethrow. A1 makes the second and the officials then award the ball back to team B.
Were the officials correct? What's the ruling

I guess my only question/comment is how does a crew of 2 or 3 guys allow this to happen? Some of the situations that are asked about just blow my mind. How does this stuff happen?

Adam Tue Feb 16, 2016 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DrPete (Post 981213)
After the initial free throw, did all the players attempt to rebound? Or was B1 the only one who made an initial attempt to secure the rebound? If the other players, knowing that the ball would be dead after the first free throw, did not go for the rebound or try to play defense, how do you justify the basket by B? I know what the case play says, but the original situation needs more details.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Even if B1 is the only one to do anything, if no one blows the whistle until after he scores, there's no much justification to cancel the score.

We can only fix so much.

BillyMac Tue Feb 16, 2016 03:42pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DrPete (Post 981213)
After the initial free throw, did all the players attempt to rebound? Or was B1 the only one who made an initial attempt to secure the rebound? If the other players, knowing that the ball would be dead after the first free throw, did not go for the rebound or try to play defense, how do you justify the basket by B?

8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw
situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that
two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is
rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another
throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw;
or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound.
The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's
error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and
didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and
resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an
attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to
gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3)

Zoochy Tue Feb 16, 2016 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DrPete (Post 981213)
After the initial free throw, did all the players attempt to rebound? Or was B1 the only one who made an initial attempt to secure the rebound? If the other players, knowing that the ball would be dead after the first free throw, did not go for the rebound or try to play defense, how do you justify the basket by B? I know what the case play says, but the original situation needs more details.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Sorry, I do not have anymore details. A fellow official asked if I could post the play on this site. I just copied what he wrote. I guess, assume other players attempted to grab the rebound.
I do not know what level of competition for this game.

Adam Tue Feb 16, 2016 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 981227)
Sorry, I do not have anymore details. A fellow official asked if I could post the play on this site. I just copied what he wrote. I guess, assume other players attempted to grab the rebound.
I do not know what level of competition for this game.

Assuming everyone played the rebound, then they should have had A1 shoot his 2nd FT with the lane cleared, then given A the ball for an end-line throw-in following B's basket.

You cannot count B's basket AND give B the ball.

TimTaylor Wed Feb 17, 2016 02:14am

OK, let's look at this another way. This wasn't a 1+1 situation as described in BillyMac's case reference regarding incorrect instructions from an official on a 1+1 - not even remotely close.

1. Per the OP's situation as described, A1 was awarded 2 free throws.

2. Per 7-2-a, the ball becomes dead when it is apparent that a free throw will not be successful on a free throw which is to be followed by another free throw. It's automatically dead - there is nothing that requires an official's whistle.

3. Now let's look at 5-1: A goal is made when a live ball enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through.

As the ball was immediately dead after A1's miss on the first FT attempt per 7-2-a, B1 can't possibly score because it is not a goal per 5-1.

The correct ruling is to disallow/cancel the "goal" by B1 and line everyone up for A1's 2nd attempt.

JetMetFan Wed Feb 17, 2016 07:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 981252)
1. Per the OP's situation as described, A1 was awarded 2 free throws.

2. Per 7-2-a, the ball becomes dead when it is apparent that a free throw will not be successful on a free throw which is to be followed by another free throw. It's automatically dead - there is nothing that requires an official's whistle.

3. Now let's look at 5-1: A goal is made when a live ball enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through.

As the ball was immediately dead after A1's miss on the first FT attempt per 7-2-a, B1 can't possibly score because it is not a goal per 5-1.

The correct ruling is to disallow/cancel the "goal" by B1 and line everyone up for A1's 2nd attempt.

Sometimes we try to make calculus out of basic arithmetic.

One of the five correctable errors is failure to award a merited FT. What generally happens after we fail to award a merited FT? The ball becomes live. That's why it's an error in the first place. If we mess up in terms of applying NF 7-2a then NF 2-10 and its conditions kick in to correct things.

BryanV21 Wed Feb 17, 2016 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 981252)
OK, let's look at this another way. This wasn't a 1+1 situation as described in BillyMac's case reference regarding incorrect instructions from an official on a 1+1 - not even remotely close.

1. Per the OP's situation as described, A1 was awarded 2 free throws.

2. Per 7-2-a, the ball becomes dead when it is apparent that a free throw will not be successful on a free throw which is to be followed by another free throw. It's automatically dead - there is nothing that requires an official's whistle.

3. Now let's look at 5-1: A goal is made when a live ball enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through.

As the ball was immediately dead after A1's miss on the first FT attempt per 7-2-a, B1 can't possibly score because it is not a goal per 5-1.

The correct ruling is to disallow/cancel the "goal" by B1 and line everyone up for A1's 2nd attempt.

The rule book lays out how to handle not awarding a merited free throw, and that doesn't include canceling the score by Team B.

In fact, and I don't have my rule book handy, I believe it says something like "everything that happens before the error is found, including scoring, is not cancelled."

deecee Wed Feb 17, 2016 09:50am

Did the officials announce 1-1 or 2 shots?

TimTaylor Wed Feb 17, 2016 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 981258)
Did the officials announce 1-1 or 2 shots?

Not clear - the OP states "A1 is awarded 2 free throws", and there is nothing in the post to imply they announced only 1, so without information to the contrary we have to assume they announced it correctly.

BigCat Wed Feb 17, 2016 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 981252)
OK, let's look at this another way. This wasn't a 1+1 situation as described in BillyMac's case reference regarding incorrect instructions from an official on a 1+1 - not even remotely close.

1. Per the OP's situation as described, A1 was awarded 2 free throws.

2. Per 7-2-a, the ball becomes dead when it is apparent that a free throw will not be successful on a free throw which is to be followed by another free throw. It's automatically dead - there is nothing that requires an official's whistle.

3. Now let's look at 5-1: A goal is made when a live ball enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through.

As the ball was immediately dead after A1's miss on the first FT attempt per 7-2-a, B1 can't possibly score because it is not a goal per 5-1.

The correct ruling is to disallow/cancel the "goal" by B1 and line everyone up for A1's 2nd attempt.

The ball is dead when the FT is missed and is supposed to remain dead until the ball at disposal for next free throw. However, when everyone screws up, doesn't recognize that fact and lets play continue…that IS the correctable error. Play went on, clock started, basket made…. "points scored, consumed time and additional activity…prior to recognition of error SHALL NOT be NULLIFIED. 2-10-5

B basket counts. A gets its FT with no one on lane and ball for end line throw in.

so cal lurker Wed Feb 17, 2016 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 981252)
OK, let's look at this another way. This wasn't a 1+1 situation as described in BillyMac's case reference regarding incorrect instructions from an official on a 1+1 - not even remotely close.

1. Per the OP's situation as described, A1 was awarded 2 free throws.

2. Per 7-2-a, the ball becomes dead when it is apparent that a free throw will not be successful on a free throw which is to be followed by another free throw. It's automatically dead - there is nothing that requires an official's whistle.

3. Now let's look at 5-1: A goal is made when a live ball enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through.

As the ball was immediately dead after A1's miss on the first FT attempt per 7-2-a, B1 can't possibly score because it is not a goal per 5-1.

The correct ruling is to disallow/cancel the "goal" by B1 and line everyone up for A1's 2nd attempt.

Clever, but by this reasoning, if they played for five minutes, both scoring multiple times, we would still go back and erase everything because the ball was dead. I don't think that is what the rules intend. In the OP, regardless of what was announced, the players played and the officials let them play. Precisely what correctable error rules are fol.

TimTaylor Wed Feb 17, 2016 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 981257)
The rule book lays out how to handle not awarding a merited free throw, and that doesn't include canceling the score by Team B.

In fact, and I don't have my rule book handy, I believe it says something like "everything that happens before the error is found, including scoring, is not cancelled."

That only applies to any ensuing action after the ball becomes live subsequent to a correctable error.

Read the OP - break it into a sequence:
1. A1 is awarded 2 free throws
2. After the first free throw, B1 rebounds the ball and goes to the other end and scores.

Now look at the applicable rules:
1. By rule, the ball becomes immediately dead when it is clear the first free throw attempt will be unsuccessful if a second attempt is to follow.
2. By rule, a goal can only be scored when the ball is live.

Finally, review the rules on how a ball can become live, and tell us how a ball that is dead by rule after the first FT is missed suddenly becomes live again so B1 could take it down court and score. Please provide a rule citation.

The only way the ball would remain live after the miss on the first attempt is if the officials erroneously indicated only one free throw, and there is absolutely nothing in the OP to support that.

BigCat Wed Feb 17, 2016 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 981269)
That only applies to any ensuing action after the ball becomes live subsequent to a correctable error.

Read the OP - break it into a sequence:
1. A1 is awarded 2 free throws
2. After the first free throw, B1 rebounds the ball and goes to the other end and scores.

Now look at the applicable rules:
1. By rule, the ball becomes immediately dead when it is clear the first free throw attempt will be unsuccessful if a second attempt is to follow.
2. By rule, a goal can only be scored when the ball is live.

Finally, review the rules on how a ball can become live, and tell us how a ball that is dead by rule after the first FT is missed suddenly becomes live again so B1 could take it down court and score. Please provide a rule citation.

The only way the ball would remain live after the miss on the first attempt is if the officials erroneously indicated only one free throw, and there is absolutely nothing in the OP to support that.

It doesn't matter what the official indicates. The fact is the player was supposed to get 2 shots and didn't. Call it whatever you want---ball comes back to life..etc. When the officials, scorer, timer etc all screw up and play goes on that is the error. They did not give the player his second FT.

2-10-5. consumed time, points scored etc is not nullified. read the rule and the case plays.

Tim, If we follow your argument …the ball is dead after the first FT and remains dead, then how would it ever be alive again? Play could go on for another 2 quarters…but the ball was dead after the first FT. Your argument renders the portion of the rule which says the error must be recognized during the first dead ball after the clock has started meaningless. A shoots the first FT, officials let play continue, clock starts…but your analysis says the ball is still dead. The ball is supposed to be dead or remain dead after the first FT but when it doesn't that is the error.

TimTaylor Wed Feb 17, 2016 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 981263)
The ball is dead when the FT is missed and is supposed to remain dead until the ball at disposal for next free throw. However, when everyone screws up, doesn't recognize that fact and lets play continue…that IS the correctable error. Play went on, clock started, basket made…. "points scored, consumed time and additional activity…prior to recognition of error SHALL NOT be NULLIFIED. 2-10-5

B basket counts. A gets its FT with no one on lane and ball for end line throw in.

Please re-read the OP - this was an immediate sequence of events. Play didn't continue. B1 grabbed a ball that was dead by rule and ran down court to score. The situation was recognized immediately before the ball would have become live at the disposal of A.

Please review the rule on how a ball can become live and provide a rule citation how the dead ball on the miss suddenly became live so B1 could score.

The only way would be if the officials erroneously indicated only 1 free throw when there should have been two, and there is absolutely nothing in the OP to support this.

BigCat Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 981272)
Please re-read the OP - this was an immediate sequence of events. Play didn't continue. B1 grabbed a ball that was dead by rule and ran down court to score. The situation was recognized immediately before the ball would have become live at the disposal of A.

Please review the rule on how a ball can become live and provide a rule citation how the dead ball on the miss suddenly became live so B1 could score.

The only way would be if the officials erroneously indicated only 1 free throw when there should have been two, and there is absolutely nothing in the OP to support this.

Play didn't continue? B got the rebound, clock started…B dribbled to the other end and scored. You also say "the situation was recognized immediately before the ball would have become live at the disposal of A." If the ball was dead and remained dead after the first FT, even though the players continued on, clock started..How would the ball become live when at the disposal of A? Under your thinking B shot a dead ball into the basket…why would it become live when at A's disposal?

When the play involves failure to award a merited Ft and the officials allow play to continue, clock to run…they are treating the ball as live. B dribbling down to the other end is a live ball..clock started. When B makes the basket…that is the first dead ball after the clock started. When the ball is at As disposal it is live again... too late to correct the error.

If everything goes according to plan the ball is dead after the first FT but when there is a screwup and they don't treat the ball as dead the rules change. The language the official chooses, one shot or two, doesn't affect the situation. If the player is supposed to get two and doesn't…play goes on…that is the error and the ball is treated as live.

TimTaylor Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 981271)
Tim, If we follow your argument …the ball is dead after the first FT and remains dead, then how would it ever be alive again? Play could go on for another 2 quarters…but the ball was dead after the first FT. Your argument renders the portion of the rule which says the error must be recognized during the first dead ball after the clock has started meaningless. A shoots the first FT, officials let play continue, clock starts…but your analysis says the ball is still dead. The ball is supposed to be dead or remain dead after the first FT but when it doesn't that is the error.

Not true - see the rule on how a ball can become live.

Did the clock start? nothing in the OP says it did....even if it did, the clock starting does not make the ball live.

Again, please provide a rule citation on how the dead ball on the miss suddenly became live so B1 could run down court and score.

The correctable error rule specifies how, when and what you may correct when play has resumed before a correctable error is recognized. That's not the situation in the OP - play never resumed.

bob jenkins Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 981262)
Not clear - the OP states "A1 is awarded 2 free throws", and there is nothing in the post to imply they announced only 1, so without information to the contrary we have to assume they announced it correctly.

See 2.10.1G where "erroneously the ball is allowed to remain in play." That sounds a lot like the OP.

BigCat Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 981277)
Not true - see the rule on how a ball can become live.

Did the clock start? nothing in the OP says it did....even if it did, the clock starting does not make the ball live.

Again, please provide a rule citation on how the dead ball on the miss suddenly became live so B1 could run down court and score.

The correctable error rule specifies how, when and what you may correct when play has resumed before a correctable error is recognized. That's not the situation in the OP - play never resumed.

Well Tim, I am assuming the clock started and others played and the officials allowed play to continue. The question is about correctable errors. If everybody knows and recognizes there is another FT to come…and B1 gets rebound, dribbles, to the other end and shoots it…we would be talking about a technical foul.

TimTaylor Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 981281)
...... If everybody knows and recognizes there is another FT to come…and B1 gets rebound, dribbles, to the other end and shoots it…we would be talking about a technical foul.

From the OP it sounds to me like that's exactly what happened. " After the first freethrow, B1 rebounds the ball and goes to the other end and scores."

Don't think I'd go with a T - just consider it a brain fart on the part of B1, disregard his "goal" and proceed with A1's 2nd FT.

Now if he went to the other end and dunked the ball, we might have a T for dunking a dead ball.....

BryanV21 Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:41pm

Tim sounds an awful lot like another member of this forum that was too stubborn to listen to veteran officials tell him he was wrong over, and over, and over...

I can't remember that guy's name. ;)

BigCat Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 981286)
From the OP it sounds to me like that's exactly what happened. " After the first freethrow, B1 rebounds the ball and goes to the other end and scores."

Don't think I'd go with a T - just consider it a brain fart on the part of B1, disregard his "goal" and proceed with A1's 2nd FT.

Now if he went to the other end and dunked the ball, we might have a T for dunking a dead ball.....

Tim,
That's not what the OP meant. He was asking about a correctable error. If officials know and recognize there's another FT they would have blown whistle when B started dribbling. Had they recognized it they wouldn't have allowed him to dribble all the way down the court and shoot.

And.. if I blew my whistle after a FT and a kid continued on down the floor and didn't stop there would certainly be a T.

so cal lurker Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 981286)
From the OP it sounds to me like that's exactly what happened. " After the first freethrow, B1 rebounds the ball and goes to the other end and scores."

Don't think I'd go with a T - just consider it a brain fart on the part of B1, disregard his "goal" and proceed with A1's 2nd FT.

Now if he went to the other end and dunked the ball, we might have a T for dunking a dead ball.....

If he started dribbling and the officials knew the ball was dead, don't you think they would have simply blown a whistle and pulled him back before he dribbled the whole length of the floor? The OP only makes sense if the officials were also permitting play to take place.

TimTaylor Wed Feb 17, 2016 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 981288)
Tim,
That's not what the OP meant. He was asking about a correctable error. If officials know and recognize there's another FT they would have blown whistle when B started dribbling. Had they recognized it they wouldn't have allowed him to dribble all the way down the court and shoot.

And.. if I blew my whistle after a FT and a kid continued on down the floor and didn't stop there would certainly be a T.

I agree that they should have blown their whistles, but even if they didn't, the ball is still dead by rule. Just because they didn't stop B1 from dribbling it down court doesn't make the ball live again.

The officials recognized it immediately thereafter - there was no interim play.

Because it was immediate, I maintain that the best way to handle it is to disallow B1's "goal" and proceed with A1's 2nd free throw. I can easily justify that by rule as previously cited.

"Coach, A1 was awarded two free throws. By rule the ball was dead when the first was missed and you can't score a goal when the ball is dead so B1's rebound and goal doesn't count. We're proceeding with A1's 2nd free throw."

Dad Wed Feb 17, 2016 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 981298)
I agree that they should have blown their whistles, but even if they didn't, the ball is still dead by rule. Just because they didn't stop B1 from dribbling it down court doesn't make the ball live again.

The officials recognized it immediately thereafter - there was no interim play.

Because it was immediate, I maintain that the best way to handle it is to disallow B1's "goal" and proceed with A1's 2nd free throw. I can easily justify that by rule as previously cited.

"Coach, A1 was awarded two free throws. By rule the ball was dead when the first was missed and you can't score a goal when the ball is dead so B1's rebound and goal doesn't count. We're proceeding with A1's 2nd free throw."

While the OP is most likely talking about a CE, Tim has a point, albeit probably didn't happen. It has to be an officials error for us to be able to count the shot. Here's a play that isn't a thing: B coach tells his team to quickly rebound the first shot and throw it down for a lay-up in the hopes they can make the basket before the officials blow their whistle.

BigCat Wed Feb 17, 2016 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 981298)
I agree that they should have blown their whistles, but even if they didn't, the ball is still dead by rule. Just because they didn't stop B1 from dribbling it down court doesn't make the ball live again.

The officials recognized it immediately thereafter - there was no interim play.

Because it was immediate, I maintain that the best way to handle it is to disallow B1's "goal" and proceed with A1's 2nd free throw. I can easily justify that by rule as previously cited.

"Coach, A1 was awarded two free throws. By rule the ball was dead when the first was missed and you can't score a goal when the ball is dead so B1's rebound and goal doesn't count. We're proceeding with A1's 2nd free throw."

Tim,

You have effectively taken 2-10-5 and 6 out of the Correctable error rule. Read the case play Bob cited.

Here's what the conversation should be---Both coaches together--"Coaches we screwed up and allowed the ball to remain in play when A1 should have gotten another free throw. The error was discovered in time to correct it. By rule all time that ran off clock, points scored before we stopped play are not nullified. Clock stays where it is at now and B's basket counts. We will shoot A1s other FT with no one on lane and then we will put the ball in play at the point of interruption (where we stopped the game when we realized there was a problem.) That will be a throw in for team A on the end line. That's what the rules require.

Again, sorry for the screw up."

Dad Wed Feb 17, 2016 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 981301)
Tim,

You have effectively taken 2-10-5 and 6 out of the Correctable error rule. Read the case play Bob cited.

Here's what the conversation should be---Both coaches together--"Coaches we screwed up and allowed the ball to remain in play when A1 should have gotten another free throw. The error was discovered in time to correct it. By rule all time that ran off clock, points scored before we stopped play are not nullified. Clock stays where it is at now and B's basket counts. We will shoot A1s other FT with no one on lane and then we will put the ball in play at the point of interruption (where we stopped the game when we realized there was a problem.) That will be a throw in for team A on the end line. That's what the rules require.

Again, sorry for the screw up."

Did the clock start? Did the C forget it was the 1st and chop the clock? Did the officials just watch B wondering what he was doing? Need more information to know if it's a CE or a player just being a goof during dead ball.

BigCat Wed Feb 17, 2016 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 981308)
Did the clock start? Did the C forget it was the 1st and chop the clock? Did the officials just watch B wondering what he was doing? Need more information to know if it's a CE or a player just being a goof during dead ball.

No, you really don't. The title of the OP is how do you correct the ERROR. Again, if a player was just being a goof we would be talking about technical fouls. Not correctable errors.

Dad Wed Feb 17, 2016 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 981309)
No, you really don't. The title of the OP is how do you correct the ERROR. Again, if a player was just being a goof we would be talking about technical fouls. Not correctable errors.

I agree it's probably a CE, but the post leaves out some vital info.

TimTaylor Wed Feb 17, 2016 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 981308)
Did the clock start? Did the C forget it was the 1st and chop the clock? Did the officials just watch B wondering what he was doing? Need more information to know if it's a CE or a player just being a goof during dead ball.

And this has been my point from the beginning.

The rules are very specific on how a ball can become live - it doesn't happen by magic.

If in the OP's situation the officials had not immediately recognized the issue, and after B1's goal had allowed the ball to be at A's disposal for a throw in, then the ball becomes live by rule, there would be interim play and I agree that a CE situation would exist if the error was recognized within the allowable time frame.

I will also agree that there was a CE in the OP's situation, but it wasn't failing to award a merited free throw. The real CE was erroneously counting B1's score, and if A's coach was on the ball, he would challenge it as a correctable error on the basis the ball was dead after the missed first FT, and consequently B1's goal was invalid.

Camron Rust Wed Feb 17, 2016 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 981309)
No, you really don't. The title of the OP is how do you correct the ERROR. Again, if a player was just being a goof we would be talking about technical fouls. Not correctable errors.

I disagree. If everyone except the kid is looking at him like he is a fool, the fact that they let him run down the court and let him shoot doesn't make it a live ball and a correctable error.

If the shots were announced as "2", the officials administered as 2, the other players reacted as 2, and the trial never chopped time in, it is a dead ball....and there really is no "error". You could issue a T, but I wouldn't if I thought the kid just spaced out and kept playing.

BigCat Wed Feb 17, 2016 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 981320)
I disagree. If everyone except the kid is looking at him like he is a fool, the fact that they let him run down the court and let him shoot doesn't make it a live ball and a correctable error.

If the shots were announced as "2", the officials administered as 2, the other players reacted as 2, and the trial never chopped time in, it is a dead ball....and there really is no "error". You could issue a T, but I wouldn't if I thought the kid just spaced out and kept playing.

Again, the Op IS titled how do you correct error. Also, the op has B shoot the ball, it goes in and THEN the officials realize the error. B acting like a clown, dribbling ALL the way down the floor with everyone looking at him isn't part of the OP.

And again, if there's another FT to shoot and B takes off with the ball I will blow the whistle..soon...probably twice. If he continues all the way down the floor and shoots the ball he is getting a T.

Finally, Tim is saying that if the official announces two shots and B rebounds the first FT the ball remains dead even if everyone played all the way down floor...and the officials officiated. He says the ball only becomes live when it is at A1 disposal after B basket. That just isn't true. In correctable error situations the officials allow play to continue and consumed time, points scored are not nullified. The regular dead ball live ball rule does not apply when there is an error.

BryanV21 Wed Feb 17, 2016 04:07pm

By allowing the player from Team B to rebound the 1st FT attempt and go down and score, the officials have essentially made it so the ball became live by error.

And with that we have a correctable error.

TimTaylor Wed Feb 17, 2016 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 981322)
.............Finally, Tim is saying that if the official announces two shots and B rebounds the first FT the ball remains dead even if everyone played all the way down floor...and the officials officiated. He says the ball only becomes live when it is at A1 disposal after B basket. That just isn't true. In correctable error situations the officials allow play to continue and consumed time, points scored are not nullified. The regular dead ball live ball rule does not apply when there is an error.

I understand where you are coming from, but am still waiting for a rules citation that directly supports what you are saying. Show me a ruling that the live ball/dead ball rules don't apply.

By contrast, I can and have provided rules citations that directly support what I have said, including that the officials counting the basket by B1 was the real correctable error in the OP's scenario.

There is also nothing in the OP that says everyone played all the way down the floor and the officials officiated.

The only way that B1's goal was valid is if the officials had awarded one free throw and administered it as such, B1 gets the rebound and scores, and then they realize there should have been a second free throw by A1. In that case the failure to award the 2nd merited free throw would be a CE. In that case any interim action would stand, including B1's goal and any time run off the clock.

TimTaylor Wed Feb 17, 2016 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 981328)
By allowing the player from Team B to rebound the 1st FT attempt and go down and score, the officials have essentially made it so the ball became live by error.

And with that we have a correctable error.

Rule citation?

BryanV21 Wed Feb 17, 2016 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 981332)
Rule citation?

You wrote it... When the officials didn't stop play when they should have the ball was live when the free throw was missed.

That's the error that needs to be corrected.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

deecee Wed Feb 17, 2016 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 981334)
You wrote it... When the officials didn't stop play when they should have the ball was live when the free throw was missed.

That's the error that needs to be corrected.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

THAT'S NOT A CE.

3 scenarios, 2 outcomes

1) The officials announce 2 shots and play as such, and B1 rebounds thinking it was only 1 and goes down and scores a basket while everyone else is just staring at this kid run like a spaz down the court to score.
OUTCOME: Make a joke to make the kid feel better because he's embarrassed enough, don't score the 2 and shoot the second FT as normal.

2) The officials announce 2 shots and play as such, except ALL kids brain fart and play the rebound. B1 goes down and score.
OUTCOME: If the officials didn't stop play before the score then the score counts and we go CE with 1 shot and no one on line and then resume at POE.

3) Officials announce 1&1 and things play out like described.
OUTCOME: See outcome of #2.

In any of the scenarios the officials screwed up.

BigCat Wed Feb 17, 2016 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 981330)
I understand where you are coming from, but am still waiting for a rules citation that directly supports what you are saying. Show me a ruling that the live ball/dead ball rules don't apply.

By contrast, I can and have provided rules citations that directly support what I have said, including that the officials counting the basket by B1 was the real correctable error in the OP's scenario.

There is also nothing in the OP that says everyone played all the way down the floor and the officials officiated.

The only way that B1's goal was valid is if the officials had awarded one free throw and administered it as such, B1 gets the rebound and scores, and then they realize there should have been a second free throw by A1. In that case the failure to award the 2nd merited free throw would be a CE. In that case any interim action would stand, including B1's goal and any time run off the clock.

Tim, look at 2.10.1g. The reasoning."..since the ball remained in play on the missed FT, the clock started and the ball BECAME dead WHEN the goal was scored." The ball is live when play is allowed to continue. Becomes dead when goal scored.

They did not say the ball was dead or became dead on the missed FT. "Remained in play" means "stayed live."

BryanV21 Wed Feb 17, 2016 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 981335)
THAT'S NOT A CE.

3 scenarios, 2 outcomes

1) The officials announce 2 shots and play as such, and B1 rebounds thinking it was only 1 and goes down and scores a basket while everyone else is just staring at this kid run like a spaz down the court to score.
OUTCOME: Make a joke to make the kid feel better because he's embarrassed enough, don't score the 2 and shoot the second FT as normal.

2) The officials announce 2 shots and play as such, except ALL kids brain fart and play the rebound. B1 goes down and score.
OUTCOME: If the officials didn't stop play before the score then the score counts and we go CE with 1 shot and no one on line and then resume at POE.

3) Officials announce 1&1 and things play out like described.
OUTCOME: See outcome of #2.

In any of the scenarios the officials screwed up.

Yes, I know what I just said is not the CE. Not awarding the merited free throw is the error.

So, to more directly answer Tim's question....

The ball became live with the missed free throw.

TimTaylor Wed Feb 17, 2016 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 981337)
Tim, look at 2.10.1g. The reasoning."..since the ball remained in play on the missed FT, the clock started and the ball BECAME dead WHEN the goal was scored." The ball is live when play is allowed to continue. Becomes dead when goal scored.

They did not say the ball was dead or became dead on the missed FT. "Remained in play" means "stayed live."

Just got home where my books are. Based on 2.10.1.g I'll agree that assuming there was actual play bedisdes B1's actions this would apply. Unfortunately they're aren't enough details in the OP to confirm that.

Nevadaref Wed Feb 17, 2016 07:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 981332)
Rule citation?

NFHS Case Book 2.10.1 Situation G

A1 has been awarded two free throws. Erroneously, the ball is allowed to remain in play after A1 misses on the first attempt. A2 rebounds the miss and tosses the ball through the basket. B1 secures the ball and inbounds it. Play continues until a foul is ruled on A2 as B is passing the ball in B’s frontcourt.
RULING: The goal by A2 counts, but the error of not awarding A1 a second free throw is no longer correctable. Since the ball remained in play on the missed free throw, the clock started and the ball became dead when the goal was scored. When the ball became live on the subsequent throw-in, the time period for correction had expired. (2-10)

frezer11 Wed Feb 17, 2016 07:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 981335)

3 scenarios, 2 outcomes

1) The officials announce 2 shots and play as such, and B1 rebounds thinking it was only 1 and goes down and scores a basket while everyone else is just staring at this kid run like a spaz down the court to score.
OUTCOME: Make a joke to make the kid feel better because he's embarrassed enough, don't score the 2 and shoot the second FT as normal.

2) The officials announce 2 shots and play as such, except ALL kids brain fart and play the rebound. B1 goes down and score.
OUTCOME: If the officials didn't stop play before the score then the score counts and we go CE with 1 shot and no one on line and then resume at POE.

3) Officials announce 1&1 and things play out like described.
OUTCOME: See outcome of #2.

In any of the scenarios the officials screwed up.

I think this best describes it, though I certainly would not rule out a T on B1 in scenario 1, especially if I blow my whistle and he doesn't stop. Regardless of what the officials announce, it depends on how the kids (and officials for that matter) react after the 1st free throw.

Dad Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 981335)
THAT'S NOT A CE.

3 scenarios, 2 outcomes

1) The officials announce 2 shots and play as such, and B1 rebounds thinking it was only 1 and goes down and scores a basket while everyone else is just staring at this kid run like a spaz down the court to score.
OUTCOME: Make a joke to make the kid feel better because he's embarrassed enough, don't score the 2 and shoot the second FT as normal.

2) The officials announce 2 shots and play as such, except ALL kids brain fart and play the rebound. B1 goes down and score.
OUTCOME: If the officials didn't stop play before the score then the score counts and we go CE with 1 shot and no one on line and then resume at POE.

3) Officials announce 1&1 and things play out like described.
OUTCOME: See outcome of #2.

In any of the scenarios the officials screwed up.

#2 you don't score it because it's dead ball. Officials announced 2 shots. Officials administered the play like it was two shots. If they "played as such" then they never chopped the clock in. I don't see why all kids brain farting and one kid brain farting would make a difference for whether you count the basket or not.

AABATTEE Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SD Referee (Post 981214)
I guess my only question/comment is how does a crew of 2 or 3 guys allow this to happen? Some of the situations that are asked about just blow my mind. How does this stuff happen?

Even the people at the table were lost on this one too.

BigCat Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 981466)
#2 you don't score it because it's dead ball. Officials announced 2 shots. Officials administered the play like it was two shots. If they "played as such" then they never chopped the clock in. I don't see why all kids brain farting and one kid brain farting would make a difference for whether you count the basket or not.

The basket counts. It doesn't matter what is announced pin this situation. It doesn't matter if the official chopped in time. The timer could have started the clock on his own. What matters is that the officials did not stop play when the first shot was rebounded. Presumably did not blow their whistle. "Allowed play to continue." The kids werent the only ones "brain farting."

(I do see now that he says officials "play as such." If they are playing it as two shots they will be trying to stop play and i would agree with you. If they don't try to stop play after first FT... "allow it to continue" --they aren't playing it as two shots. The scenario is a bit off….)

AABATTEE Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:39pm

Shoot the second free throw with nobody on the line and then award the ball back to A.

deecee Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 981466)
#2 you don't score it because it's dead ball. Officials announced 2 shots. Officials administered the play like it was two shots. If they "played as such" then they never chopped the clock in. I don't see why all kids brain farting and one kid brain farting would make a difference for whether you count the basket or not.

Chopping the clock has nothing to do with it. If the officials weren't trying to stop the play and the kids go down and score the basket counts.

I do admit I cannot imagine 2 officials playing this as 2 FT's and then allowing the play to continue as described however these 3 scenarios seem to cover the possible outcomes.

Dad Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 981472)
The basket counts. It doesn't matter what is announced. It doesn't matter if the official chopped in time. The timer could have started the clock on his own. What matters is that the officials did not stop play when the first shot was rebounded. Presumably did not blow their whistle. "Allowed play to continue." The kids werent the only ones "brain farting."

(I do see now that he says officials "play as such." If they are playing it as two shots they will be trying to stop play and i would agree with you. If they don't try to stop play after first FT... "allow it to continue" --they aren't playing it as two shots. The scenario is a bit off….)

Just because an official couldn't stop play doesn't mean you're counting the shot. Maybe one of them did blow their whistle? "The officials announce 2 shots and play as such" doesn't sound like a CE. Just because the timer starts the clock doesn't mean you can't put time back up and say it wasn't live ball because it was erroneously started.

The OP is different compared to #2. There has to be missing information because "awarded 2 shots" makes me think the officials said there were to be 2 shots given. I have no clue how you go from there to all the officials forgetting there was a second shot then finally remembering after B makes a shot.

I'm not counting points during a dead ball. If the officials erroneously let live ball happen that's a different story.

BigCat Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 981476)
Just because an official couldn't stop play doesn't mean you're counting the shot. Maybe one of them did blow their whistle? "The officials announce 2 shots and play as such" doesn't sound like a CE. Just because the timer starts the clock doesn't mean you can't put time back up and say it wasn't live ball because it was erroneously started.

The OP is different compared to #2. There has to be missing information because "awarded 2 shots" makes me think the officials said there were to be 2 shots given. I have no clue how you go from there to all the officials forgetting there was a second shot then finally remembering after B makes a shot.

I'm not counting points during a dead ball. If the officials erroneously let live ball happen that's a different story.

See my post above that i added to… Deecee said the "officials didn't stop play". I take that to mean they didn't try. (if they did kids would have stopped). He also said the officials "play as such" (like it is 2 shots). If they play it as two shots they would have tried and the kids would have stopped…. Scenario he poses is off.

If they did try to stop play then i agree with you no basket. If they did not try to stop play--"allowed it to continue" and B1 scored the basket would count.

Dad Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 981479)
See my post above that i added to… Deecee said the "officials didn't stop play". I take that to mean they didn't try. (if they did kids would have stopped). He also said the officials "play as such" (like it is 2 shots). If they play it as two shots they would have tried and the kids would have stopped…. Scenario he poses is off.

If they did try to stop play then i agree with you no basket. If they did not try to stop play--"allowed it to continue" and B1 scored the basket would count.

Fair enough, I agree.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1