The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 13, 2016, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
I'm assuming there was no unsporting intent on the part of the cheerleader, just an absent-minded moment?

If so, was any part of the cheerleader OOB when she reached out and touched it? If the cheerleader was OOB, then now the ball is OOB just as if it had touched an official who was standing partly OOB. Since the ball was off B1, we award a TI to Team A at the spot. End of story, easy resolution.

If the cheerleader was entirely inbounds, I think under NCAA rules we might have a technical here (reminds me of the situation of the Montana recruit in the Big Sky semi-final game last year which, if I recall correctly wasn't a T but only because the recruit ultimately didn't interfere with play). But under NFHS, I don't believe there's any specific technical foul rules coverage here (again, assuming the cheerleader's actions are not deemed unsporting). So that leaves you with blowing the whistle for a game interruption, and then awarding the ball to A nearest the POI because A still had team control at the time. Still a good result because A would have had the ball either way.

If B hadn't touched it, meaning the ball would have gone OOB off A when A's cheerleader touched it, then we'd have a more sticky situation, but I'd still favor following the rule than arbitrarily saying, "I'm giving it to B because the problem was caused by A's cheerleader."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 13, 2016, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Outside person interferes = blow it dead and award based upon POI.

Team A had team control so that is who gets the ball in this case.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 13, 2016, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
B last touched it, give it to A.

Change the situation (cheerleader is on the floor; someone had a chance to get to the ball, etc.) and you might get a different answer.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 13, 2016, 11:09am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Team A ball. Why on earth would you give it to team B?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 14, 2016, 08:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
If the cheerleader was entirely inbounds, I think under NCAA rules we might have a technical here (reminds me of the situation of the Montana recruit in the Big Sky semi-final game last year which, if I recall correctly wasn't a T but only because the recruit ultimately didn't interfere with play).
The Montana situation should have been a technical, but that's beside the point. Team A ball according to the situation in the OP.
__________________
Lurker from Massachusetts. Not an official in any sport.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheerleader interference MOFFICIAL Basketball 11 Tue Jan 29, 2008 03:29am
Cheerleader Forgets Undergarmet! JCrow Basketball 13 Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:06pm
Mouthy Cheerleader BK Basketball 58 Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:26am
Cheerleader in the lane?? mplagrow Basketball 3 Sun Feb 16, 2003 10:10pm
Cheerleader gets hurt. JRutledge Basketball 17 Mon Jan 13, 2003 12:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1