The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   FT situation. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100835-ft-situation.html)

Shooter14 Sat Feb 06, 2016 03:59pm

FT situation.
 
A1 shooting 2nd of 2 fts, B1 goes straight in and makes contact before ball hits rim. I called the foul, cleared the lane and let player reshoot ft since it was missed and we gave A the ball under the basket.

Correct? Contact was before ball hit rim.

Shooter14 Sat Feb 06, 2016 04:00pm

Can it be both a violation and a foul?

Adam Sat Feb 06, 2016 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shooter14 (Post 979831)
Can it be both a violation and a foul?

Yes. You have a delayed violation on B, and a foul on the same player before the ball became dead.

Assuming of course that the contact rose to the level of a foul.

BryanV21 Sat Feb 06, 2016 06:46pm

the violation would allow for re-trying the free throw, while the foul would lead to the same team getting the throw-in.

Adam Sat Feb 06, 2016 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 979848)
the violation would allow for re-trying the free throw, while the foul would lead to the same team getting the throw-in.

Or more free throws. :)

Nevadaref Sat Feb 06, 2016 07:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shooter14 (Post 979831)
Can it be both a violation and a foul?

You appear unaware of this NFHS resource. It answers your question.

http://nfhs.org/sports-resource-cont...tions-2015-16/

Shooter14 Sat Feb 06, 2016 07:20pm

I said this is the way I administered it. But after conversation last night with other officials it caused some doubt in my mind. Thank you for the resource.

BryanV21 Sat Feb 06, 2016 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 979849)
Or more free throws. :)

The OP mentioned the team getting the ball, so that's why I said that in my response.

Adam Sun Feb 07, 2016 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 979852)
The OP mentioned the team getting the ball, so that's why I said that in my response.

Fair point, I was already off in dream land.

frezer11 Sun Feb 07, 2016 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shooter14 (Post 979830)
A1 shooting 2nd of 2 fts, B1 goes straight in and makes contact before ball hits rim. I called the foul, cleared the lane and let player reshoot ft since it was missed and we gave A the ball under the basket.

Correct? Contact was before ball hit rim.

I assume you mean that B1 makes contact with the FT shooter? If he's boxing out someone on the lane, contact is allowed before the ball hits the rim, in which case you could have a foul and possession (or bonus free throws), or possibly nothing at all if the contact was not egregious.

Dad Mon Feb 08, 2016 01:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 979909)
I assume you mean that B1 makes contact with the FT shooter? If he's boxing out someone on the lane, contact is allowed before the ball hits the rim, in which case you could have a foul and possession (or bonus free throws), or possibly nothing at all if the contact was not egregious.

The OP was right, this is confusing.

Why would contact need to be egregious for you to have a whistle? "Boxing out" is a foul if they move the player. No reason to wait for 'egregious' whatever contact that is.

frezer11 Mon Feb 08, 2016 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 979974)
The OP was right, this is confusing.

Why would contact need to be egregious for you to have a whistle? "Boxing out" is a foul if they move the player. No reason to wait for 'egregious' whatever contact that is.

Maybe the word egregious is a bit strong, but my point is still the same, if the boxing out action is against another player on the lane line, you could have a foul and possession or nothing, depending on how you judge the contact.

Shooter14 Mon Feb 08, 2016 09:44am

A1 released free throw, B1 came straight in and dislodged A1 before ball hit the rim, A1 missed the free throw.

deecee Mon Feb 08, 2016 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shooter14 (Post 979991)
A1 released free throw, B1 came straight in and dislodged A1 before ball hit the rim, A1 missed the free throw.

We have been instructed to go with a violation unless the contact rose to the level of it needed to be called. Then we have a violation and foul.

OKREF Mon Feb 08, 2016 10:20am

I'm pretty sure the POE reads "contact on the shooter", it doesn't specify contact rising to a certain level. It seems to me that the NFHS wants contact on the free throw shooter to be an automatic foul. However do as Rome instructs you to do.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1