![]() |
Free Throw
A1 has the ball for a Free throw. After a second or two, A1 looses control of the ball and it bounces into the lane. B1 steps in the lane, but does not touch the ball, and steps back. Now the ball is just resting in the lane. Everyone has froze. What do you do? What do you call? Why??
|
Quote:
|
The case book play references rule 9-1-3a and e.
9-3-1a says the thrower has to release the throw within 10 seconds. 9-1-3e say thrower can not break the plane with their feet. I do not believe either of these rules have been violated yet. Unless loosing control of the ball constitutes as a throw. Couldn't team A request time out to prevent a violation from occurring? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The team cannot request a TO as no player is in control nor is the ball at their disposal. |
Quote:
FED issued the case play -- now it's clear. |
Quote:
This would apply to a thrower on a throw-in who lost control and the ball bounced out of the 3 foot spot, would it not? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
In other words, I think Zoochy could have a decent point if the coach notices the player MAY lose the ball and it'll go to far away. So he's yelling for a timeout he notices the loss of control starting. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Ahh. Because coaches can't time travel. Violation already happened. Are you letting A1's coach call a TO when A1 steps out of bounds but before the official blows his whistle for it? If A's coach wants a TO he can have it but the ball is Bs. |
Quote:
I'm not sure what you are asking in the rest... |
Pretty sure in a galaxy long ago and far away, the case book stated just the opposite, that the official was to kill the play before any lane violation occurred, and re-administer the freebie(s).
To me, that galaxy made more sense. |
Quote:
|
Hypothetical third world play....
Ball is at free throwers disposal--he needs to adjust his shooting sleeve, so he a) hands (or tosses) the ball to his teammate, who's directly behind him outside the semi-circle, adjusts, and re-takes the ball, b) sets the ball down outside the semicircle, adjusts, and reclaims. Violation in either (and why), or is the FT count still on? |
Quote:
Quote:
And darn it if I didn't mess this up just last week. Surprised me (T, 2p crew), and L was a rookie so he sure wasn't going to call anything. A1 muffs, she takes a step in, gets it, retreats, resets. Under either interpretation (old and new) I should have had a whistle. Instead I was clueless without an excuse, and let the FT proceed. Had never seen it in eight years, then I did…and wasn't ready. Oops. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19am. |