The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   A Touchy Subject ... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100780-touchy-subject.html)

BillyMac Sat Jan 30, 2016 02:47pm

A Touchy Subject ...
 
From Ref60 Home of "60 Seconds of Officiating" website, article on basket interference:

A Touchy Subject | Ref 60

Post by zackman, December 29, 2015 at 8:15 pm:
It is not always goaltending when a shot is touched while on the way down – If a layup (or bank shot) is one it’s way down, it can still be legally blocked provided the ball is not yet above the cylinder.

Post by BillyMac, January 30, 2016 at 1:39 pm:
On most layups, the ball is going up immediately after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up, and is not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. It is goaltending if, after a layup, the ball is on it’s way down, and is not in the cylinder.

I'm (BillyMac, that's me) right, right? (NFHS rules)

Adam Sat Jan 30, 2016 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 978762)
A Touchy Subject | Ref 60

zackman December 29, 2015 at 8:15 pm
It is not always goaltending when a shot is touched while on the way down – If a layup (or bank shot) is one it’s way down, it can still be legally blocked provided the ball is not yet above the cylinder.

This statement is just not true.

BillyMac Sat Jan 30, 2016 02:56pm

Fun With Similes ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 978763)
This statement is just not true.

I can't believe that the creators of the website left the erroneous post on the site since December 28, 2015 without correcting it. That would never happen here on the Forum. We'd be all over that like white on rice. Like ugly on an ape. Like a duck on a Junebug.

JRutledge Sat Jan 30, 2016 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 978763)
This statement is just not true.

What did he say that was untrue? To have as shot on it's way down, the ball has to have a chance to go in and has to be completely above the rim in order to have a violation for GT.

Peace

Adam Sat Jan 30, 2016 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 978765)
What did he say that was untrue? To have as shot on it's way down, the ball has to have a chance to go in and has to be completely above the rim in order to have a violation for GT.

Peace

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 978762)
Post by zackman, December 29, 2015 at 8:15 pm:
It is not always goaltending when a shot is touched while on the way down – If a layup (or bank shot) is one it’s way down, it can still be legally blocked provided the ball is not yet above the cylinder.

The cylinder is irrelevant for GT. This guy is saying you can block a layup or bank shot regardless of whether it's going up or down, as long as it's not in the cylinder.

JRutledge Sat Jan 30, 2016 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 978766)
The cylinder is irrelevant for GT. This guy is saying you can block a layup or bank shot regardless of whether it's going up or down, as long as it's not in the cylinder.

I must have read it differently, but the part about the cylinder does not play a role for GT at all. I thought his major point was about the ball hitting the backboard or on it's downward flight.

For the record, in NCAA rules, this part would matter and could result in a violation.

Peace

Matt Sat Jan 30, 2016 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 978767)
I must have read it differently, but the part about the cylinder does not play a role for GT at all. I thought his major point was about the ball hitting the backboard or on it's downward flight.

Zackman is saying the cylinder is relevant--that if the ball is not yet in it, it can be legally touched.

JRutledge Sat Jan 30, 2016 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 978771)
Zackman is saying the cylinder is relevant--that if the ball is not yet in it, it can be legally touched.

I did not take his comments that way, but if you did fine with me. I took his comments as more stating that what was legal until the ball was in the cylinder. Now if the ball is in the cylinder and touched, you would have a violation still, just not at GT violation.

Peace

BillyMac Sat Jan 30, 2016 04:26pm

Goaltending ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 978771)
Zackman is saying the cylinder is relevant--that if the ball is not yet in it, it can be legally touched.

And I say that said ball can't be legally touched in a high school game.

A1 shoots layup. Ball is on the way up and then it bounces off the backboard. It's still on it's way up and reaches it's apex and then gravity causes it to start on it's way down, toward the basket. The ball is now on it's way down, toward the basket, but still outside the cylinder, above the ring, when B1 contacts the ball, and blocks the shot.

My ruling: Goaltending.

NFHS: Goaltending is when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, outside the imaginary cylinder above the ring, and has the possibility of entering the basket.

My interpretation is most certainly contrary to zackman's post: It is not always goaltending when a shot is touched while on the way down – If a layup (or bank shot) is one it’s way down, it can still be legally blocked provided the ball is not yet above the cylinder.

Of course, my interpretation may be different per rule sets other than NFHS (NCAA, NBA, FIBA).

Adam Sat Jan 30, 2016 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 978773)
I did not take his comments that way, but if you did fine with me. I took his comments as more stating that what was legal until the ball was in the cylinder. Now if the ball is in the cylinder and touched, you would have a violation still, just not at GT violation.

Peace

Jeff, read the quote again. He said it's legal to block a shot that is "on the way down" if it is not "yet" above the cylinder.

This can only mean a shot that is already above the rim, on its way down, but not yet within the cylinder. "yet" is really the key between the way you read it and the way I read it.

JRutledge Sat Jan 30, 2016 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 978775)
Jeff, read the quote again. He said it's legal to block a shot that is "on the way down" if it is not "yet" above the cylinder.

This can only mean a shot that is already above the rim, on its way down, but not yet within the cylinder. "yet" is really the key between the way you read it and the way I read it.

He would have to clarify his position on this, I am just saying that I did not read as an all or nothing statement. It is no big deal, I would not have mentioned the cylinder unless mentioning BI, but that is me.

Peace

BlueDevilRef Sat Jan 30, 2016 08:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 978764)
I can't believe that the creators of the website left the erroneous post on the site since December 28, 2015 without correcting it. That would never happen here on the Forum. We'd be all over that like white on rice. Like ugly on an ape. Like a duck on a Junebug.


Ummmm.......I hate to be a stickler here but you are just dead wrong.

The correct analogy is like a duck on a cheeto. Ducks love Cheetos.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1