The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   BC violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100768-bc-violation.html)

bob jenkins Fri Jan 29, 2016 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 978582)
He determined that B2 gained PC, which terminates his count.

The count terminates whether B2 gains PC or not.

Raymond Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 978590)
The count terminates whether B2 gains PC or not.

Team A is in control of the ball in the BC, B2 knocks the ball away and you are terminating your BC count?

Also, let's not forget that the partner did know the BC exception in relation to this play: "In our post-game discussion, he says there's an exception in the BC rule for a steal." The defensive player did not steal a pass while airborne. The partner did not say that B2 never gained PC in her back court.

so cal lurker Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 978614)
Team A is in control of the ball in the BC, B2 knocks the ball away and you are terminating your BC count?

B knocked the ball into A's front court . . .

Raymond Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 978615)
B knocked the ball into A's front court . . .

That's not the description bainsey gave. He said B2 stole the ball in A's back court, he didn't say she knocked it away.

Smitty Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 978615)
B knocked the ball into A's front court . . .

No, otherwise it wouldn't have been a violation. The OP said they gained control in A's backcourt (B's frontcourt) and then went into A's frontcourt (B's backcourt). So the count wouldn't terminate until B gained possession, still in A's backcourt.

BigCat Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 978615)
B knocked the ball into A's front court . . .

He called backcourt violation because Team B gained possession in its FC and then dribbled into B backcourt. Bainsey would have been counting 10 on team A originally. If B gains control of ball then the count on A stops. If B just knocks ball around then count on A continues until ball hits A FC.

He called violation so he had to have determined that B controlled ball in FC and dribbled or fumbled it into BC and was first touch.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 978614)
Team A is in control of the ball in the BC, B2 knocks the ball away and you are terminating your BC count?

B2 "took" the ball into B's BC. That terminates the count whether B2 has PC (as part of the "taking") or not.

Raymond Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 978620)
B2 "took" the ball into B's BC. That terminates the count whether B2 has PC (as part of the "taking") or not.

B2 first touched the ball 3-5 feet from the division line. bainsey is responsible for the count. Until the ball moves to Team A's FC he has to judge whether or not B2 is in possession at any point before she crosses the division line. He so judged. The same way it could be judged Buddy Hield had PC in his front court in that play from the Oklahoma game (absent other aspects of that particular play).

Adam Fri Jan 29, 2016 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 978620)
B2 "took" the ball into B's BC. That terminates the count whether B2 has PC (as part of the "taking") or not.

I think BNR's point is that since Bainsey was the one on ball here up until the steal, this particular call is actually easier for him to make.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 29, 2016 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 978630)
I think BNR's point is that since Bainsey was the one on ball here up until the steal, this particular call is actually easier for him to make.

I think we can agree that at the beginning of pressing action, the job of judging BC violations belongs to new L. That's one of the reasons that L stays back to help on the press. (And, the same applies to C in three-person -- and if it's really a strong press, it *might* even fall to L)

At some point it switches to new T.

In between, it might be some joint coverage.

As I envision the play (recognizing that I might be envisioning it wrong, after re-reading the entire thread; and recognizing that others might be envisioning it differently), I don't see it as being the new T's (full) responsibility, yet.

I think that this is one of those calls where either official can get it (assuming they both know the rules, of course, which was an issue in the OP). And, if one of them judges control and the other doesn't, ...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1