![]() |
elbow
NFHS Boys Varsity. Team A has ball in the corner #34 Team A and # 21 Team B are at the the foul line. #21 is attempting to guard #34. #34 does not like it and hits #21 in the chest with a hard elbow. Referee did not think it was flagrant but a foul needed to be called. Could you call a technical foul under Rule10-1-8 for an unsporting foul? Should you call a common foul or an intentional foul.
|
Quote:
The contact, if illegal cannot be a TF because the Ball was Live when the contact occurred. That said, if the Official, in his judgement thinks the contact was illegal, he must decide if it is a CF, and IPF, or FPF. MTD, Sr. |
Based on that scenario, I am calling an intentional foul. Intent is hard to measure, but based on your choice of words, there was intent to use the elbow to make contact. If the same contact had happened above the shoulders, I am inclined to go flagrant. I struggle with the common fouls in these situations, I think the wording has always been a little confusing.
|
Pretty easy IPF, to me.
|
Live ball contact you only have 3 options
Common foul Intentional Foul Flagrant Foul |
Quote:
|
Quote:
4-19-5b defines a technical foul as a noncontact foul by a player. 4-19-5c defines the intentional technical foul, which requires the ball to be dead. 4-19-14 defines an unsporting foul as noncontact technical foul. Thanks for starting this discussion! |
Quote:
If so, I would call a PC and go the other way...no reason to get too wrapped up in intent. Now I could see going with something more stringent if there were words spoken, a stare down, etc. to support the measurement of "intent" but if not, just get a PC, clean up the play and move on with the game. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The best way to avoid "wait and see" moments is to get the right call at the right time and control the game. Which is essentially our job description. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
The play I'm picturing is an easy IPF, with the intentional use of the elbow to clear space. We call common fouls all the time when they use their hands to push off, but the elbow is sufficient escalation of this practice. Call the IPF and it'll clean up much faster.
|
And for anyone who may not know, in spite of the name, it is possible to commit an intentional foul by accident.
I much prefer NCAA terms. FF1 and FF2 |
Quote:
|
I like this thread because there are a lot of good teaching points being brought up about what the calling options are for the official. But there's another aspect we haven't talked about yet which can be equally confusing to newer officials. Administration!
I'm going to assume like many others, that, based on description, this is an IPF committed by an offensive player in the low post. So you make the call. Now you have some work to do in the "presence of mind" department, i.e. don't make a bee line to the table. 1. Go to the scene, be a presence, and prevent further BS from occurring. Get the fist up first. Worry about crossed arms later. 2. Though the offender was an offensive player, this is an IPF vice a team control foul, so FTs are in order. But unlike a technical (this is part of the reason it's important to know the difference between the two), the coach can't send just anyone to the FT line on the other end. The player who was fouled must shoot. So make sure you and your partners ID him/her before you go report the foul. 3. Trudge to the other end. Fouled player shoots two. Now, for the love of Mary Struckhoff, PLEASE don't go administer the throw-in at the division line. I saw a D1 college crew do this after a low-post FF1 recently. Made me cringe. For an IPF, the spot is the OOB location nearest where the foul occurred. So in our case, this is where it gets weird. We went to the other end to shoot FTs, right? Now we go back to Team A's end and give Team B a throw-in under A's basket (nearest where the foul occurred), and then B has to go all the way back up the court. As the Granger guy says, "Get it? Got it? Good." |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29am. |