The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
Hmmm ... interesting scenario. If there is no player/team control when the ball is at the disposal of the free-thrower when using the ROP procedure, wouldn't that mean that a timeout could not be granted? Only outcome ... violation.
No, the rule states that a team may be granted a time-out request made when the ball is at its disposal.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 03:43pm
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTaylor View Post
No - think it through.....this was the first of two merited free throws...
Has been a while since I read op. Didn't realize it was first of two.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Refhoop View Post
Are you saying/asking that we take the ball from Team A's free thrower (the TCF nullifies the pending FT) and give it to Team B for a spot throw-in?
Yes I was asking that. I forgot the original scenario and didn't realize it was the first of two.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
What rule are you using to take away A's free throws?
I was thinking that a team control foul causes the ball to become dead. How can the free throw take place if the ball is dead?



Can the free throw still be scored if a team control foul has already happened?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 04:11pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
I was thinking that a team control foul causes the ball to become dead. How can the free throw take place if the ball is dead?

Can the free throw still be scored if a team control foul has already happened?
No, it cannot. The ball becomes dead, now you have a false double foul. You simply clear the lane and then administer the FTs that were due before the foul followed by the penalty for the 2nd foul.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2016, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
No, it cannot. The ball becomes dead, now you have a false double foul. You simply clear the lane and then administer the FTs that were due before the foul followed by the penalty for the 2nd foul.
And since the second foul was a TC foul by the lane line, Team B gets the ball for a designated or non-designated end line throw in pending the outcome of the final free throw. 6.7 Situation B.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
No, the rule states that a team may be granted a time-out request made when the ball is at its disposal.
I would agree with you, but as Bob and Adam point out, the way the rule is written, it doesn't say that the ball is at the disposal of the player on a free-throw.

4-12
ART. 2

A team is in control of the ball:

d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.

And if that's the case, there's no team control either. If that premise is correct, how can a time-out be granted when using the ROP procedure for a free-throw? Good discussion for a different thread though, since that's a different topic.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 04:10pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
I would agree with you, but as Bob and Adam point out, the way the rule is written, it doesn't say that the ball is at the disposal of the player on a free-throw.

4-12
ART. 2

A team is in control of the ball:

d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.

And if that's the case, there's no team control either. If that premise is correct, how can a time-out be granted when using the ROP procedure for a free-throw? Good discussion for a different thread though, since that's a different topic.
TC isn't an issue for granting a time-out.
It is never sufficient nor required (other than as a consequence of having met other requirements).

5-8-3
a. the ball is at the disposal or in control of a player or his/her team.
b. the ball is dead, unless replacement of a disqualified....

Requirement A does not require TC to be in place. In fact, the lone exception here seems to be the case where the ball is at the disposal of a FT shooter.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
I would agree with you, but as Bob and Adam point out, the way the rule is written, it doesn't say that the ball is at the disposal of the player on a free-throw.
No. It says that disposal does not create TC (on a FT). There is still disposal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Embarrassing Moment grunewar Baseball 22 Sun Sep 19, 2010 09:48pm
Most embarrassing Moment tibear Baseball 24 Sat Nov 25, 2006 10:02am
Most Embarrassing Moment mikesears Football 22 Sun Jul 03, 2005 09:59pm
Incredibly Bad Night Mark Dexter Basketball 30 Fri Jan 17, 2003 04:46am
Incredibly Stupid Coach rainmaker Basketball 10 Sun May 20, 2001 01:06am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1