The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Starting Dribble from floor (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100697-starting-dribble-floor.html)

OfficialBFish Sat Jan 16, 2016 10:56pm

Starting Dribble from floor
 
Had this situation this weekend. A1 dives to the floor for loose ball, coach yells, "You can dribble to get up!". Player starts a dribble and lifts a foot off the ground simultaneously, and then fully stands up while continuing to dribble. My partner calls an illegal dribble, which drives the coach and several fans in the stands absolutely berserk. Her explanation was that according to the handbook, a pivot foot must be established before you can start a dribble. I've never heard the rule applied in this context before, and I've never heard of a player not being able to dribble in order to stand up. Anyone have anything to prove/disprove the validity of her call??

DrPete Sat Jan 16, 2016 11:34pm

Starting Dribble from floor
 
I've never heard of that rule either. The definition of a travel speaks of releasing the ball before the pivot foot is lifted, but that assumes that the player is already standing.
You could also catch a pass while airborne and start a dribble before any foot touched the floor. A pivot foot does not need to be established before a dribble starts.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

BigCat Sat Jan 16, 2016 11:34pm

4.44.5b and c. Player dives for losse ball. When he is done sliding and ends on back or stomach he can, pass,shoot or start dribble. If on back he can sit up.

bob jenkins Sat Jan 16, 2016 11:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OfficialBFish (Post 976818)
Her explanation was that according to the handbook, a pivot foot must be established before you can start a dribble.

Well, 4-dribble does say, I think, that the dribble begins when the ball is batted to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted. (someone check my recollection on this)

So, I guess one interp would be that if there is no pivot foot to be potentially lifted, there can be no dribble.

But, that interp would be wrong.

Camron Rust Sat Jan 16, 2016 11:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DrPete (Post 976820)
I've never heard of that rule either. The definition of a travel speaks of releasing the ball before the pivot foot is lifted, but that assumes that the player is already standing.
You could also catch a pass while airborne and start a dribble before any foot touched the floor. A pivot foot does not need to be established before a dribble starts.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Additionally, a standing player who catches the ball with both feet on the floor isn't required to pivot before being permitted to dribble.

Dad Sun Jan 17, 2016 01:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OfficialBFish (Post 976818)
Had this situation this weekend. A1 dives to the floor for loose ball, coach yells, "You can dribble to get up!". Player starts a dribble and lifts a foot off the ground simultaneously, and then fully stands up while continuing to dribble. My partner calls an illegal dribble, which drives the coach and several fans in the stands absolutely berserk. Her explanation was that according to the handbook, a pivot foot must be established before you can start a dribble. I've never heard the rule applied in this context before, and I've never heard of a player not being able to dribble in order to stand up. Anyone have anything to prove/disprove the validity of her call??

BigCat sited a case book that proves her wrong.

I've never seen or heard of this rule screwed up(Not letting a player start a dribble before getting up). First for everything.

BillyMac Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:15am

Let's Go To The Videotape ... ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 976821)
Player dives for lose ball. When he is done sliding and ends on back or stomach he can, pass, shoot, or start dribble. If on back he can sit up.

Add "request a timeout".

4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control.
A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without
violating? RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once
A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her
back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling
unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises
and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b)

Nevadaref Sun Jan 17, 2016 09:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 976828)
BigCat sited a case book that proves her wrong.

I've never seen or heard of this rule screwed up(Not letting a player start a dribble before getting up). First for everything.

You have just been cited by the forum's spelling police. ;)

BillyMac Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:08pm

Badges? We Don't Need No Stinkin' Badges …
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 976934)
You have just been cited by the forum's spelling police.

https://sp.yimg.com/xj/th?id=OIP.Mbf...=0&w=300&h=300

Dad Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 976952)

Got me.

Do you have a folder with 50,000 random photos?

BillyMac Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:39pm

Don't You Just Love This New Fangled Internet Thing ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 976963)
Do you have a folder with 50,000 random photos?

Yes. It's called the Google. Thank you Al Gore.

johnny d Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 976967)
Yes. It's called the Google. Thank you Al Gore.


Wise ass!

BillyMac Mon Jan 18, 2016 12:07am

Gotta Love The Google ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 976977)
Wise ass!

Question asked and answered.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1