The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Over and back (backcourt) on back tap (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100682-over-back-backcourt-back-tap.html)

JMUplayer Thu Jan 14, 2016 11:56am

Over and back (backcourt) on back tap
 
Team A missed shot
Team A back taps the ball it bounces around the 3p line heading towards division line.
Team A player attempts to grab ball near division line (hands of stone) never controls it and ball goes into backcourt.
Team A then recovers ball in backcourt.

Violation or not?

When asked at halftime I said no because they never established team control after the try. Veteran Official who works state level games called the violation.

frezer11 Thu Jan 14, 2016 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JMUplayer (Post 976615)
Team A missed shot
Team A back taps the ball it bounces around the 3p line heading towards division line.
Team A player attempts to grab ball near division line (hands of stone) never controls it and ball goes into backcourt.
Team A then recovers ball in backcourt.

Violation or not?

When asked at halftime I said no because they never established team control after the try. Veteran Official who works state level games called the violation.

I agree with you.

Dad Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 976616)
I agree with you.

On top of agreeing with him you are both correct.

AremRed Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:14pm

Had a similar play last night. I was Slot opposite, ball got stolen and subsequently touched by the same team in their front court and back court but without control established. Trail blew a violation but looked kinda unsure. I saw the play and came over and offered information that I didn't think there was control in the FC to start. We fixed it but the coach who would have benefited was pissed, railed on me how we should have gone to the arrow since we "disagreed".

pfan1981 Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:14pm

The way I was taught......would you have granted a timeout to the team? If the answer is no, then you would not have a backcourt violation.

#olderthanilook Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:16pm

Rules references:

Rule: 4-12-3
ART. 3
Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.
----------------------------
Rules reference:
Rule: 9-9-1
ART. 1
A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JMUplayer (Post 976615)
When asked at halftime I said no because they never established team control after the try. Veteran Official who works state level games called the violation.

Maybe he judged control.

Or, else he kicked it.

Dad Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pfan1981 (Post 976619)
The way I was taught......would you have granted a timeout to the team? If the answer is no, then you would not have a backcourt violation.

This thinking isn't going to work in all scenarios.

bainsey Thu Jan 14, 2016 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 976618)
Had a similar play last night. I was Slot opposite, ball got stolen and subsequently touched by the same team in their front court and back court but without control established. Trail blew a violation but looked kinda unsure. I saw the play and came over and offered information that I didn't think there was control in the FC to start. We fixed it but the coach who would have benefited was pissed, railed on me how we should have gone to the arrow since we "disagreed".

Was there control in the BC, or was it from a throw-in?

SC Official Thu Jan 14, 2016 02:00pm

Not a violation despite the fact that half the gym and one coach will go nuts.

Raymond Thu Jan 14, 2016 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JMUplayer (Post 976615)
Team A missed shot
Team A back taps the ball it bounces around the 3p line heading towards division line.
Team A player attempts to grab ball near division line (hands of stone) never controls it and ball goes into backcourt.
Team A then recovers ball in backcourt.

Violation or not?

When asked at halftime I said no because they never established team control after the try. Veteran Official who works state level games called the violation.

Who asked you at halftime? Were you working the game with the state tournament official or just watching?

Do you live in VA?

LeeBallanfant Thu Jan 14, 2016 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 976620)
Rules references:

Rule: 4-12-3
ART. 3
Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.
----------------------------
Rules reference:
Rule: 9-9-1
ART. 1
A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

So a missed dunk that clangs off the rim remains as team control? Similar play as above in the Iowa State-Texas game on January 12 where a missed dunk saw ball go into back court without any player securing possession. The team that missed the dunk was first to touch in backcourt and a violation was called.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 14, 2016 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 976641)
So a missed dunk that clangs off the rim remains as team control? Similar play as above in the Iowa State-Texas game on January 12 where a missed dunk saw ball go into back court without any player securing possession. The team that missed the dunk was first to touch in backcourt and a violation was called.

No.

Either you described it wrong, the officials judged it not a dunk "try", or they kicked it.

RedAndWhiteRef Thu Jan 14, 2016 03:26pm

I had a play last night where the rebound was loose and bouncing toward the backcourt. The offensive team went after it and one player touched it with a hand (not a dribble) and finally established control in the backcourt. No whistle from me. The other team's coach couldn't believe I didn't call it, but then took a look at the scoreboard and backed off (his team was up like 25 in the last two minutes). I didn't even need to use the explanation I had planned for him.

BillyMac Thu Jan 14, 2016 04:42pm

This Is A Job For ...
 
... The Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules:

During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt, or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations.

Adam Thu Jan 14, 2016 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 976626)
This thinking isn't going to work in all scenarios.

No, but it's a great way to consider whether player control had ever been established.

Dad Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 976658)
No, but it's a great way to consider whether player control had ever been established.

Sure, but it's wrong and if someone follows it they won't call some BC violations.

Smitty Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 976708)
Sure, but it's wrong and if someone follows it they won't call some BC violations.

Explain?

bob jenkins Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 976709)
Explain?

I can think of some examples in college (where a TO can't be granted to a player going OOB or into the BC), but I can't think of any off the top of my head for HS.

Dad Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 976709)
Explain?

A player doesn't have to be holding or dribbling the ball for a BC violation.

Smitty Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 976718)
A player doesn't have to be holding or dribbling the ball for a BC violation.

I'm pretty sure he was referring to the action in the front court as the ball was being touched by players - whether to determine whether player control was ever established. That would determine what might happen once the ball is touched in the backcourt.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 976718)
A player doesn't have to be holding or dribbling the ball for a BC violation.

At some point that had to have happened.

Dad Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 976726)
I'm pretty sure he was referring to the action in the front court as the ball was being touched by players - whether to determine whether player control was ever established. That would determine what might happen once the ball is touched in the backcourt.

This makes a lot more sense if it's what he meant.

Thanks.

Raymond Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 976730)
This makes a lot more sense if it's what he meant.

Thanks.

Yes, he is referring to the action in the FC. Was there PC in the FC. One test of PC is would you grant a TO while the player in question was in contact with the ball.

Adam Fri Jan 15, 2016 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 976718)
A player doesn't have to be holding or dribbling the ball for a BC violation.

In order to have a BC violation, player control has to be have been established at some point (either in the FC or the BC) so that TC gets established. The "would you call a timeout" guideline only helps determine if there was, at any point, player control. If one is still missing BC violations after that, it's strictly because one does not know the BC rule.

pfan1981 Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 976730)
This makes a lot more sense if it's what he meant.

Thanks.

That is what I meant. My apologies.

When a ball is getting batted around after a shot or a throw in, I think to myself: would I grant a timeout in this situation? If the answer is yes, then I may have the possibility of a backcourt violation. If not, then play on.

AremRed Sat Jan 16, 2016 02:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 976630)
Was there control in the BC, or was it from a throw-in?

No and no.

Sharpshooternes Sat Jan 16, 2016 05:04am

So I had this very play happen to me this week. I was lead in two man and my P called a backcourt violation. I was sure he got it wrong. I just let it be, in this instance as none of the coaches knew that he kicked it. So out of curiosity, I asked the 3 man varsity crew after our game what a partner should do in ths situation. 1 said let them live and die with their call. 1 said if they ask for help offer it, if not, let it be. Cant remember what the third said, maybe go with the inadvertent whistle and give the ball back to the proper team.

So I pose the same question to all of you. How do you help in this situation. I think we have talked about in the past the difference between kicking a rule and making a bad call on bad judgement. I think I should have approached my P with that information and let them change their call if they wanted to. Ready, go.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1