The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NJCAA Mens question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100636-njcaa-mens-question.html)

egj13 Thu Jan 07, 2016 09:59am

NJCAA Mens question
 
Situation 1--A1 drives to the basket and is fouled by B1 in the act of shooting. In frustration, B1 punches the ball and it lands in the backcourt for which he receives a "T".

What is the proper order to administer the shots and where is play resumed from...again NJCAA men's rules please.


Situation 2--A1 launches a 3 with 5 seconds left on the shot clock and it lodges between the rim and the backboard. Go to the possession arrow and resume at POI. Does the shot clock reset?

Thanks!

Raymond Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:32am

NJCAA uses NCAA rules, not their own set of rules.

Whenever a try or shot hits the rim the shot clock resets.

egj13 Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 975595)
NJCAA uses NCAA rules, not their own set of rules.

I thought that was the case but they were allowing the coach to call time out so I figured there were some differences.

Quote:

Originally Posted by badnewsref (Post 975595)
Whenever a try or shot hits the rim the shot clock resets.

It didn't last night...

deecee Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:08am

Assuming ncaam then you shoot the T then go to POI.

shot clock should have reset.

egj13 Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 975595)
NJCAA uses NCAA rules, not their own set of rules.

So is there a difference in how you would administer this in NCAA compared to NFHS?

So in the above situation in NFHS, wouldn't you administer the fouls in the order they occurred? Clear the lanes, shoot the two throws for the shooting foul and then shoot the two for the technical and then resume play at the division line?

In the game I was watching, they cleared the lane and shot the two throws for the "T" and then brought the players back in, shot the two for the shooting foul and resumed play from there.

BigCat Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by egj13 (Post 975598)
I thought that was the case but they were allowing the coach to call time out so I figured there were some differences.



It didn't last night...

It should have reset as stated above. If there is team control and the defense causes a held ball there is no reset of the clock. Officials likely saw arrow remain with offense so did not reset the clock.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by egj13 (Post 975607)
So is there a difference in how you would administer this in NCAA compared to NFHS?

Yes, there is a difference. And how it is administered in NCAA depends on the type of T, now many Ts, and whether it's NCAAM or NCAAW

Quote:

So in the above situation in NFHS, wouldn't you administer the fouls in the order they occurred? Clear the lanes, shoot the two throws for the shooting foul and then shoot the two for the technical and then resume play at the division line?
That's correct for NFHS

Quote:

In the game I was watching, they cleared the lane and shot the two throws for the "T" and then brought the players back in, shot the two for the shooting foul and resumed play from there.
Sounds right (with the disclaimer that I don't work NCAAM)

BigCat Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by egj13 (Post 975607)
So is there a difference in how you would administer this in NCAA compared to NFHS?

So in the above situation in NFHS, wouldn't you administer the fouls in the order they occurred? Clear the lanes, shoot the two throws for the shooting foul and then shoot the two for the technical and then resume play at the division line?

In the game I was watching, they cleared the lane and shot the two throws for the "T" and then brought the players back in, shot the two for the shooting foul and resumed play from there.

The way they did it is proper under NCAAM rules.

NFHS shoot in order they occur. A1 shoots 2 for being fouled in act of shooting. no one on lane. Then shoot the tech FTs, no one on lane. Then A gets ball at division line opposite table.

egj13 Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:31am

Thanks All!!

deecee Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:34am

The only 2 T's in NCAAM that are NOT POI but the offended team will get the ball are

1. dead ball contact T
2. Flagrant T

All other T's are POI.

crosscountry55 Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by egj13 (Post 975598)
I thought that was the case but they were allowing the coach to call time out so I figured there were some differences.

The coach can still call a timeout when the ball is dead (which includes during the brief period after a successful try). Are you sure this isn't what you were observing?

If live ball timeouts were being granted to the head coach, then either the officials were kicking the rule, or there's a local/regional/NJCAA exception to that particular NCAAM rule.

egj13 Fri Jan 08, 2016 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 975720)
The coach can still call a timeout when the ball is dead (which includes during the brief period after a successful try). Are you sure this isn't what you were observing?

If live ball timeouts were being granted to the head coach, then either the officials were kicking the rule, or there's a local/regional/NJCAA exception to that particular NCAAM rule.

I can't say for sure because I didn't realize that was part of the rule...I only noticed that the coaches were calling TO because my kid pointed it out next to me...I didn't see when the request occurred.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1